Skip to content

It’s Monday! What are you reading? (09.14.09)

September 14, 2009

on_mondays“What are you reading on Mondays” is a weekly event hosted by J. Kaye that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished: Evermore by Alyson Noël

Currently Reading: The Historian by Elizabeth Kovstova

Up Next: I’m not going to bother trying to pick something right now, because, let’s be serious, I’m still going to be reading The Historian in a weeks time. Good thing I’m enjoying it!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2009 8:06 am

    I hope you like The Historian. Everybody tells me she’s good at moody atmosphere and not so good on long drawn out boring parts.

  2. September 14, 2009 11:26 am

    The Historian is a fatty book. I hear it’s really good. Here is my link

    http://readwithtea.blogspot.com/2009/09/hex-on-heels-by-linda-wisdom.html

  3. September 14, 2009 12:23 pm

    I just read about the Historian… am wondering if it’s worth the hype?

  4. September 14, 2009 4:42 pm

    The Historian is on my RIP reading challenge list, and I think one of the next that I will be picking up once I get through some of my ARCs.

  5. Schatzi permalink
    September 14, 2009 5:08 pm

    I picked The Historian up the night before last, and am loving it so far. I love the scenes of the cities they keep traveling to, they’re so well-drawn.

  6. heyannahey permalink
    September 14, 2009 5:53 pm

    The Historian seems to be a popular book this time of year. :)

  7. September 14, 2009 6:19 pm

    I haven’t read The Historian – must be a big book. Enjoy!

  8. September 14, 2009 7:38 pm

    Lula O – She is so good at creating that moody, mysterious atmosphere. Despite being really long, she keeps it interesting.

    tea – It’s definitely a long one!

    Allison – It is, if you like long books! Actually, I usually don’t go for long books like this, but I’m really enjoying it :)

    Tam – I think you’ll like it.

    Schatzi – There are so many wonderful details! You really feel like you’re right there, in all those different cities. Glad you’re liking it!

    heyannahey – Heh, it’s a perfect fall book :)

    Mary – It is! If you want something to get you in the fall mood, I recommend picking this up :)

  9. cjz111 permalink
    September 14, 2009 8:05 pm

    I am glad to hear you are enjoying The Historian. I think that it will be next on my list though it is a little ominous in size!

  10. September 15, 2009 2:04 pm

    So…what did you think of Alyson Noël’s book and are you planning to read BLUE MOON?

    • September 15, 2009 8:22 pm

      cjz111 – Yes, the size sure is intimidating!! I’m looking at it right now and thinking “this is still going to take me a while.”

      J. Kaye – The first half was okay, but I liked how things started happening just past the halfway point. That’s when I was hooked and stayed up late one night, determined to finish it before I went to bed :) Yes, I definitely want to read Blue Moon. I really want to see how the decisions made at the end of the book will unfold in Blue Moon!

  11. September 15, 2009 10:06 pm

    I liked Evermore but can’t say I loved it. I’m on the library waiting list for Blue Moon since I’m going to try the sequel but am not in a great hurry. How did it go for you?

    • September 16, 2009 2:32 pm

      I’m in the same boat. I liked it, but I’m not rushing out to get Blue Moon. I would like to read it at some point, mostly out of curiosity.

  12. September 16, 2009 7:42 pm

    HI there.
    I just wanted to let you know I did my review of the Flapper book I was reading. You showed some interest so I thought maybe I would share with you.
    Thanks Jennifer TFFQ
    http://jennifertffq.blogspot.com/2009/09/flapper-by-joshua-zeitz.html

I <3 Comments

