Skip to content

Booking Through Thursday (09.10.09)

September 10, 2009
tags:

This Thursday BTT asks: What’s the most informative book you’ve read recently?

At first I didn’t know how to answer this question, because I haven’t read any non-fiction this year (unless you count Julie & Julia). But I don’t think that ‘informative’ necessarily always means ‘non-fiction.’ I think that any book that makes you aware of something you did not previously know much about can be informative. 

a_thousand_splendid_sunsWith that in mind, my answer is A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini. Apart from being an absolutely mesmerizing story (it’s my fastest read and highest rated book so far this year), it made me so much more aware of the history and everyday life of Afghanistan. I’ll be honest, I knew next to nothing about the country before picking up this book. But reading it, I felt like I was right there, experiencing the beauty of the landscape, the constant power struggles that have gone on for centuries, the oppression of the women, and the buzz of the city market. I felt that Hosseini did a wonderful job weaving together the truths of recent Afghanistan history with the lives of his fictional characters to make a fantastically captivating story. 

I have The Kite Runner in my TBR pile, but I’m waiting for a good block of uninterrupted reading time for it, because I know I won’t be able to put it down once I start.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2009 11:47 am

    I don’t think informative necessarily means nonfiction, either….and I loved One Thousand Splendid Suns!

  2. September 10, 2009 12:40 pm

    I have been wanting to read this book for such a long time! I think I’ll pick it up now that I’ve read your review. :)

  3. September 10, 2009 4:57 pm

    I read A Thousand Splendid Suns with my bookclub this last year and thought it was excellent. I also bought Kite Runner and have been waiting for a chance to read it!

  4. September 10, 2009 6:20 pm

    I haven’t done a BTT in ages. I think this is a great answer. I keep forgetting about this book-but I really wanted to read it after reading A Kite Runner. I loved that book. I have an award for you at my page. :)

  5. September 11, 2009 9:17 am

    JoAnn – I love that non-fiction can still teach you so much about the world! Thanks for stopping by :)

    Casey – You should read it! I could not put it down once I started it and finished it in less than 24hrs, which is insanely fast for me!

    Ellie – It’s such a fantastic book and I’m sure The Kite Runner will be the same sort of thing.

    Colette – Awww thank you! And yes, you should read this book :)

  6. September 16, 2009 11:07 pm

    I haven’t read A Thousand Splendid Suns as yet. I have heard rave reviews on the web, so I just might give it a try. For some reason, I did not like The Kite Runner too much. I would love to know your thoughts on Kite Runner once you finish the book :)

    • September 17, 2009 10:50 am

      I highly recommend A Thousand Splendid Suns! I had put off reading it because I didn’t think it was a book I would like. My dad lent it to me and was constantly asking me if I had read it yet, so I reluctantly started it just so I could finally tell him I had read it. And then I was hooked – I couldn’t put it down :)

I <3 Comments

