Skip to content

Spring 2010 Read-a-thon Updates

April 10, 2010

This post will be used to chart my progress throughout the read-a-thon. What’s this all about? Click here to find out!

Books finished: 1
Pages read: 518
Total reading time: 10:56
Cheerleading comments left: 56

7 am
Reading: Daddy-Long-Legs by Jean Webster
Munching: Nothing yet, but coffee will be coming soon.
Listening: Ah, silence…
What else? I’m here, I’m awake! Let the reading begin! I woke up 4 minutes before my alarm was set to go off. So ready for read-a-thon time :)

8:19 am
Reading: Still Daddy-Long-Legs by Jean Webster
Munching: Coffee (w/ dollop of Cool Whip) and leftover timbits from last night. Will have something healthier later…maybe yogurt. mmmm. But for now, coffee and doughnuts it is!
Listening: Hubby’s phone keeps beeping from the office. And he is still blissfully asleep. I would go turn it off, but its so far away all the way down the hall.
What else? So glad I decided it to start with Daddy-Long-Legs. It is making me giggle and it has pictures. Yesssss

I am going to pretend that all life is just a game which I must play as skillfully and fairly as I can. If I lose, I am going to shrug my shoulders and laugh – also if I win. (p. 61)

10:20 am
Reading: Nope! Took a break to do take care of some official cheerleading business!
Munching: Berry yoghurt with Vanilla Almond Special K stirred in. YUM!
Listening: The sounds from hubby’s computer game.
What else? Visiting other readers is fun! There are some fast readers out there! Okay, back to Daddy-Long-Legs for me. If you’ve never read it, I highly recommend it. It’s so fun :)

11:53 am
Reading: In between!
Munching: In between!
Listening: “Gravity” by Lucy Schwartz (the tunes have finally been turned on!)
What else? I finally finished my first book! Woohoo! Now I’m working on the mini-challenge post that I am hosting in one hour. Be sure to check back to take part :) And I just realized I hadn’t been updating my reading stats at the top of this post. Oops! All updated now.

12:57 pm
Reading: Did some more cheering!
Munching: Just had some left over Yam Quesadillas from last night. Sooooo good!
Listening: Hubby making my birthday cake for tomorrow :)
What else? I’m jumping back into reading – Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins is coming up next! Plus, I have a mini-challenge coming up next. Join in with some musical fun :)

2:06 pm
Reading: Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
Munching: Cookies! I don’t know what they’re called… cream filled vanilla cookies with a dollop of raspberry stuff on top.
Listening: “Pull Shapes” by The Pipettes
What else? Didn’t get much reading done during the past hour. Too distracted by Twitter and the entries coming in for my mini-challenge! Thanks everyone for participating! And, thank you very much to the wonderful cheerleaders who have stopped by. You guys are doing a fantastic job!

3:48 pm
Reading: Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
Munching: Cheese & crackers. So glad I pre-sliced the cheese yesterday!
Listening: “Shoulder To The Wheel” by Saves The Day
What else? After checking out the entries to my soundtrack mini-challenge, I got back to reading and totally got sucked into Catching Fire. I almost lost track of time – good thing I looked up when I did, I need to pick a challenge winner shortly!

4:46 pm – Mid-Event Survey!
1. What are you reading right now? Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
2. How many books have you read so far? This is #2
3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon? 84, Charing Cross Road by Helene Hanff. I’ve been wanting to read this book for soooo long!
4. Did you have to make any special arrangements to free up your whole day? Nope!
5. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those? Hubby just came home with a sprained ankle :( But after handing him an Advil and some frozen peas, he’s settled down with a book and joining in on some read-a-thon time.
6. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far? So distracted by my computer! I haven’t read as much as I had wanted to so far.
7. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? Nope! Love how it’s being run :)
8. What would you do differently, as a Reader or a Cheerleader, if you were to do this again next year? I’m glad that I signed up for being both a Reader & Cheerleader, but I kind of forgot that it takes time to Cheerlead. Oops. Am planning on doing more of that during the second half.
9. Are you getting tired yet? Not yet! But it’s only almost dinner time here, so that could change soon!
10. Do you have any tips for other Readers or Cheerleaders, something you think is working well for you that others may not have discovered? I’m really glad I decided to keep one update post going, and use the same format for each update. It’s made posting updates much quicker than the would have been otherwise.

5:58 pm
Reading: Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
Munching: Nothing at the moment, but pizza should be arriving any minute.
Listening: “Daniel” by Bat for Lashes
What else? Sill not making as much reading progress as I’d like, but really enjoying Catching Fire. Oh, and I won a read-a-thon prize! I was one of the randomly selected Cheerleader winners at the beginning of hour 13 :) Which reminds me, I need to do more cheering… will get to that after pizza!

8:02 pm
Reading: Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
Munching: No munchies since pizza dinner, but I was just thinking of taking the BBQ chips out.
Listening: “Stolen” by Dashboard Confessional
What else? Seriously, how are we starting Hour 16 already! This day has flown by! I’m starting to wilt a little bit. I may need to run around in circles for a minute or two to get the blood flowing again.

10:06 pm
Reading: Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins & Cheerleading
Munching: Just finished some delicious hot chocolate.
Listening: “From the Inside Out” by Hillsong United
What else? It’s official, my eyeballs hurt. I had been pretty good at taking little breaks during my reading, but Catching Fire became so engrossing that I kind of forgot to look up for, um, about an hour. Sill need to get up and shake my limbs loose.

