Skip to content

Soundtrack Saturday – The Knife Of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

October 2, 2010
tags:

Soundtrack Saturdays is a little thing where I share a song with you that I think would fit on the soundtrack for the book I’m currently reading. If you’d like to join in, please either leave your soundtrack pick or the link to your soundtrack post in the comments.

Current Read: The Knife Of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

One Sentence Summary: In a world where men’s thoughts are public and animals talk back, Todd is on the run from the reality he grew up believing in.

Soundtrack Song: “My Best Theory” by Jimmy Eat World from the album Invented.

Why I chose this song: This might be a biased pick, as I’ve been listening to the new Jimmy Eat World album non-stop the last couple days (SO GOOD!). But this song makes me thinking of Todd and Viola running through marshes and forests. Running running running, from an army, a madman, and settlements full of people with an old grudge.

We can feel the air rush out,
Out from the center,
Not like one side is any better.

Settlements that Todd didn’t know existed and a grudge he doesn’t understand.

So many questions and the answers come back unanswered.
Let’s hope the old script gets a new twist.

What song would you add to the soundtrack for this book or the one you’re currently reading?

To check out previous Soundtrack Saturday posts, click here.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2010 6:47 am

    Whenever I read TKoNLG now, I can only think of the version of “Early One Morning” that Patrick Ness said inspired him to have Ben singing it: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OcCfAfDWAug&p=4C5C8BB2B0A6CFAB&playnext=1&index=21

  2. October 2, 2010 7:22 am

    Good pick (someone sent this to me from a Google Alert because they know I’m always talking about music and the books). The Jimmy Eat World song is great, and the Jim Moray version of “Early One Morning” is exactly the one that inspired the song from Ben.

    If you’re curious (and this only my opinion and NOT definitive), but the song I hear and the song I played over and over again while writing the book is “Map of the Problematique” by Muse. Another great running song and filled with all the yearning I wanted to get in there. PLus the beat kicks up halfway through and it gets even faster.

    Cool to hear the Jimmy Eat World song, too, though. I wouldn’t object to that at all…

    Patrick Ness

  3. October 2, 2010 9:21 am

    Glad it’s Patrick Ness approved. =)

    Love this book…good time to read it since book 3 in the trilogy came out this week in the US! I look forward to finishing the series.

  4. October 2, 2010 2:27 pm

    Jenny – Oooh thanks for sharing that link. I don’t think I had actually heard “Early One Morning” before … maybe I had heard the Nana Mouskouri version? So glad I took your advice and read this book!

    Patrick Ness – Thanks for stopping by! I love matching music and books. Now I want to re-read the book while listening to the Muse song.

    Ronnica – Whew, I know! I actually started this series now so that I could read Jenny’s review of the third book :) I just need to get my hands on the second book pronto.

  5. October 2, 2010 4:11 pm

    I’m reading this book right now too! (: But I can’t seem to think of a song. Usually once I’m finished reading something, I hear a song and it reminds me of a book. Of course, it’s of no use by then. xD

    • October 4, 2010 12:09 pm

      I hope you’re enjoying it! You should definitely listen to these songs while you read it :)

  6. Hunter permalink
    May 22, 2012 10:29 pm

    Hey Patrick,

    What was your theme song for The Ask and The Answer? I know the Radiohead song is the song for Monsters of Men. Anybody out there know?

Trackbacks

  1. The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness (final thoughts) « alita.reads.

I <3 Comments