Skip to content

Fallen by Lauren Kate (final thoughts)

April 9, 2010

Luce has always been a little bit odd. For as far back as she can remember, she has been able to see dark shadows, shadows that no one else can see. Once she realized that seeing these things was Not Normal, she became pretty good at keeping her fear of them under wraps. However, after a particularly disturbing summer, Luce is sent off to a reform school where the shadows seem to appear with greater frequency. Also at the reform school? Drop dead gorgeous Daniel, who claims to have never met Luce before, but she can’t shake the feeling that she knows him very, very well.

I finished this book over a week ago, and have been putting off writing about it because, well, I’m not too sure what to say. I really, really, really wanted to like Fallen. Even after seeing all the mixed reviews, I wanted to be on the rave side. Not only did the story sound super interesting, just look at that cover. It’s so pretty!

It took me much longer to get into the book than I thought it would. Part of that was because the story started off slow. There were a couple points where it felt like the story could have really picked up, but instead seemed to sputter and lose momentum. The biggest reason, though, why I couldn’t get into Fallen was that I couldn’t warm to Luce. I wanted to like her, but she seemed so wishy-washy to me. More than a few times she would say or think something that made go ‘Gah! That contradicted what you just said two pages back!’

However, I did really enjoy the last 100-ish pages of the book. The end was action-packed and completely sucked me in, but I’m not completely convinced it was worth the 300 pages it took to get there.

All that being said, a lot of people have really liked Fallen, so it could have just been an off read for me. Maybe paranormal YA isn’t my thing. If you have Fallen sitting on your shelf, I’d still recommend reading it.

My rating: 6/10

Related:
Teaser Tuesday
Soundtrack Saturday

Challenges:
YA Reading Challenge 5/12

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2010 2:21 pm

    Thank you for your review…I have this book and have been putting off reading it…sort of pushing it aside and grabbing something else off the shelf. Maybe I will give it a try…maybe I will give it away. I really enjoyed reading your thoughts on the book.

  2. April 9, 2010 5:23 pm

    I get what you’re saying, it took me a little longer to get into it than other books, but I loved it! I can’t wait for the second one and from what I hear, the cover is going to be fabulous :)

  3. modestonfire permalink
    April 9, 2010 6:55 pm

    The cover was the best part of the book for me. There was a complete disconnect between Luce and Daniel. The whole push and pull relationship felt like a bad version of twilight. On the upside, I liked some of the supporting characters.

  4. April 9, 2010 7:50 pm

    I haven’t read the book yet but I surely will be looking out for it. I am new here but I love your blog. Great work!

  5. April 10, 2010 5:07 am

    This one is on my shelf and I was thinking about getting to it today for the readathon…. but maybe not today….

    I have heard this a lot about this one and I too really was hoping to like it.

    ANYWAY – I am here to cheer you on for the readathon! Enjoy your reads and have fun!

  6. April 10, 2010 2:47 pm

    Thanks for the honest review! I’ve seen it throughout the blogosphere but haven’t picked it up for myself yet.

I <3 Comments

