Skip to content

Teaser Tuesday (09.15.09)

September 15, 2009
tags:

teasertuesdays31Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly event hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading. It’s easy enough to play along, just follow the Teaser Tuesdays link for rules.

This week’s quote comes to you from The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova.

The dons and students alike wore disappointingly modern dress, mostly wool sweaters, with dark flannel trousers for the mentor and blue jeans for the disciple. I thought with regret that in Rossi’s time, a good forty years before we stepped off our bus onto Broad Street, Oxford must at least have dressed with a little more dignity. (pp. 195-196)

After picking out my quote for today, I came across this one that I just had to add. Having been in a Hungarian-speaking part of Romania a few years ago, I can completely relate to this:

Listening carefully, I realized that she must be speaking Hungarian; I knew at least that Romanian was a Romance language, so I thought I might have understood a few words. But what Helen was speaking sounded like the galloping of horses, a Finno-Ugric stampede that I could not arrest with my ear for even a second. (p. 311)

Ah, so true! Hungarian sounds like nothing else. I was able to learn a few phrases, but for some reason I can only remember how to say “I am a banana” and “just kidding.” Obviously my brain knows how to remember the important things.

26 Comments leave one →
  1. bluestockingbb permalink
    September 15, 2009 7:41 am

    I finished reading this one last week. Here is my Teaser

  2. September 15, 2009 7:57 am

    This was a great book!

  3. September 15, 2009 8:03 am

    Sounds like a very interesting book. Great teaser! Love the part – sounded like the galloping of horses – trying to visualize that in my mind, hahahahaha…

  4. September 15, 2009 8:26 am

    wonderful teaser. If you want to wander down my road I’m home.

  5. September 15, 2009 8:37 am

    I have been wanting to read The Historian so badly. Great teaser. I *need* this book. My teaser is here: http://rundpinne.blogspot.com/2009/09/footsteps-in-dark-teaser-tuesdays.html

  6. September 15, 2009 10:16 am

    Great Teasers! LOVE the second one it’s too funny! It’s also super funny you only remember “I am a Banana” and “Just Kidding” ha, ha, that made me laugh, too!

  7. sumanam permalink
    September 15, 2009 10:37 am

    Great teaser..sounds like a good read.thanks for visiting me.

  8. September 15, 2009 10:39 am

    Well, I guess my question is, how DO you say “I am a banana” in Hungarian? I mean, that’s pretty random. :) I have some of the weirdest phrases memorized in other languages, too.

  9. September 15, 2009 11:24 am

    great teaser! I’ve read The Historian, and it’s not my kind of book it had a lot of potential, but then it died on me. Hope you will enjoy it more than I did.

  10. September 15, 2009 12:35 pm

    Are you liking the book? I tried to read it a few years back now, but found it dull and never got past half way. Maybe I should try it again!

  11. heyannahey permalink
    September 15, 2009 12:43 pm

    Haha, useful phrases to remember!
    Great quotes! I might have to find some more good ones for next week if I haven’t managed to finish the book by then, lol. :)

  12. September 15, 2009 12:51 pm

    Absolutely love this book! And you picked some great parts to pull out! Can’t wait to see your review on this!

  13. September 15, 2009 1:07 pm

    Sounds like a very interesting book. I’ll have to look into this one.

  14. September 15, 2009 1:41 pm

    Bluestocking – It’s going to take me a while to finish, but I’m really enjoying it :)

    Zia – I’m glad to hear you liked it!

    Natalie – Haha. It’s a great visual for how the language sounds!

    Kaye – Thanks for stopping by – I wondered around the corner and found your road :)

    Jennifer – It’s a great book, you really do need to pick it up!

    Krista – I learned some useful phrases too (really, I did!), but my brain obviously thought they were too boring to remember.

    sumanam – It is good, I highly recommend it!

