Skip to content

Monday Round Up (02.15.10)

February 14, 2010

“What are you reading on Mondays” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished:
The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield *review to come*
The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary E. Pearson *review to come*

Started/still reading:
The Five Love Languages by Gary Chapman

Up next:
Thanks for all the great suggestions last week! The book that received the most votes by far was The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. My plan for this week was to read The Book Thief in the evenings (to keep my weepy eyes away from the public) and read The Secret Shopper’s Revenge by Kate Harrison when out in the world during the day. However, there’s this little thing going on in our city right now called the Winter Olympics, which means TONS of free cultural events all the time. There are so many bands playing each night, I don’t quite know what to do with myself. Oh, and there are some sporting events on, too. So, I may not get much reading done this week.

My revised reading plan for this week is to focus on The Five People You Meet In Heaven by Mitch Albom, and save The Book Thief/The Secret Shopper’s Revenge for after the Olympics.

sb10067729n-003Mailbox Monday is a weekly event hosted by Marcia at The Printed Page.

I had two new books arrive at my house this week:

The Secret Diaries of Charlotte Bronte by Syre James (bought)

The Five People You Meet In Heaven by Mitch Albom (borrowing from a friend)

What are you reading? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

32 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2010 12:24 am

    I loved both The Book Thief and The Secret Shoppers Revenge, you have some great reading to look forward to. Enjoy your week…sounds like you’ll be having fun.

  2. February 15, 2010 12:39 am

    I’ve got to read The Book Thief soon! I’m off to check out your review of The Adoration of Jenna Fox :-)
    Have a wonderful reading week!

  3. February 15, 2010 12:41 am

    Oops I thought it was linked, obviously not done yet LOL

  4. February 15, 2010 4:11 am

    I’ve had The Book Thief on my bookshelf for a while now. I’m hoping to get round to it soon though.

  5. February 15, 2010 4:23 am

    The Secret Diaries of Charlotte Bronte is supposed to be really good!

    I’m reading Keeping the Feast, but should finish it this morning. I plan to start The Weight of Heaven next.

  6. Kaye permalink
    February 15, 2010 4:35 am

    I hope you do enjoy the Book Thief. It was a great read with some really wonderful characters. Have a great week and happy reading! My MM is here

  7. February 15, 2010 4:57 am

    Oooh, you live in Vancouver? I’m so jealous – I’m a total olympics junkie! I also have The Book Thief at near the top of my TBR (it just keeps getting pushed off every time a library request comes in) – so I hope you enjoy it and look forward to hearing our thoughts!

  8. February 15, 2010 5:01 am

    The Secret Diaries… interests me. Have a great week!

  9. February 15, 2010 5:50 am

    The Book Thief really doesn’t get weepy until the last 50-75 pages, so you should be safe being out in public with most of the book!

    Here’s my Monday post:
    http://literarilyspeaking1.blogspot.com/2010/02/its-monday-what-are-you-reading_15.html

  10. February 15, 2010 6:01 am

    Oh, enjoy The Book Thief! It’s quite superb.

    I’ve got loads of new books from the library but the only books I’m reading are L.M. Montgomery – guess I’m just in the mood!

  11. February 15, 2010 6:39 am

    I vote for enjoying the cultural events of the Winter Olympics! The Book Thief is wonderful, but will still be there after the Olympics are long gone. Have a wonderful week. Happy reading. My Monday: http://www.rundpinne.com/2010/02/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-15.html

  12. February 15, 2010 6:51 am

    I only go two books this week as well.

    Here is mine

  13. February 15, 2010 8:02 am

    The Thirteenth Tale waits and waits on me…. I am excited to read your thoughts on it. Have a great week!

  14. February 15, 2010 8:31 am

    I keep seeing The Book Thief around the web…I simply must read it!

