Skip to content

BBAW Reading meme

September 16, 2009

We’re heading into the middle of Book Blogger Appreciation Week 2009, so I think it’s time to participate in an official event! Today it’s all about reading habits.

Do you snack while you read? If so, favorite reading snack? Usually don’t snack, but for some reason I always have to be drinking water or tea.

Do you tend to mark your books as you read, or does the idea of
writing in books horrify you? I don’t mark books, but that’s not because it horrifies me – it’s because I borrow most of my books from the library. But yes, having the librarians call me out on something like that does horrify me.

How do you keep your place while reading a book? Bookmark? Dog-ears? Bookmark. Actually, one of my business cards…

Laying the book flat open? Nope.

Fiction, Non-fiction, or both? Fiction.

Hard copy or audiobooks? Hard copy. I have yet to enter the world of audiobooks.

Are you a person who tends to read to the end of chapters, or are you able to put a book down at any point? Usually I wait until the end of the chapter, but most of my reading is done during the commute to work and the bus/train usually won’t accommodate reading, so I’m forced to stop mid-chapter, even mid-sentence sometime! eeks.

If you come across an unfamiliar word, do you stop to look it up right away? If I have my laptop next to me, otherwise I don’t bother.

What are you currently reading? The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova

What is the last book you bought? Twenties Girl by Sophie Kinsella. It was a total impulse buy. But a great book!

Are you the type of person that only reads one book at a time or can you read more than one at a time? Nope, I can only read one at a time. Otherwise I tend to get too into one book and completely neglect the other one.

Do you have a favorite time of day and/or place to read? Saturday/Sunday afternoons.

Do you prefer series books or stand alone books? I like both, but I do like being able to spend more time with characters in series and see how their lives progress after the initial book. Sometimes, if you haven’t read a book in a particular series in a while, it’s like catching up with an old friend.

Is there a specific book or author that you find yourself recommending over and over? Lately it’s been This Charming Man by Marian Keyes. Or anything by Keyes, really.

How do you organize your books? (By genre, title, author’s last name, etc.?) Since I borrow most books I read (from the library/friends) and I lend out quite a few of the books I own, I don’t really have any organizational structure. On the table next to our couch I have my TBR stack (either in order I want to read them, or just in the order I get them in). Next to that stack are the books I’ve finished and need to return to their various owners (or pass along to new borrower).

5 Comments leave one →
  1. bluestockingbb permalink
    September 16, 2009 10:27 am

    I just finished The Historian. My Reading Meme

  2. cjz111 permalink
    September 16, 2009 12:01 pm

    I just found Twenties Girl for $1 at the second hand bookstore. Yay! And those librarians can be scary, be careful!

    • September 16, 2009 2:40 pm

      $1?? For real? I hope you like it – it’s a fun little read :)

  3. September 17, 2009 1:54 pm

    Haven’t done a meme in a while…may I snag this?

I <3 Comments

