Skip to content

Book #31 – Evermore – the end

September 9, 2009

evermoreI’ll admit, during the first half of Alyson Noël’s Evermore I was wondering what all the fuss was about. Yes, Ever is an interesting character in that she can read people’s minds, see their auras, and talk to dead people. But she’s also just like every other moody, emotional adolescent girl, not wanting her friends to find out about her huge crush on a guy who’s way out of her league and utterly convinced that no one really understands her, not even the psychic the same unusual abilities. And then, just over half way through, things changed and I was hooked.

What I liked about this book was that it wasn’t your typical “girl meets boy who turns out to be a vampire” story. There were some twist that I didn’t see coming at all. I may not rush out to read Blue Moon right away, but I do want to read it at some point. I really want to see how the choices made at the end of Evermore play out in the next book.

What I didn’t like were, at some points, the two main characters: Ever and Damen. There were times that Ever was a bit too whiney to get much sympathy from me. As for Damen, what can I say other than that there were times he was too Edward-esque. But I feel that they redeemed themselves at the end and their story is interesting enough to make me want to read on in the series.

Overall, a fun, quick read with the promise of an even better sequel. My rating: 7.8/10

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Carol permalink
    September 9, 2009 11:48 am

    Thanks for the review. I haven’t decided whether or not to pick this one up yet. I’ve been seeing it around a lot, though.

  2. September 9, 2009 6:01 pm

    I liked your review. I find books with more then one main character hard to read. I’ve heard that this book was a lot like Twilight-your review made me want to check it out for myself. :)

  3. September 9, 2009 11:03 pm

    Hey! I have been looking forward to this book! I’ll def check it out now!

    Also, I’ve moved :) You can now find my blog here: http://kariannalysis.com/

    Hope you’ll visit! Thanks!

  4. September 11, 2009 9:14 am

    Carol – I had been on the fence about it too, so I was surprised when the library contacted me to say it was waiting for me. I didn’t remember deciding to put my name on the list! But I’m glad I did – it was a fun little read.

    Colette – The story is told through Ever’s point of view only, so it’s not that confusing. And yeah, there are parts that are similar to Twilight, especially the first half. But I liked that the story seems to be going in a different direction.

    Kari – Yeah, you should check it out :) And nice new site!

  5. Emmy permalink
    December 27, 2009 6:33 pm

    well I kinda liked it, I’m hooked on vampires so I want to be an Author. What do you think? Please reply!

  6. maggie permalink
    January 11, 2010 11:58 am

    OH MY GOD I LOVE YOUR BOOK THE LOVE THE TENSION UGH I LOVE IT ALL!!! IM HALF WAY DONE WITH THE THIRD BOOK AND CANT WAIT FOR THE FORTH:)

I <3 Comments

