Skip to content

Monday Round Up (10.04.10)

October 3, 2010

sb10067729n-003Mailbox Monday is a weekly event started by Marcia at The Printed Page. October’s host is Avis at She Reads and Reads.

I have not done a Mailbox Monday in so long, not since I started my self-imposed new book ban in the Spring. But, last week I accompanied hubby on a business trip that happened to leave me with some free time. I stumbled upon a great used bookstore plus made a little trip to Barnes & Noble. I did show some constraint, but these are the spoils I came away with:

Used bookstore:

Sense & Sensibility by Jane Austen
Through The Looking-Glass by Lewis Carroll
Rachel’s Holiday by Marian Keyes

Barnes & Noble:

We Have Always Lived In The Castle by Shirley Jackson
Stuck In Neutral by Terry Trueman
Zombies vs. Unicorns edited by Holly Black & Justine Larbalestier

Library Loot is hosted by Claire at The Captive Reader and Marg at Reading Adventures.

Yes, I even have a library book to share this week! This week I picked up…

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

Finally my Mockingjay hold came in! I’ve managed to keep myself away from most spoilers (other than accidentally finding out about someone who dies), so I’m looking forward to diving into this with a clean slate.

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished: The Knife Of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness *review to come, but wow was that good!*

Posted: Sparrows On Wheels by Heidi Janz + a request for recommendations (I realized a gap in my reading habits last week and am asking for recommendations for books featuring characters with disabilities. If you know of any, please leave a comment on the Sparrows post! I’m going to post my findings later this week.)

Currently Reading: The Heretic’s Daughter by Kathleen Kent

Up next: Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins (Jumping right into this after The Knife Of Never Letting Go would have been way too much dystopian, so it’s going to have to wait a few more days.)

What are you reading? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

28 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2010 4:04 pm

    WOW — lot’s of great books. I just finished We Have Always Lived in a Castle; it’s good –enjoy them all.

    http://bibliophilebythesea.blogspot.com/2010/10/mailbox-monday.html

  2. October 3, 2010 5:42 pm

    Delightful looking books. I love the cover on your Through the Looking Glass.

    I’m curious as to what you’ll think of The Heretic’s Daughter. I couldn’t get into it, but maybe I wasn’t in the right mood.

    Hope you enjoy all your books.

    Here’s my Monday:

    http://laurelrainsnow.wordpress.com/2010/10/04/monday-memes-mailbox-what-are-you-reading-oct-4/

  3. October 3, 2010 6:11 pm

    I love seeing classics in people’s mailboxes! Enjoy!!

  4. October 3, 2010 6:51 pm

    I’ve really been wanting to read We Have Always Lived in the Castle — looking forward to your thoughts on it!

    Here’s my Monday: Coffee and a Book Chick — Mailbox Monday…

  5. October 3, 2010 6:58 pm

    I could only think of YA titles off the top of my head for books about people with disabilities. Library Thing has a list of both YA and adult titles. Skimming it, I know I’ve read a few of these. http://www.librarything.com/subject/People+with+disabilities%09Fiction

    • October 3, 2010 8:05 pm

      Awesome, thanks so much! I did a bit of searching on LibraryThing earlier this week, but I didn’t come across a lot of the titles on this list. Most of them are unfamiliar to me.

  6. October 3, 2010 7:07 pm

    I really enjoyed The Heretic’s Daughter, I hope you like it. You week was a good one and I shall check back for the review of The Knife of Never Letting Go. My Monday can be found here: http://www.rundpinne.com/2010/10/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-104.html

  7. October 3, 2010 7:47 pm

    I will be interested in what you think of Heretic’s Daughter. My book club read it last year. Have a super week :)

  8. October 3, 2010 8:48 pm

    I considered downloading We have always lived in the Castle, I may still before the end of Oct.

    My post.

    http://teawithmarce.blogspot.com/2010/10/what-are-you-reading-monday-after.html

  9. October 3, 2010 9:23 pm

    I want to see your review on The Knife of Letting Go since I recently read Mockingjay. I hope you enjoy your week coming up.

  10. October 4, 2010 1:29 am

    Yay, I loved the Chaos Walking series!!!! Happy reading :)

  11. October 4, 2010 1:31 am

    Heard great review of The Knife of Never Letting Go, and the Heretics Wife. Hope you enjoy Mockingjay too. Have a great week!

  12. October 4, 2010 4:39 am

    I’ve heard a lot about Zombies vs. Unicorns – I hope it’s as much fun as it sounds!

  13. October 4, 2010 5:36 am

    Stuck in Neutral has a great cover! I’ve read a number of Printz award winners and it’s such an interesting mix of literature. I’m going to have to grab a copy of that one! Have a great week. :)

  14. October 4, 2010 5:47 am

    My daughter has Mockingjay, I keep saying I’m going to read it. It looks like it may be a slow week, so maybe this will be Mockingjay week for me.

  15. October 4, 2010 5:50 am

    I love browsing a used book store. Enjoy all of your new books!

  16. October 4, 2010 5:57 am

    Great week! Enjoy.
    ~inspired Kathy

    My Mailbox

  17. October 4, 2010 6:19 am

    On I picked up Sense & Sensibility (plus a few other classics) last week too! I’ll be watching to see what team your on after reading Zombies vs. Unicorns :)
    For some reason I think I have The Knife of Never Letting Go too – will have to check it out tonight!!!

  18. October 4, 2010 9:09 am

    I had to laugh at the idea of ‘too much dystopia’ — such a problem I never envisioned, but I so know what you mean! I’ve had to swear off Victoriana asylum novels as I felt myself going to a bit mad!

  19. October 4, 2010 9:30 am

    I’m so glad to hear you enjoyed The Knife of Never letting Go! It’s been on my shelf forever, I need to pick it up!

  20. October 4, 2010 11:02 am

    Looks like a vibrant week!

    Here’s my Monday.

  21. October 4, 2010 11:28 am

    Great books! Sense & Sensibility is my favorite book. We Have Always Lived in the Castle is also fantastic.

    I finished Mockingjay last week. I’ll be off dystopian too for a bit.

  22. October 4, 2010 1:11 pm

    Shirley Jackson is one of my favorite authors. Happy reading!

  23. October 4, 2010 1:53 pm

    Stuck in Neutral is amazing!!! You found some excellent reads!! Enjoy- :D

  24. October 4, 2010 2:39 pm

    The Zombie’s versus the Unicorns sounds fun. I have been wanting to read The Heretic’s Daughter. Curious to see what you think of it.

  25. October 4, 2010 5:08 pm

    I’ve never read anything by Marian Keyes, but the covers of her books always intrigue me. I may have to check her out.

  26. October 4, 2010 8:55 pm

    such a nice haul–where were you with hubby? enjoy MJ–i’m eager to hear your opinion. :)

I <3 Comments