    My post:

    http://laurel-rain-snow.blogspot.com/2010/02/its-monday-what-are-you-reading_15.html

  15. February 15, 2010 8:48 am

    I have heard The Book Thief is really good. Enjoy all the festivities. They sound like fun!

  16. February 15, 2010 9:58 am

    Loved The Book Thief! That is so cool that you have the Olympics!! Enjoy the festivities. I must say, I haven’t read one page since they started. That’s all I do is watch TV. Yikes.

    Lynne’s Book Reviews

  17. February 15, 2010 11:58 am

    Great plan to waiting until after Olympics. I have Book Thief on my list also.

    My post
    http://teawithmarce.blogspot.com/2010/02/its-monday-what-are-you-reading.html

  18. stacybuckeye permalink
    February 15, 2010 12:48 pm

    Have fun and enjoy the Olympics!

  19. February 15, 2010 1:02 pm

    The two you got in your mailbox are great! Happy reading. My mailbox is at The Crowded Leaf.

  20. February 15, 2010 2:01 pm

    I just checked out the Adoration of Jenna Fox in audiobook form. It’s up after I listen to Swan Thieves. I Loved the Thirteen Tale.

  21. February 15, 2010 2:32 pm

    I LOVED the Thirteenth Tale. I’m going to go check out your review next. :) The Book Thief is awesome, so I hope you enjoy it!

  22. February 15, 2010 4:30 pm

    The Five People You Meet in Heaven is a great book, I really liked it. Not ebing a religious person myself, I really enjoy reading books about different ideas of what a heaven might like if it existed. Then again, a friend of mine read it and din’t like it, so I cant wait to read your review!

    Everyone seems to be reading The Book Thief at the moment – I feel like I am missing out.

  23. February 15, 2010 5:44 pm

    I really liked Jenna Fox and I want to read The Book Thief…soon. soon.

    Want to enter my Book Lover’s Basket Giveaway?? It would help my family a ton in the long run too!!

    http://shootingstarsmag.blogspot.com/2010/02/book-lovers-prize-basket-international.html

  24. February 15, 2010 6:13 pm

    How fun that the Olympics are in your home town! We lived in Salt Lake when they were there and it really was so much fun. Go! Do everything they have to offer, because it’s completely worth it!

    I’m interested to see what you think of The Book Thief, because unfortunately it seems, I was the only one on the planet who couldn’t finish it.

    Have a great week, reading and otherwise! And thanks for stopping by my site earlier!

  25. February 15, 2010 7:11 pm

    Definitely take in all you can surrounding the Olympics!! I’ve visited your beautiful country and would love to come back. The Book Thief is fantastic. Enjoy.

  26. February 16, 2010 12:06 pm

    Oh, have lots of fun this week! I really liked The Adoration of Jenna Fox, so I’m looking forward to your review. Have a wonderful week :)

  27. novelwhore permalink
    February 16, 2010 2:37 pm

    I am so excited to hear your thoughts on THE BOOK THIEF! I think you’re safe to read it in public until the second half or so… The tears don’t come until after you’ve become fully engulfed in the story. And wow, enjoy the Olympics as well!

  28. February 16, 2010 5:26 pm

    Secret Diaries of Charlotte Bronte is my favorite book so far this year. I absolutely LOVED it!! I enjoyed Adoration of Jenna Fox too!!

  29. February 16, 2010 10:00 pm

    I loved the Book Thief. Five Love Languages was eye-opening and I really enjoyed Jenna Fox til the epilogue which I didn’t like. Happy Readings!

  30. February 18, 2010 12:50 am

    Oh, you’re in Vancouver?! Your city looks beautiful! My husband and I are ready to hop on a plane and visit!

    I enjoyed The Five People You Meet in Heaven, and I really would have said that it wasn’t my kind of book. I’m glad my mom handed it to me.

    Enjoy your reading and all the Olympics stuff!

Trackbacks

  1. Monday Round Up (02.22.10) « alita.reads.

I <3 Comments