Skip to content

Monday Round Up (02.22.10)

February 21, 2010

“What are you reading on Mondays” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished: None :(

Started/Still reading:
The Five People You Meet In Heaven by Mitch Albom
The Five Love Languages by Gary Chapman

As predicted last week, the Olympics have decimated my reading. Between checking out the sights and watching events, there just hasn’t been much time for reading. Not that I’m complaining, it’s been a super fun week! My only goal for this coming week is to finish at least one of the books I have on the go right now.

sb10067729n-003Mailbox Monday is a weekly event hosted by Marcia at The Printed Page.

I had three books come into my possession last week:

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams (won from 25 Hour Books)
The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold (borrowed from sister)
Pirate Latitudes by Michael Crichton (borrowed from sister)

What are you reading? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

29 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2010 9:14 pm

    I really enjoyed The Five People You Meet in Heaven and I hope you enjoy Hitchhikers and The Lovely Bones, both are good in very different ways!

    heres mine
    http://pageturnersbooks.blogspot.com/2010/02/its-monday-what-are-you-reading_22.html

  2. February 21, 2010 9:31 pm

    The Five People You Meet in Heaven was a good book. Have a good reading week.

  3. February 21, 2010 9:39 pm

    I second the above comment – The Five People You Meet In Heaven really was a good read. Mitch Albom always has a good read!

  4. February 21, 2010 9:48 pm

    I’ve been meaning to read The 5 People You Meet In Heaven and I enjoyed The Lovely Bones. Haven’t seen the movie yet. Have a great week :-)

  5. February 21, 2010 10:56 pm

    lol I don’t even bother watching winter olympics, though I get the occasional update to see who’s got how many gold metals (Canada’s score is pretty dismal…)
    I am really interested in Pirate Latitudes, and of course Hitchiker’s Guide, which I still need to get my hands on
    enjoy your reading!

  6. February 21, 2010 11:32 pm

    The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy was my first Christmas gift from my boyfriend (now husband). Happy reading.

  7. February 22, 2010 12:46 am

    I had a pretty slow reading week this week – I only managed to finish one. And I haven’t even been watching the olympics so I have no excuse! Happy reading this week :)

  8. February 22, 2010 2:31 am

    I’ve read every single books by Mitch Albom other than “The Five People You Meet In Heaven”. Perhaps it’s about time for me to give this one a try! Hoping that your week is great and you achieve your goal for this week. Have a pleasant day!

  9. February 22, 2010 2:33 am

    Oops, I copied the wrong URL in my previous comment. Feel free to visit my blog if you’ve the time.

    Shy
    The Bibliophile’s Journal

  10. February 22, 2010 2:44 am

    Oh I would love to read Lovely Bones, the movie trailer looks amazing! Enjoy the books you got for the week.

  11. February 22, 2010 4:21 am

    Enjoy your reading. My husband has Pirate Latitudes on his nightstand to read next. Hope you enjoy it!

  12. February 22, 2010 4:54 am

    Oooh, Hitchhiker’s Guide and Lovely Bones are both great. I look forward to hearing your thoughts on The Five People You Meet in Heaven – it’s another of those books I feel like I should read but haven’t gotten to yet!

  13. February 22, 2010 5:19 am

    I need to go check out your sister’s bookshelves! I’ve got Pirate Latitudes and I’m really looking forward to reading it.

    • February 23, 2010 3:32 pm

      I actually gave Pirate Latitudes to her for Christmas. I had to restrain myself from reading it before giving it to her!

  14. February 22, 2010 5:21 am

    Pirate Latitudes…let me just tell you a little bit about that book. My husband only ever read anything by Michael Crichton when we first met so it was a pretty big deal when he passed away. I first heard about Pirate Latitudes on a book blog a few weeks ago and purposed to purchase it for my husband for his birthday and would you believe, he found a copy of it in the airport before he return trip from Seattle. And he bought it. So unfair! I now refuse to buy him a birthday present. LOL. j/k

    Hope you enjoy it! Happy reading this week.

    • February 23, 2010 3:33 pm

      Hahahaha! Obviously he doesn’t need a birthday present after pulling something like that. If he’s anything like my husband, finding one thing that he would like as a gift is hard enough!

  15. February 22, 2010 6:07 am

    Lovely Bones is a very interesting read and one that leaves you quite unsettled. I have not seen the movie, but I am sure I will eventually. Still I doubt it will live up to the book (most movies never do). Love Mitch Albom hope you enjoy your week.

  16. February 22, 2010 6:26 am

    You’ve posted some awesome books! The Five People, Hitchhiker’s, Lovely Bones are all great reads! I’m interested in what you think of Crichton’s Pirate story.

  17. February 22, 2010 6:36 am

    I just read The Hitchhiker’s Guide a few weeks ago and it was a blast.

  18. February 22, 2010 7:09 am

    Hope you have a great reading week! Check out mine at: http://ruthiesbookreviews.blogspot.com/2010/02/its-monday-what-are-you-reading_22.html

    Have a good one! :D

  19. February 22, 2010 7:32 am

    I like your goal for the week. :) My Monday: http://www.rundpinne.com/2010/02/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-22.html

  20. February 22, 2010 8:03 am

    The Lovely Bones is a haunting read…I haven’t heard of the others, but they sound good!

  21. February 22, 2010 8:38 am

    I have been hoping to read The Lovely Bones at some point. Have a great reading week!

  22. February 22, 2010 12:12 pm

    Your books look great(read Lovely Bones twice); hope u enjoy them all!

  23. February 22, 2010 1:51 pm

    I loved The Lovely Bones! Here’s my review of it. Have a good week!

  24. stacybuckeye permalink
    February 22, 2010 3:05 pm

    I read most of the Five Love Languages years ago and actually found it quite useful. I was syrprised since I usually hate self helpy books.

  25. February 22, 2010 3:41 pm

    I loved The Five People You Meet In Heaven! It was sooo good!

  26. February 22, 2010 7:15 pm

    Pirate Lattitudes was a good escape for me, I hope that it is the same for you:)

  27. February 27, 2010 3:05 am

    What did you think of The Lovely Bones…I’ll go over to Amy and see what she thought

I <3 Comments

