Skip to content

Soundtrack Saturdays – Breakfast at Tiffany’s

October 10, 2009
tags:

Soundtrack Saturdays is a little thing where I share a song with you that I think would fit on the soundtrack for the book I’m currently reading. Feel free to join in!

Current Read: Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote

Once Sentence Summary: The one-year friendship of “Fred” and Holly Golightly.

Soundtrack Song: “Song For You” by Alexi Murdoch, from the albums Time Without Consequence and Away We Go.

Why I chose this song: Some of my favourite parts of the book so far are when Holly lets her guard down a bit and you get a tiny glimpse of who she really is. I think this song captures those moments perfectly. Some of the lyrics fit the story so well. If “Fred” was a singer/songwriter instead of an author, I think he’d write lyrics like this about Holly:

For you know it’s a simple game
That you play filling up your head with rain
And you know you are hiding from your pain
In the way, in the way you say your name

And I see you
Hiding your face in your hands
Flying so you won’t land
You think no one understands
No one understands

So you hunch your shoulders and you shake your head
And your throat is aching but you swear
No one hurts you, nothing could be sad
Anyway youre not here enough to care

What about you? What song with you pick for Breakfast at Tiffany’s, or the book you are currently reading?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2009 8:28 am

    My song for the book I’m reading would have to be, “I’m every woman.”

    I’m reading When everything Changed, a Story of American Women 1950-present.

    It is a large, exciting book that I hate to put down. And I’m Canadian!
    It is a very empowering book for women in general.

    • October 10, 2009 10:57 am

      That’s a great pick! I haven’t heard of that book, but it sounds really interesting.

      It’s nice to meet a fellow Canadian – Happy Thanksgiving :)

  2. October 10, 2009 8:38 am

    I have never done this for any book that I’ve read. I’ll have to try it.

Trackbacks

  1. Book #35 – Breakfast at Tiffany’s (final thoughts) « alita.reads.

I <3 Comments

