Skip to content

Book #34 – Pride and Prejudice (final thoughts)

October 11, 2009

pride and prejudice2Pride and Prejudice is one of those books I always thought I should read, but never really wanted to read. I mean, it’s so old, there’s no way it would be relatable, right? Oh, how wrong I was.

After reading Emma earlier this year, I wanted, needed, to read Pride and Prejudice. Finally I found myself without an excuse not to read it, as I had a copy of it in my possession and I had included it in a challenge I was already behind in.

It’s easy to understand why this is such a beloved novel. It has memorable characters, scandal, mistaken intentions, and, of course, true love. What I was least expecting to find within it was the humour. Can I say humour for a classic like this? The only word that really seems to fit is ‘wit.’ I’m sure quite a few of the quips flew right over my head, but there were so many subtle phrases that popped up here and there about characters and situations, that at times I realized I was reading with a big grin on my face. I knew whenever Mr. Bennet was in a scene that a great line would be coming up.

It’s impossible to pick what I loved most about this book. The plot was engaging, but I think it was the wonderful characters Austen created that made the book all that more special. Of course everyone loves Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy, but even Mr. Collins and Lady Catherine De Bourgh provided so many great, albeit cringe-worthy, moments. I found this chart on wikipedia which shows the relationships between all the characters, but I think it just made me more confused!

Pride and Prejudice sucked me right in – into the story and into the characters lives. Sometimes, when I’m really into a book, I start narrating my life in my head in the same style as the book I’m currently reading. The weird thing is, it doesn’t happen right after I put the book down. No, it happens when I’ve had a little break from reading, such as when I’m walking to the train in the morning. So, for the last two weeks, I’ve suddenly found myself narrating my mornings in 18th-century English. Mostly by using lots of double negatives.

My rating: 9/10

Back to School Challenge: 1/4 complete

19 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2009 8:55 am

    I’m glad you enjoyed it! I love Lydia and Kitty, and Mr. Collins also – Jane Austen can be so biting when she’s writing about silly people.

    • October 11, 2009 3:00 pm

      Austen really is so good at writing silly people who have no sense of shame. I love how each family member reacts to these people differently. Like with Mr. Collin’s, some of the Bennet’s think he’s charming and well off, others are repulsed, while others are simply amused. And we get to sit back and watch it all. How fun!

  2. October 11, 2009 4:59 pm

    I have always felt that I should read this too, but never have. The first “classic” book, well and the only one, I’ve read was Jane Eyre and it’s in my top 5. I tried to start Wuthering Heights, but couldn’t get into it. Pride and Prejudice, as well as Emma are both on my TBR list! You’re review has bumped P&P up :)

    • October 11, 2009 7:57 pm

      I LOVE Jane Eyre! :) I have yet to come across someone who’s read it and not loved it.

      I’ve heard Wuthering Heights can be a bit hard to get through, but I very highly recommend both Pride & Prejudice and Emma.

  3. October 11, 2009 6:37 pm

    I know what you mean about wondering if a book is even semi-relatable to life anymore because it’s so old. I sooooo hear you.

    I need to re-read this book again because I haven’t read it in about 3 or so years? I’ve pretty much forgotten what happens.. which is a good thing. :)

    • October 11, 2009 8:01 pm

      While all the social expectations aren’t so relevant anymore, all the emotional stuff, wondering if that guy likes you, standing by family during tough times, still resonant today. It just goes to show how great a writer Austen was!

      Yes, if you’ve forgotten what happens, it means you’re all set to read it again :)

  4. October 12, 2009 7:58 pm

    I must admit, I have only read the zombie version of this (shame on me) but it actually hooked me enough that I now keep checking the used bookstore for a copy of the real thing.
    Okay, so now I want to catch a glimpse of your morning walk narration.

    • October 13, 2009 1:58 pm

      phew, I feel better knowing I’m not the only one who hadn’t read it. Although, I think I might be the only person who hasn’t read the zombie version!

  5. stacybuckeye permalink
    October 12, 2009 9:43 pm

    I read this for the first time a few months ago and really loved it. Great review.

  6. October 13, 2009 4:08 pm

    I’ve been a big Jane Austen fan for almost two decades now, and when I went to check that chart to see if I should ever recommend it to someone who gets lost reading it, I can see how it is more confusing than reading the book! Yikes!

    So glad you enjoyed it!

  7. December 29, 2009 5:38 pm

    I love this book. I was in the mood to reread it last month but instead picked up Mr. Darcy’s Diary which is Mr. Darcy’s side of the story. It was so much fun and really interesting. You should check it out since you liked this one.

  8. Christine permalink
    March 10, 2010 9:23 pm

    I felt the same way about it too at first, I tried reading it in high school and could not get through it. Then, I watched the movie (2005-Kiera Knightley version?) and loved it so much! Now I’ve just started the book again, and am liking it just as much :) I haven’t read Emma yet though…maybe next!

  9. Jillian ♣ permalink
    April 20, 2011 7:33 pm

    I’m currently reading this for the second time — the annotated version. :-D

    • Jillian ♣ permalink
      July 25, 2011 10:20 am

      I ended up LOVING it. I disliked it in 2010, the first time I read it. She ages like a fine wine. :)

      • July 25, 2011 10:36 am

        Yay, so glad you loved it this time around! Sometimes you just have to be in the right head space to appreciate a certain book.

  10. December 6, 2012 8:56 am

    I know this is an old post, but I’m always curious to see how people respond to Jane Austen. I love her books and have since I was a kid. Have you ever seen Robert Webb’s parody of Mr. Darcy on The Mitchell and Webb Look? If not, I highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys Austen. Here’s the youtube link (warning that it has some strong language): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gTchxR4suto

Trackbacks

  1. Wrapping up October « alita.reads.
  2. Looking Back, Moving Forward « alita.reads.
  3. Around the blogosphere… « A Room of One's Own

I <3 Comments