Skip to content

Looking Back, Moving Forward

January 1, 2010

In the Spring of 2008 I decided I needed a hobby. With no longer having wedding planning and school work take up my time, I wanted to find something I really enjoyed. And, being a newlywed, beginning a career, and still paying off student loans, it had to be a cheap hobby. I remembered that I had really enjoyed reading when I was younger and I did enjoy the few books I had read each year since being a preteen, but pleasure reading had mostly fallen by the wayside in my high school and college days. So, early in 2008 I got myself my very first library card in years and, despite only reading 2-3 books a year for who knows how long, I ended up reading 31 (mostly chick lit) books in 2008.

I tell you all this to let you know how much of an accomplishment it was for me to finish my 50th book of 2009 on December 31st. Not only did I read more books this past year, I branched out of chick lit into a variety of genres, including YA and classics. And I have you fellow book bloggers to thank for that. Not only have I enjoyed reading books you’ve recommended this past year, I have immensely enjoyed getting to know so many of you. I am very much looking forward to what 2010 has in store for all of you!

Top Rated Books of 2009 (9-10 rating)
A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini (10)
Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte (9.5)
The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins (9.5)
Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen (9)
The Third Elevator by Aimee Bender (9)
Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote (9)
A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens (9)
The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini (9)
There a Petal Silently Falls by Ch’oe Yun (9)

Honorable Mentions
Twenties Girl by Sophie Kinsella
A Complicated Kindness by Miriam Toews

Lowest Rated Book of 2009
Straight Talking by Jane Green

Challenges
I completed both 2009 challenges I signed up for and am very much looking forward to all my 2010 challenges!

Back to School Challenge (September 1 – December 31, 2009)
1. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
2. Nineteen Eighty-Four by George Orwell
3. Watership Down by Richard Adams
4. A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

Holiday Reading Challenge (November 20 – December 31, 2009)
1. Ex-mas by Kate Brian
2. A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2010 5:12 pm

    Happy New Year! Here is my wrap up post

  2. stacybuckeye permalink
    January 1, 2010 8:57 pm

    Jane Eyre, P&P are faves and I really enjoyed Breakfast at Tiffany’s and Christmas Carol too. Looks like you had a great year. I read more than I even have in 2009 and didn’t even come close to the number of books that some book bloggers read. And I refuse to be jealous about it. Mostly.

    • January 2, 2010 1:11 pm

      Heh, I know. As I was writing this post, someone else tweeted that they had read 250 books in 2009. I almost gave up on this post at that point ;)

  3. January 6, 2010 1:11 pm

    oh, i’m so glad that pride & prejudice and the hunger games made it to your top books! and i saw the blogger that did 250 books–i am ashamed :)

    • January 6, 2010 1:55 pm

      I don’t even remember who it was now. I just remember seeing that number pop up and trying so hard not let my tiny little bubble burst ;)

I <3 Comments