10:20 pm – Hour 18 Mini-Challenge
This challenge asks participants who are raising money: What charity are you raising money for?
The idea to use the read-a-thon to raise money for a charity stuck with me after the last ‘thon in the fall, and I decided that for this one I would give $5/book to The International Justice Mission:

International Justice Mission is a human rights organization that rescues victims of violence, sexual exploitation, slavery and oppression. A multi-national team of law enforcement professionals and a highly qualified legal staff conduct criminal investigations and collect evidence to rescue victims and bring perpetrators to justice.

12:47 am – packing it in
Reading: Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
Munching: Just water now
Listening: Ending off with silence
What else? I’m soooo close to the end of Catching Fire, less than 100 pages to go, but it’s time to slink of to bed. Thanks for the fun times today! Good luck to everyone still reading. Keep going strong!

30 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2010 7:22 am

    Yay! Go Alita, go! :D Read those books!

  2. April 10, 2010 7:43 am

    Good luck and have fun today!

  3. April 10, 2010 7:57 am

    Coffee companies make good business on read-a-thon days! lol Happy reading!

  4. April 10, 2010 8:40 am

    oh, i LOVE daddy long legs. i saw the movies as a child, but then only found the book a few years ago. maybe that is something for you to do next weekend =D

  5. April 10, 2010 9:09 am

    Reading is to the mind what exercise is to the body.
    ~ Joseph Addison ~

    Think of how strong we’re getting today! At least mentally. :)

    Enjoy every minute!

  6. April 10, 2010 9:13 am

    Just checking to see how you are doing-let me know when you start Uglies :)

  7. April 10, 2010 9:41 am

    You’re off to a good start!

  8. April 10, 2010 11:27 am

    I’ve been following you on various blogs as we are cheerleading together. I thought I’d come and cheer you on also. Here’s my poem for the day:

    If I could have one wish,
    I know what I would say.
    Just give me my books,
    And let me read all day.

    Happy Reading.

    –from your cheerleader, Margot

  9. April 10, 2010 11:33 am

    Reading AND Cheerleading! That’s awesome. Keep up the good reading work.

  10. April 10, 2010 11:55 am

    My Book
    by David L. Harrison

    I did it!
    I did it!
    Come and look at what I’ve done!
    I read a book!
    When someone wrote it
    Long ago
    For me to read,
    How did he know
    That this was the book
    I’d take from the shelf
    And lie on the floor
    And read by myself?
    I really read it!
    Just like that!
    Word by word,
    From first to last!

  11. April 10, 2010 12:56 pm

    You’re doing great :) Keep reading and cheering! (Team Keats rocks the rest!)

  12. April 10, 2010 1:16 pm

    rah! rah! sis! boom! BOOK!

    yes, i know…very bad cheering and poetry, but i am doing my best to encourage you! keep truckin’!

  13. April 10, 2010 2:24 pm

    Looks like you’ve been busy today!!! Happy Reading! :)

  14. April 10, 2010 2:39 pm

    Read as you taste fruit or savor wine,
    or enjoy friendship, love or life.
    ~ George Holbrook Jackson

    Keep up the good job!

  15. April 10, 2010 3:44 pm

    Austen, Hemingway
    Rushdie, Poe
    When it comes to reading
    You’re a pro!

  16. April 10, 2010 5:00 pm

    Read the best books first,
    or you may not have a chance to read them at all.
    ~ Henry David Thoreau ~

    Hope you’re still going strong!

  17. April 10, 2010 5:05 pm

    “A story to me means a plot where there is some surprise. Because that is how life is- full of surprises”, by Isaac Bashevis Singer. I hope your day is full of book surprises. Happy Reading!
    Readthon Cheeleader and Follower

  18. April 10, 2010 5:06 pm

    I really love how you are doing this post! Nice job with the updates! :)

    Keep going – you are doing so well :)

  19. April 10, 2010 5:07 pm

    I loved Catching Fire and also want to read 84, Charing Cross Road. Can’t wait to hear what you think of it. In the meantime, here’s a cheer to keep you going:

    You can do it-
    You’re so hip.
    Give that page
    Another flip!

    Halfway through
    You’re going strong.
    With awesome books
    You can’t go wrong!

  20. janicu permalink
    April 10, 2010 10:07 pm

    I loved the part in DADDY LONG LEGS where she asked him point blank if he was bald. This was seared into my memory. I laughed SO LOUD when I got to that part.

    Yay for being still up!

  21. Kavitha Narayanan permalink
    April 10, 2010 10:08 pm

    Happy reading.. Great idea to provide the updates in a single post.

  22. janicu permalink
    April 10, 2010 11:34 pm

    Hmm, I like your suggested charity. Sounds like something I’d want to contribute to too.

  23. April 11, 2010 12:21 am

    great idea to combine this with charity giving !

  24. April 11, 2010 12:33 am

    How are you doing over here? Hanging in? Rockin’ out?

    Hope you’re doing awesome, and here. Some magic potion to make the yawnies go away. You know you love it. ;o) Have fun! Make it to the end of Hour 24! YOU CAN DO IT!

  25. April 11, 2010 12:40 am

    Just chiming in to say keep on reading away!
    “The great objection to new books is that they prevent our reading old ones.” – Joseph Joubert

  26. April 11, 2010 12:53 am

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I hope you’ve had fun!

  27. April 11, 2010 1:08 am

    Congrats on everything you got read!

  28. April 11, 2010 4:12 am

    Yea for TEAM Byron!! Happy Readathon! (and congrats on that prize I saw you won!) :)

Trackbacks

  1. Soundtrack Song Mini-Challenge! « alita.reads.
  2. Daddy-Long-Legs by Jean Webster (final thoughts) « alita.reads.

I <3 Comments

