Skip to content

Book #35 – Breakfast at Tiffany’s (final thoughts)

October 11, 2009
Breakfast at Tiffanys

The Modern Library edition I found at my library. I thought this classic would be dressed in something a bit fancier. Not saying that Capote isn't a good looking guy.

I only found out a few months ago that Breakfast at Tiffany’s was originally a novella by Truman Capote. The movie seems to have overshadowed the book, which is a shame because it’s a wonderful story in its own right.

The book begins with the narrator (who remains unnamed throughout the book, other than the odd nickname) returning to a neighbourhood he used to live in. After an interesting update from the local barman, he starts to reminisce about the year he lived in a brownstone apartment down the street; the year he knew Holly Golightly.

At the time of story, the narrator is a struggling author and Holly is a society girl with a preference for older, wealthy men. The two strike up a friendship after he moves into the building, which was never lacking in ups and downs.

On Friday when I shared the first line of Breakfast at Tiffany’s as part of the Friday Firsts meme, Allison left a comment saying that it had a nostalgic feel to it. As I finished the book, I realized that the whole story is enveloped in bitter-sweet nostalgia, which is what makes it so endearing. Capote captures the feel of that year in the 1940s so well that these recollections could have been shared at any point in the last 50 years and still be just as moving. Not just in 1958, when it was originally published. Even though their friendship wasn’t always pretty, there’s a tenderness in the narrator’s voice as he shares his story that shows he really did care for his flighty, unique, naive friend.

I’m so glad I took the time to read this book. It’s one I need to add to my library.

My rating: 9/10
Soundtrack Saturday

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2009 9:31 am

    I really enjoyed this one too. It’s so very different from the book but I thought both of them worked.

    • October 13, 2009 12:19 pm

      I don’t remember the movie all that well, but from what I do remember, it seemed to have a very different feel than the book. I’m looking forward to watching it again!

  2. atypicalwedding permalink
    October 13, 2009 4:44 am

    Thanks for sharing this. I had no idea it was a book before it was a movie and will track this one down soon.

    • October 13, 2009 12:19 pm

      I didn’t know either until a few months ago. It’s definitely worth a read!

  3. stacybuckeye permalink
    October 13, 2009 3:38 pm

    I’m going to have to add this one to my library since I checked it out of the library. Glad you liked ot too.

  4. Schatzi permalink
    October 15, 2009 5:24 am

    I read it long before I saw it, and I’ve never been able to stand the movie since.

Trackbacks

  1. Monday Round Up (03.29.10) « alita.reads.
  2. Novella reviews: Breakfast at Tiffany’s, Hardboiled & Hard Luck | A Good Stopping Point

I <3 Comments

