Skip to content

Monday Round Up (Christmas Edition 2010)

December 27, 2010

Library Loot is hosted by Claire at The Captive Reader and Marg at Reading Adventures.

Mailbox Monday is a weekly event started by Marcia at The Printed Page. December’s host is Lady Q at Let Them Read Books.

Belated Merry Christmas! I hope that everyone who celebrates had a wonderful Christmas. Ours was three full days of family celebrations. It was a really fun Christmas, but I’m definitely happy to have this week off and to have planned absolutely nothing for today.

All that I do have planned for today?
#1: Stay in pyjamas
#2: Eat Christmas gooodies
#3: Read. And oh boy do I have lots of new books to choose from!

On Wednesday last week, I suddenly decided I needed some Christmas reads for my week off between Christmas and New Years, so I made a pit stop at the library on my way home and came away with these:

Christmas Reads:

Debbie Macomber – The Perfect Christmas
Sheila Roberts – On Strike For Christmas
Debbie Macomber – When Christmas Comes
Janet Evanovich – Visions of Sugar Plums
Cecelia Ahern – The Gift

And then Christmas came and I now have these lovelies towering on my coffee table. I love the variety found within this pile!

Sydney Salter – Swoon At Your Own Risk
Yoko Ogawa – The Housekeeper and the Professor
Christopher Moore – Lamb
Sophie Kinsella – Mini-Shopaholic
Kazuo Ishiguro – Never Let Me Go
Shilpi Somaya Gowda – Secret Daughter
Jennifer Brown – The Hate List
Shobhan Bantwal – The Sari Shop Widow

Plus (yes there’s more), these books arrived last week:
Marilynne Robinson – Gilead (borrowed from my mom)
Richard Paul Evans – The Christmas List (borrowed from my mom)
Sarrah Dessen –  Someone Like You (won at Book, Line and Sinker)

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Whew. So what have I been reading lately? Thanks to everyone who left great suggestions last week as to what I should read next. I ended up starting Very Valentine by Adriana Trigiani, as recommend by Danielle. But I put it down after a couple days to start my Christmas reads and plan to pick it up again in 2011.

So.

Finished: On Strike for Christmas by Sheila Roberts

Posted: Monsters of Men & The New World by Patrick Ness

Currently Reading: Visions of Sugar Plums by Janet Evanovich

Up Next: When Christmas Comes by Debbie Macomber and The Gift by Cecelia Ahern

What are you reading? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

17 Comments leave one →
  1. December 27, 2010 10:14 am

    Woo, lots of great reads! I managed only one holiday-themed book this season — The Mischief Of The Mistletoe — and that was lots of fun. Secret Daughter and Never Let Me Go have been on my wishlist for a while. Enjoy!

  2. December 27, 2010 11:21 am

    What a great stack of books! Your today sounds like my yesterday! Thanks for linking up to Mailbox Monday! Happy reading!

  3. December 27, 2010 12:06 pm

    Secret Daughter has been on my wishlift for a long time! You have such a nice haul of books here.
    Enjoy the reading.

  4. December 27, 2010 12:13 pm

    All of your Christmas books look like so much fun! I didn’t read any festive novels this season, but that’s ok. Enjoy your reading!

  5. December 27, 2010 12:43 pm

    Have a fab week! My It’s Monday is here.
    Come and link reviews of books with a TV/Movie Adaptation on this week’s Read My Review

  6. December 27, 2010 1:16 pm

    Now that is a great selection of books! I plan on doing a lot of eating, reading and relaxing this week too.

  7. December 27, 2010 1:23 pm

    Wow, you have several books there that I want to read! Mini-Shopaholic, for one. And the other day, I saw a movie based on the On Strike for Christmas book. It was good.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog…enjoy your books.

  8. December 27, 2010 1:34 pm

    I’m in love with the stack of books that are just waiting for you!! Have fun this week! Your plans sound very similar to mine :D

  9. December 27, 2010 2:12 pm

    I love your Christmas reads! And I have Sari Shop Widow but haven’t read it yet, need to change that!

  10. December 27, 2010 3:48 pm

    yay for Hate List! I loved that book so much.

  11. December 27, 2010 4:32 pm

    I love your plan for staying in pj’s, eating and reading… I’m going with that too :)
    Wonderful haul of books. Have a great week and happy reading!!

  12. December 27, 2010 5:49 pm

    Wow look at all those books! AND I am so jealous that you have this whole week off! I would love that :)

    Enjoy your reads!

  13. December 27, 2010 6:41 pm

    Loved your review of Monsters of Men! I am starting to listen to the first in the trilogy and really getting into it. I can’t wait to read all three…and now, the prequel! Thanks for the heads up!

    Also, really love all the Christmas reading! Perfect! Hope you enjoy and have a fabulous reading week! Thanks so much for stopping by earlier!

  14. December 27, 2010 7:10 pm

    I really like Richard Paul Evans books. Enjoy!

  15. December 27, 2010 8:29 pm

    Oooh, I saw Lamb on another blog today too, I totally need to pick that one up! You got a great stack this week, I’m so jealous!

    Have a great week :)

  16. December 28, 2010 3:48 am

    Looks like you’ve got plenty of books to keep you going through to the new year and beyond! I’ve got a few Debbie Macomber books too and quite enjoy them.

    All the best for the new year! :)

  17. December 29, 2010 9:58 am

    Oh my gosh! WAY too much book goodness in one week! The only books I received for Christmas were 3 Debbie Macomber titles from a friend; my girls refuse to buy me more books until I get rid of the piles waiting to be read! LOL! The Christmas List was a pretty good one; I could imagine it being made into a television movie! Enjoy all of the reads!

I <3 Comments