Skip to content

The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness (final thoughts)

October 19, 2010

At 12 years old, Todd is the youngest resident not only of his village, but of the world. Shortly after he was born, a virus spread throughout the world, which made men’s thoughts vocal, gave animals speech, and wiped out all the women. The war that broke out in the midst of this chaos killed the rest of the men outside the village. Now Todd is the last boy and counting down the days until he becomes a man on his 13th birthday. Until then, the only company he has is Manchee, the yappy dog he never wanted. However, a month before his birthday, Todd hears something he’s never heard before – Silence.

The Knife of Never Letting Go is the kind of book, I think, where the less you know going in, the better. So, this is going to be brief.

I had heard a lot about this series and had read quite a few “If you like the Hunger Games, you’ll love the Chaos Walking trilogy” comments, but never really felt compelled to pick up The Knife of Never Letting Go. I am so glad Jenny finally got through to me, because wow was this book awesome. In fact, I liked it even more than I did the Hunger Games. Because the action. never. stops. Oh, and the main characters are pretty great, too.

Like I said above, I think it helped that I knew nothing of the book going in. Okay, so I knew of the fate of one of the characters, but let me tell you, it didn’t make reading that particular scene any easier. I really should not have read that part in public. Sitting next to a big window. On a super busy corner. On a bright sunshiny day. There were no shadows in which to hide the tears.

Anyway, not knowing anything going in made all the twists and turns and discovering Todd’s world all that more exciting. It had me all tense and shouting to my husband “HOW IS THAT GUY NOT DEAD?!” and it was wonderful.

My only complaint – talk about your heart-wrentching cliffhangers and why didn’t I already have the next book sitting right with me to read right away???!!

Hmm, I don’t really know if that’s a complaint.

Don’t worry, everything’s okay now. When I dropped The Knife of Never Letting Go off at the library, The Ask and the Answer was waiting nicely on the shelf for me to pick up. Yesssssss.

My rating: 9/10

Related
Soundtrack Saturday [Patrick Ness even stopped by and shared a song choice :)]
Support Your Local Library Reading Challenge 15/25

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2010 5:55 am

    I wasn’t particularly fond of The Hunger Games (I found the love triangle forced), but this has been on my list for a while–and this review makes me want to pick it up now.

  2. She permalink
    October 21, 2010 5:25 pm

    Glad you took the plunge! The second book was my favorite :)

  3. October 25, 2010 1:14 am

    I enjoyed this book, but liked The Hunger Games more. The idea of hearing thoughts is also in a novel by John Wyndham, The Crysalids. It’s quite an old book, but it has a similar idea. When I read it, it was like reading a very new YA book, not a 50-year old book at all. Maybe worth checking out if you liked The Knife.

  4. October 30, 2010 10:22 am

    Dude, for serious. HOW DID THAT GUY NOT BE DEAD? I practically have to scream that every time I read this book. I’m so glad you liked the book! I hope you like the next two – though be aware they get very very bleak.

Trackbacks

  1. Monsters of Men & The New World by Patrick Ness « alita.reads.

I <3 Comments