    Allison – It had something to do with an inside joke going around the group I was with. For some reason we thought it would be even funnier in Hungarian. And you know what? It was! :)

    Karoline – It’s not my usual kind of book either, in that it is sooo long! But the story keeps pulling me along. I’m at about the halfway mark now, so hopefully it continues to do that.

    Lisa – I am liking it! It is pretty dry, and long, and but I am enjoying the story.

    heyannahey – Next week might be an epic battle of Historian quotes! I’m sure I’ll still be reading it next Tuesday, so I’ll bust out some more Historian goodness. Good thing there are lots of good ones in there!

    Kari – You might have to wait a little while still, it’s slow going on this one! But hearing good things from other people about it is making me even more eager to keep reading :)

    Jacqueline C. – It’s a great, moody, creepy book!

  15. September 15, 2009 2:18 pm

    Good teases. I can’t wait to start reading (or should I say re-reading since I picked it up years ago but only got about 100 pages in at the time). Looking forward to your thoughts on it.

  16. September 15, 2009 2:28 pm

    I’ve been looking at this one, for quite some time now. Oooh, shall I? Shan’t I? I’ve been teased, that’s for sure!

    Here’s mine – http://tjbook-list.blogspot.com/2009/09/teaser-tuesdays-blue-cotton-gown.html and thanks for popping by earlier

    Sassy
    :)

  17. September 15, 2009 4:17 pm

    Hahaha, your Hungarian sounds like my Mandarin – at this point I can pretty much say “I have no hair”, “big red watermelon”, “swimming pool”, and “be careful”. I feel like “be careful” is my best bet for being useful, but I have so far never been around a Chinese person in danger!

  18. September 15, 2009 4:40 pm

    It’s all Greek to me . . . Thanks for hopping by my teaser.
    It would be more meaningful to read the original P & P before taking on these other Austen-like books. After you read the originals, plan on reading The Lost Memoirs of Jane Austen — read it recently and loved it.

  19. September 15, 2009 5:48 pm

    Interesting teasers! I read the Historian a while back, and man that book is big. I enjoyed it though, and despite the length was a fairly quick read. Hope you’re enjoying it

  20. September 15, 2009 6:56 pm

    I’ve always been meaning to read The Historian, wonder why I haven’t so far. Excerpts sound interesting~

  21. September 15, 2009 7:00 pm

    So, I have been wanting to read The Historian for ages now. I bought it at least a year ago and for some reason have never started it. Great teaser, I’ll really have to give it a try!

  22. September 15, 2009 8:51 pm

    Tam – I hope your second attempt is more successful! It’s weird, when I’m reading, it’s hard to put the book down. But once I’ve stopped, it can be hard to pick it up again.

    Sassy Brit – I’m glad you’ve been teased! I highly recommend it as a great autumn book :)

    Jenny – Lol! You never know when you might need a swimming pool, or a big red watermelon for that matter.

    Kim – Thanks for the suggestion! I’ll add The Lost Memoirs to my to-read list.

    Lizzy – Ack, is it every big! It’s taking me longer than I’d like, but I really like the story.

    the seventh l – You should read it! The story is great, and the descriptions so vivid!

    Kathy – I put it off for a bit, too, because of the size. But yes, give it a try :)

  23. September 15, 2009 10:02 pm

    I read the Historian several years ago and really enjoyed it. It started out a little slow but I kept with it and was glad I did. Hope you are having fun with it. I love the teasers.

    Thanks for visiting and others can see our teasers at

    http://teensreadandwrite.blogspot.com/2009/09/teaser-tuesday-2.html

  24. Missy permalink
    September 16, 2009 6:18 am

    The Historian sounds like one I might like to read. Great teaser!!

  25. cjz111 permalink
    September 16, 2009 10:40 am

    This one is waiting for me. I cannot wait!

  26. September 17, 2009 1:59 pm

    Good teaser, not something I’d want to read but a good teaser none the less!

I <3 Comments