Skip to content

Soundtrack Song Mini-Challenge!

April 10, 2010
tags:

Click here for my read-a-thon updates post

THIS CHALLENGE IS NOW CLOSED

Hello read-a-thoners! Welcome to the Soundtracks Song mini-challenge! I love combining music and books, so let’s do some more of that. Yes, another music challenge coming your way ;)

Here’s how to play:

* Pick up a book that you’ve read today, or are currently reading.
* Choose a song that goes with the book – could be that it fits the overall feel of it or even a certain scene.
* Create a blog post answering the following:

  • Book title
  • Soundtrack song
  • Why you chose that song

* If possible, include a clip of the song (ie, youtube video).
* Come back here and leave the link to your post in the comments. (If you don’t have a blog, you can leave your answers in the comments)

This challenge will be open for 3 hours. At the end I’ll use random.org to pick a winner. And what are you playing for? The winner will be able to choose either 2 books or 1 of the 2 book prize packs from the read-a-thon prize list.

Have Fun!

Here’s mine!

Book title: Daddy-Long-Legs by Jean Webster

Soundtrack Song: “The Way I Am” by Ingrid Michaelson

Why I chose this song: This song seems to capture not only Jerusha honesty and wit, but also her sweet protectiveness over Mr. Smith (aka Daddy-Long-Legs), the anonymous benefactor allowing orphan Jerusha to attend college. She would do almost anything for him, and he seems to like her just the way she is.

32 Comments
  1. alissagrosso permalink
    April 10, 2010 1:08 pm

    Fun challenge, Alita. Here’s my entry:

    http://alissagrosso.com/2010/04/soundtrack-song-mini-challenge/

  2. April 10, 2010 1:15 pm

    Hope you enjoy it.
    http://www.librarything.com/topic/88879&newpost=1#lastmsg

    I would deffinitly recommend the book.

  3. April 10, 2010 1:19 pm

    Great idea for a challenge – thanks for being a mini challenge host :)

  4. April 10, 2010 1:21 pm

    Fun challenge! Here’s mine: http://www.spritewrites.net/?p=2425.

  5. April 10, 2010 1:28 pm

    Hey Alita,

    Nice to meet you :-)

    I hope you have a great read-a-thon :-) It seems you are doing well!

    Here is my entry for the mini-challenge: http://irisonbooks.wordpress.com/2010/04/10/read-a-thon-update-3/

  6. April 10, 2010 1:31 pm

    I had fun finding the video for this. Thanks for the mini-challenge!

    http://ghhslibrary.psd401.net/?p=2366

  7. April 10, 2010 1:36 pm

    i’m such a music person, so the idea of marrying the read-a-thon to music is perfect! i couldn’t resist.

    http://community.livejournal.com/read_a_thon/10885.html

  8. April 10, 2010 1:36 pm

    I love this challenge! I always try to match up music to go with the books I’m reading, so this was right up my alley!!
    I’m reading “The Murderer’s Daughters” so the song I picked seemed to go along with it well! Here’s the link – http://sharonsgardenofbookreviews.blogspot.com/2010/04/24-hour-read-thon.html

    Thanks for doing this!

  9. April 10, 2010 1:48 pm

    http://the-fiction-addiction.com/node/35

    There you go, my dear :) Probably could have put a little more thought into it, but I’m desperately trying to catch up right now :)

  10. April 10, 2010 2:02 pm

    Fun challenge. Here’s mine.

  11. April 10, 2010 2:08 pm

    Nice challenge!

    Here’s my pick -> http://bibliophibian.blogspot.com/2010/04/hour-9-update.html

  12. April 10, 2010 2:10 pm

    Great mini-challene, Alita! :D I’ve added my answers to my ‘thon post here

  13. April 10, 2010 2:15 pm

    Creative challenge! Here is my post

  14. April 10, 2010 2:46 pm

    My post is here. This was fun!

  15. April 10, 2010 2:55 pm

    Looks like you are making great headway
    Keep up the reading, don’t let that head sway
    Eyes on the page and coffee in hand
    You’ll be entering a new land.

    GO READER!

  16. April 10, 2010 2:58 pm

    I’ve been reading about the Korean naval hero Yi Sun-Shin and he was tough and very effective. My song for him is “I Won’t Back Down” by Tom Petty.

    bybeebooks.blogspot.com/2010/04/readathon-hour-10.html

  17. April 10, 2010 3:36 pm

    This is fun. I lurve music and books. Great combination and mini-challenge.

    I posted it on my blog.

    HAPPY readings!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Alissa Grosso » Soundtrack Song Mini-Challenge
  2. Read-A-Thon Update #3 « Iris on Books
  3. Read-A-Thon Update: Hours 8 & 9 – caribousmom
  4. Dewey’s 24 Hour Spring Read-a-thon: Starting Post « Birdbrain(ed) Book Blog
  5. Read-A-Thon Update: Hours 10 & 11 – caribousmom

Comments are closed.