Skip to content

Monsters of Men & The New World by Patrick Ness

December 21, 2010

From the author’s website:
Three armies march on New Prentisstown, each one intent on destroying the others.
Todd and Viola are caught in the middle, with no chance of escape.
As the battles commence, how can they hope to stop the fighting? How can there be peace when they’re so hopelessly outnumbered? And if war makes monsters of men, what terrible choices await?
But then a third voice breaks into the battle, one bent on revenge…

ohmygoodness.

I’m going to make this as spoiler free as possible, but…

oh. my. good. ness.

Monsters of Men is the third and final book in the Chaos Walking trilogy, and if you’ve read the other two and thought they were good? Well, I don’t think I need to tell you how much you need to read this one. This was one action-packed book. Just when I thought things were finally all okay. BOOM! Patrick Ness does not spare his characters any trials. Upon finishing, I just sat for a good 10 minutes trying to catch my breath. I think I held my breath for the entire book.

Ness is also fantastic at creating awesome characters that you can’t help but care so very much about. Plus these books contain the best villain I’ve encountered in a long time. Actually, two of the best villains. Are they pure evil? Is there some good in there? I just don’t know!

Although I don’t know if I could handle the emotional intensity of reading the series again, I do want to add them to my own library. I want to have them on my shelf so that friends can see them and ask “What are these books about?” and I can shove The Knife of Never Letting Go to their chest, saying “Don’t ask, just read.”

While part of me wishes this series was much longer than only 3 books, I don’t think I could handle witnessing more bad things happening to the remaining characters. So, if not seeing any more books in the series means that all they all get to live happily ever after, I hope I never read another sentence about them ever again. Seriously, they’ve been through enough.

But … right after I finished Monsters of Men I discovered that Patrick Ness wrote a short story prequel to the series called The New World. Which is available for free online. Of course I quickly looked it up, meaning to save the link somewhere safe, to enjoy at a later date. Yeah, that didn’t happen. Instead, I devoured it right away. The New World gives a bit of background on Viola’s time on the shuttle heading towards the new world and the fears she already had.

The New World wasn’t nearly as thrilling as the rest of the series, but it did show how much Viola matured during the Chaos Walking trilogy. And it also reveal just how unprepared the settlers were for the world they were approaching, even after all their lessons and research. Although that knowledge did help Viola survive for so long. If you want to read it, it’s available here.

I would recommend The New World to anyone who loved the Chaos Walking trilogy and needs to spend a bit more time with some of the characters.

As for the Chaos Walking trilogy – I’ll be recommending these books to everyone and anyone. Beside Harry Potter, this is the best series I’ve read in a long time. A big thanks goes out to Jenny for strongly recommending this series on her blog a couple months ago.

My ratings:
Monsters of Men 9.5/10
The New World 8/10

Soundtrack Saturday

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 21, 2010 12:03 pm

    I have these books on my list for next year. Everyone loves them and I in turn love an addicting series.

  2. December 21, 2010 2:24 pm

    I just may have to read these…I’m on the fence :D

  3. December 21, 2010 3:40 pm

    I’ve yet to read any of these but every time someone talks about Hunger Games, I always ask if they’ve heard of this series… No one ever seems to! I hope to get to them someday… (I haven’t read Hunger Games yet, either.)

  4. December 21, 2010 4:25 pm

    You’re welcome! But seeing you love them is thanks enough for me. :D I love these books so much I want to buy extra copies and distribute them to strangers on the street. (I just went and reread The New World, and it made me all teary. Poor Viola.)

Trackbacks

  1. Patrick Ness – The New World « Fyrefly's Book Blog
  2. Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness | Iris on Books

I <3 Comments

