Skip to content

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon (final thoughts)

February 11, 2010

The year is 1945 and Claire and Frank Randall are enjoying some downtime in Inverness, a small town in Scotland, now that the war is over. While the idyllic setting is perfect for the couple to rekindle their love, it’s also a source of information on one of Frank’s ancestors.

One day Claire takes an innocent stroll through a Stonehenge-like circle of rocks, and while leaning on one is hit by a force of sound that makes her head spin. When she regains her bearings, she’s still at the rocks, but now it’s 1743. Before she knows it she is face to face with none other than Frank’s ancestor, who turns out to be Not A Nice Person. But never fear, Claire is rescued by band of Scots, including the one and only Jamie Fraser.

And so begins the epic tale of Claire and Jamie.

It seems to me that everyone loves this book, and that everyone loves Jamie. While I enjoyed both very much, neither gave me that ‘Oh my, must have more and more!’ feeling that people associate with this series.

What I liked about Outlander? I liked watching Claire navigate 1743 and try to find her place in it. I liked reading about what life was like back then, about the folk lore that people believed in and how easily mob riots could be stirred up. I did get caught up in all the action and fighting and daring escapes that went on. And yes, watching Claire and Jamie’s relationship progress from doctor/patient to something much, much more was very fun.

What I didn’t like? The many instances that had me saying “Really, they’re going at it again?” So, pretty much the whole middle of the book. I guess Romances aren’t for me. I’ll admit that the length also got to me, especially during the middle and I found myself needing to put it down for days at a time so I could read something else. Which is totally out of character for me, I’m very much a one-book-at-time kind of gal.

All that being said, I did enjoy the first and last thirds of the book immensely. I do want to continue on with the series at some point, but book number two is going to have to wait a while. Needless to say, I won’t be finishing the Outlander Challenge by November this year ;)

My rating: 7.75/10

Related:
Teaser Tuesday
Soundtrack Saturday

Challenges:
Book Blogger Recommendation Challenge – 2/15

11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2010 9:18 pm

    Sounds interesting–nice review.

  2. February 12, 2010 5:43 am

    I read somewhere that romance novels are supposed to have a sex scene for every 60 pages of book – sounds like this one managed that easily! :P

  3. stacybuckeye permalink
    February 12, 2010 8:54 pm

    Well, I’m glad that you at least liked it, if not loved it, like me. I say give me more Jamie!

  4. February 13, 2010 4:50 am

    A friend recently recommended the series to me. Thanks for the review!

  5. February 13, 2010 1:26 pm

    Nice review! I’ve mostly heard raving reviews of the book, that it felt good to read your POV, since I don’t much fancy romance either.

  6. justbookreading permalink
    February 14, 2010 6:38 am

    I’ll admit it – I just adore Jamie! Although I’m with you on the romance aspect. Yep, they do go at it just about every other page and I’ll admit to a bit of eye rolling at that too! :-)

  7. Jenn permalink
    February 14, 2010 10:51 am

    I give the two of them a bit of a pass with the romance in this book since they are newlyweds. I will say that they slack off a bit in the later books.

  8. February 16, 2010 8:51 am

    I do worry about this being too romance-ish for me, but I’d like to try it sometime anyway.

  9. February 18, 2010 2:57 am

    I have heard rave reviews for this book. But somehow, I just don’t feel all that tempted by it – probably because of the romance. And also, men in kilts have never really appealed that much to me :)

  10. February 18, 2010 12:40 pm

    Slamdunk – Thanks!

    Jenny – By my calculations, that means this book would have to have 14.17 sex scenes. Not that I want to go back and count them, but yes, I’d say this adds up to a Romance.

    stacybuckeye – Then Jamie’s all yours! ;)

    Colleen – I highly recommend it if you enjoy romance and historical fiction.

    Aths – Thanks! I feel slightly in the minority by not raving about this book.

    justbookreading – I was surprised that it took me a while to warm up to Jamie – definitely longer than it took Claire to warm up to him!

    Jenn – That’s a good point, being newlyweds probably had something with all the lovin’ going on.

    Nymeth – It wasn’t until I started that I realized it was probably too romance-ish for me.

    Nish – It was all the raving that got me to read it. Can you say Peer Pressure? But now that it’s been a while since I finished it I feel less compelled to read the next book. And no, men in kilts have never really appealed to me either. :)

  11. March 4, 2010 11:09 am

    LOL
    Fantastic review!

I <3 Comments

