Skip to content

Monday Round Up (11.23.09)

November 22, 2009

on_mondays“What are you reading on Mondays” is a weekly event hosted by J. Kaye that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

I was hoping to finish Watership Down by Richard Adams last week, but you know what? I just couldn’t get in to it. After making sluggish progress for a week and a half, I finally decided to put it down. At least for a bit.

I picked up Ex-mas by Kate Brian on Friday, and it was exactly the change of pace I needed. Hopefully I’ll have some thoughts on it posted soon.

I’m currently reading According to Jane by Marilyn Brant, which has been sitting on my shelf for way too long, especially considering how excited I was to get it. Maybe after that I’ll try Watership Down again.

sb10067729n-003Mailbox Monday is a weekly event hosted by Marcia at The Printed Page.

I had one new book come into my house last week: The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. Very excited about this one.

What are you reading? Did any new books find their way into your possession this week?

25 Comments leave one →
  1. November 23, 2009 2:52 am

    Hope you have a better reading week, I picked up The Book Thief this week too :-)

  2. November 23, 2009 4:27 am

    I’m curious about Ex-mas. I’ll look that up. Have a good week!

  3. November 23, 2009 4:49 am

    Hate when that happens! Next year I plan on being a bit more stricter in reading. If I am not in the mood, I’ll move on and not invest the time.

  4. November 23, 2009 5:03 am

    I’ve heard wonderful things about The Book Thief – I hope you enjoy it!

  5. November 23, 2009 5:17 am

    Oh, I keep hearing about “The Book Thief,” and should investigate.

    I know what you mean about putting down a book you just couldn’t get into…that happens to me once in awhile. If it’s one I have to review for someone, I plod on through, but it’s no fun!

    My post is here:
    http://laurel-rain-snow.blogspot.com/2009/11/its-monday-what-are-you-reading_23.html

  6. November 23, 2009 5:21 am

    I know how you feel – I decided to put down Sense and Sensibility for a bit since I was moving slowly through it.
    Here is a look at my mailbox, and here is a look at my reading week.
    Happy reading!

  7. November 23, 2009 5:26 am

    oh, the book thief. the BANE of my reading life. i have tried to read that book several times with no success. it’s only the second book i’ve ever not been able to finish. what makes it worse is that the rest of the world LOVES it.

    let me know how it goes for you!

  8. November 23, 2009 5:53 am

    Sorry you didn’t care for Watership Down! Hopefully you’ll be able to pick it back up again later.

  9. November 23, 2009 6:57 am

    I have been seeing more references to Ex-Mas, I am curious to know more about the book. I too have The Book Thief waiting for me. My Monday: http://www.rundpinne.com/2009/11/what-are-you-reading-mondays_23.html

  10. November 23, 2009 7:06 am

    The Book Thief is on my daughter’s bookshelf, and it sounds really intriguing, but I haven’t read it yet. I have never read Watership Down, though it’s one of those books everyone says is wonderful. Here’s what I’m up to.

  11. November 23, 2009 7:51 am

    Hope you have a good week reading and Happy Thanksgiving!

  12. November 23, 2009 7:56 am

    I do hope when you get back into the mood -you do pick up Watership Down…

    Have a great reading week this week..

    E.H>

  13. November 23, 2009 8:10 am

    I got three this week. Here is mine

  14. stacybuckeye permalink
    November 23, 2009 8:48 am

    I listened to the aidio of Watership Down and loved it, so you could always try that.

  15. November 23, 2009 9:59 am

    Teddyree – It was a totally spur of the moment purchase. The book I wanted wasn’t in stock, and when my eyes landed on The Book Thief I knew I needed it :)

    Mary – It was a cute book! Great for the holidays.

    J. Kaye – That’s a great resolution, and maybe something I should follow as well. I will usually force my way through anything I start, so putting something down like this is quite a rarity for me.

    bermudaonion – I hope so too!

    laurelrainsnow – When you feel the obliged to finish a book, it can absolutely make plodding through more difficult!

    Tam – Sometimes you can’t push a book that isn’t working for you. I hope your able to pick up Sense & Sensibility again sometime in the future.

    nat – Oh! I’m sorry you couldn’t get in to it! I understand your frustration.

    Jenny – I was so determined to like it! Maybe I was trying too hard and pushed it away…or something. I’ve resolved to pick it up again after According to Jane.

    Jennifer – Ex-mas was a really fun book. I definitely recommend it as a great read in between any heavier holiday reading you have planned.

    Stephanie – I’ve heard nothing but wonderful things about Watership Down as well. Which is why I really want to try it again.

    Ruthie – Thanks :)

    Erotic Horizon – I really hope so too. I think I just need a break from long books.

    Bluestocking – I hope you enjoy them! I’ll stop on by.

    stacybuckeye- That’s a great suggestion. I really do want to get through the book, so audio might be the way to go.

  16. November 23, 2009 12:46 pm

    Hope you have a better reading week this week. I’ve had a few difficult weeks.

  17. November 23, 2009 2:06 pm

    Oooh, lucky you! Book Thief is amazing. Hope you enjoy it.

  18. November 23, 2009 2:13 pm

    You’ll really enjoy The Book Thief! I just loved it. We read it in my local book club for October! And I also just bought According to Jane and will be reading it soon!

  19. November 23, 2009 2:30 pm

    It always amazes how some weeks just aren’t great reading weeks no matter how much you want them to be. I’ve heard wonderful things about the book thief.

  20. November 23, 2009 5:29 pm

    Oooh The Book Thief looks amazing! Hope you enjoy it.

    I passed along a little award/activity to you if you are interested in doing it too! Not sure how to leave links in comments, so if you go to my blog, it’s the “Honest Scrap” post. :)

  21. November 23, 2009 7:15 pm

    Enjoy the Book Thief. I read it earlier this year and reviewed it. Fantastic! Named my online book club after a part in that book.

  22. November 23, 2009 7:24 pm

    I’m so glad you liked Ex-mas; I can’t wait to read it too!

  23. November 23, 2009 9:17 pm

    Alaine Bucknall – I hope you have a better reading week, too. And a better week overall.

    uncertainprinciples – Thanks, I’m really hoping I do, too!

    Heather – I’m very much looking forward to reading The Book Thief! I hope you enjoy According to Jane when you get to it.

    Colette – And it seems that the harder you try, the more it’s just not going to happen.

    Stephanie (StephTheBookWorm) – Aw, thank you!

    Bookjourney – Oh really? That makes me even more excited to read it :)

    Kay – I think you’ll like it :)

  24. November 24, 2009 8:54 am

    aaah to bad about Watership Down. Hopefully this week will be a better reading week for you.

  25. November 24, 2009 1:55 pm

    I have been wanting to read The Book Thief!

I <3 Comments