Skip to content

Monday Round Up (11.09.09)

November 9, 2009

on_mondays“What are you reading on Mondays” is a weekly event hosted by J. Kaye that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Last week I finished The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, which, thankfully, is as good as everyone says it is.

I also read The Truth About Stacey by Ann M. Martin, for My Friend Amy‘s Baby-Sitters Club Week.

I’m currently reading Lucy Sullivan is Getting Married by Marian Keyes. I usually love her books, but this one has yet to prove itself to me.

Next up? Watership Down by Richard Adams

sb10067729n-003Mailbox Monday is a weekly event hosted by Marcia at The Printed Page.

I got a couple treats in the mail this week.

11.09.09First came Friends Like These by Danny Wallace, which I won in a giveaway hosted by Christine at booktumbling.com.

Later that very same day another package arrived, this one all the way from Australia. It was the super cute turtle bookmark I won in a Blogtoberfest giveaway hosted by ChallenCharms. Check out more of her wonderful creations at her Etsy store.

Awards

one_lovely_blog_awardThis week I received this award rom Gofita at Gofita’s Pages and Stacy at Stacy’s Books.

The “One Lovely Blog Award” is to be passed on to newly discovered blogs. Two that are somewhat new to me are:

* Ann-Kat at Today, I Read…
* Mountains of Books

29 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2009 10:13 am

    Congrats on the award!!!

  2. November 9, 2009 11:25 am

    You had a great week – great reading, great new books and some awards. Congratulations!

  3. November 9, 2009 12:24 pm

    I don’t normally read YA books but I’m almost convinced that the Hunger Games is worthwhile.

    Congratulations on the award.

  4. November 9, 2009 1:44 pm

    I loved Hunger Games too, hope this week is a good one for you and congrats on your blog award!

  5. November 9, 2009 2:03 pm

    Great week for reading and receiving! I’m glad you liked the Hunger Games – I loved it and Catching Fire too!

  6. November 9, 2009 2:08 pm

    I am going to be the last person to read The Hunger Games.

  7. November 9, 2009 2:11 pm

    Congrats on your award and I’m glad you liked The Hunger Games and it lived up to the hype.

  8. November 9, 2009 2:27 pm

    I’ve been wanting to read Hunger games, I’ve heard it is very good. I read Watership Down years ago and loved it. It will probably be one of the few books in my life that I reread! Hope you like it!

  9. November 9, 2009 2:30 pm

    Nope J.Kaye I think I will be the last person to read the Hunger Games lol. I have it sitting patiently on my shelf but haven’t gotten around to it.

    I’ve never read Watership Down. I can’t wait to see what you think of it.

  10. November 9, 2009 2:38 pm

    I’ve been wanting to read The Hunger Games for the longest time and so far, I have not heard one cross word about it from anyone.

    Thank you kindly for the award; it brightened up my day. :)

  11. November 9, 2009 2:58 pm

    Oh my! BSC! I used to love those when I was a kid :). The thought of re-reading them seems wonderful.

  12. November 9, 2009 3:03 pm

    Congrats on the award and the great mail. Your week sounds like a fun one.

  13. November 9, 2009 3:17 pm

    I want to say how much I love Watership Down. I read it almost every year. I is hands down one of my all-time favorite books. But I am not going to say any of that. I can’t wait to see what you think.
    Glad you received Friends Like These. It really is a funny book.

  14. November 9, 2009 3:19 pm

    I read The Hunger Games recently too. Looks like you enjoyed it as much as I did!

  15. November 9, 2009 3:54 pm

    Enjoy your reading week!

  16. November 9, 2009 4:01 pm

    Oh! I want to read both, Hunger Games and Watership Down.

    Hope you enjoy the latter, as much as you did the former!

  17. November 9, 2009 4:27 pm

    freda – Thanks :)

    bermudaonion – Thanks, it was a really great book week.

    cat – I don’t read many Ya books either, but this one is definitely worthwhile.

    Teddyree – Thanks! I’m hoping to make a bit of a dent in my TBR shelf.

    Crystal – I can’t wait to read Catching Fire. I hear it might be even better than the first?

    J. Kaye – Haha, that sounds like something that you’ve decided on, rather than a prediction.

    Andrea – It definitely did live up to the hype, something that I was quite worried about.

    Sharon – I’m looking forward to Watership Down so much! It seems that everyone who has read it has loved it.

    Zia – If it’s sitting right there, what are you waiting for??! Go read it! ;)

    Ann-Kat (Today, I Read…) – I’m adding my recommendation into the pot of positive reviews for The Hunger Games. It really is a great story. I can’t wait to read the next one!

    Gricel – Just looking at the covers totally brings me back to when I was a kid :)

    Jennifer – Thanks! It was definitely a fun book week :)

    christine – I’ve heard so many good things about Watership Down I don’t think my expectations can be pushed any higher!

    reviewsbylola – It was so good! I’m glad you liked it, too.

    karen (morsie reads) – Thanks, I certainly hope I do :)

    uncertainprinciples – I can say that you should read The Hunger Games. Hopefully I’ll be able to say that about Watership Down as well!

  18. November 9, 2009 4:40 pm

    Thanks for the mention in the post. I’m glad that you like the bookmark and that it will be of use to you :).

  19. November 9, 2009 4:49 pm

    I have heard Hunger Games is supposed to be good.
    Have a great week!

  20. November 9, 2009 5:31 pm

    Congrats on the award and enjoy your books!

  21. November 9, 2009 7:26 pm

    I wasn’t familiar with The Hunger Game series. It does sound interesting! I like your Saturday Soundtrack – very neat idea! Congrats on your Lovely Blog Award too!

  22. November 9, 2009 7:57 pm

    You’ve been splashed!!

    There is an award waiting for you at my blog:

    http://readingwithtequila.blogspot.com/2009/11/mermaid-splash-award.html

  23. November 9, 2009 11:38 pm

    Great reading week. Wow, I haven’t re-read the babysitters club for so long! They’re all packed in a box in the garage with the sweet valleys.

  24. stacybuckeye permalink
    November 10, 2009 5:55 am

    I guess Heather & I think alike :)

  25. November 10, 2009 6:24 am

    Wha a good week and a fun mailbox. Love the bookmark. :-)

  26. November 10, 2009 1:10 pm

    I am SO glad to hear you though Hunger Games was as good as I’ve been hearing. The last two books that got a lot of hype from people I read and didn’t really like. I think I’ll like Hunger Games =)

    Congrats on the award!!

  27. November 10, 2009 6:45 pm

    I hope you enjoyed the hunger games. I thought that it was a great book, and I can’t wait for the last one, and then the movie!

  28. November 12, 2009 5:23 pm

    I loved Hunger Games, glad you liked the read.

    I have been eying Watership Down. I will be interested to see how you like the read.
    Thanks for stopping by my blog.
    Happy Reading!

  29. mountainsofbooks permalink
    November 17, 2009 7:29 pm

    Oh, wow…thanks for the award! I’ve been a bit absent from blogging the last few weeks, so I didn’t see your comment until today.

    – Jessica

I <3 Comments