Skip to content

Booking Through Thursday (10.22.09)

October 22, 2009

btt2This week’s BTT question is: If you could ask your favorite author (alive or dead) one question … who would you ask, and what would the question be?

Okay, this is a tough one. One author, one question.

My copy has this cover. Just looking at it makes me feel all nostalgic.

My copy has this cover. Just looking at it makes me feel all nostalgic.

One of my most favourite books of all time is The Last Unicorn by Peter S. Beagle. Since he also wrote the screenplay for the 1982 animated movie adaptation, my question for him would be:

Did the look and feel of the movie come close to how you pictured the characters and atmosphere of the book, and did writing the screenplay allow you to have any say in how the movie looked?

Okay, so I squeezed two questions in there.

If you could ask any author a question, what would it be?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2009 2:03 pm

    What a great question! I always wonder what authors would think of their film adaptations.

  2. October 22, 2009 2:55 pm

    I’ve wondered this myself about authors. I think the book is always better!

  3. October 22, 2009 3:09 pm

    That’s a great question(s)!

  4. October 22, 2009 4:03 pm

    I like that question. I hadn’t thought about asking an author about their view on a movie interpretation. :)

  5. October 22, 2009 7:04 pm

    I’ve read several other books by Beagle, but not this one yet. The movie made me so sad when I was little. :/

  6. novelinsights permalink
    October 23, 2009 3:54 am

    I haven’t seen or read this book but it sounds lovely.

  7. October 23, 2009 4:47 am

    Great question! I often wonder how authors feel about the movie adaptations of their books.

  8. October 23, 2009 5:55 am

    This is such a hard BTT question! Instead of answering it on my blog, I’m saying different things on everyone else’s blog. Right now I think I might ask Shakespeare which one of his plays he liked the best when he got through with it. Wouldn’t that be interesting?

  9. October 23, 2009 10:24 am

    Great question!

    Here’s mine: http://fredasvoice.blogspot.com/2009/10/booking-through-thursday.html

  10. mervih permalink
    October 23, 2009 3:59 pm

    Good question! I love the book but I’ve never seen the movie.

I <3 Comments