Skip to content

Booking Through Thursday (09.03.09)

September 3, 2009
tags:

This Thursday BTT asks: What’s the biggest book you’ve read recently? (Feel free to think “big” as size, or as popularity, or in any other way you care to interpret.)

I’m going to go ahead and give two answers: size and popularity.

this charming man2The biggest book I’ve read recently in terms of size would have been This Charming Man by Marian Keyes. I think this is my favourite book to lend out to people right now. Well, I’ve only lent it to two people so far, but they’ve both really enjoyed it (one is only part way through, but I know she’s going to enjoy it). At 676 pages, it definitely wasn’t a short read. But when you have 4 characters who need to tell their side of the story, you need all the space you can get. If you want some great chick lit, read this one.

As for the most populjulie-julia-coverar book, that’s a bit tougher to pick. I’m going to go with Julie & Julia by Julie Powell. When I read it, I didn’t even know it was all that popular. I just saw it sitting on my mom’s bookshelf and thought it looked interesting. It was only after I started reading that I did some research into it. That’s when I found out that everyone was talking about it and that it was being turned into a movie. Great book, loved the movie.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2009 10:27 am

    Julie and Julia. I’m going to have to read this. Here is mine

  2. September 3, 2009 10:32 am

    Some good choices :) Here’s my BTT.

  3. September 3, 2009 11:18 am

    hi…i’ll be checking on those books. and that movie. ^^v

  4. September 3, 2009 11:35 am

    hello again…i think you will not be disappointed with MOTG. tell me when you’ve read it!

    • Vicki permalink
      September 3, 2009 2:19 pm

      Julia & Julia is wonderful !

  5. September 3, 2009 7:25 pm

    Unfortunately, these aren’t my kind of reading

  6. novelinsights permalink
    September 4, 2009 1:14 am

    I haven’t read either of these, but 676 pages is definitely big!

  7. cjz111 permalink
    September 4, 2009 1:10 pm

    Jule and Julia is sitting right in front of me. It is coming on in my list of must be read soon. Waiting to read it before I see the movie! This Charming Man will be one I have to look into!

  8. September 4, 2009 8:48 pm

    I had no idea “Julie and Julia” was a book! Should I read it before I see the movie, or does it not matter?

  9. September 5, 2009 4:04 pm

    Bluestocking – You should read it! I think the premise of the book rings especially true to bloggers.

    Susan – Thanks :)

    Abby – I very much recommend both of them. Thanks for stopping by!

    Vicki – It is! And it’s what inspired me to start blogging :)

    Novroz – Yeah, these books aren’t for everyone. Thanks for visiting :)

    novelinsights – Fortunately TCM is one of those books that flies by, and even though it’s long you’re sad that it’s over.

    cjz111 – I can’t wait to see what you have to say after you read J&J. And I highly recommend TCM – chick lit with some depth.

    Anastasia – Yes! It was a book first. Well, it was a blog first, which the book is based on. Definitely read the book before seeing the movie. It’s a quick read but I think you get a better understanding of why Julie started and kept up her Julia Child project.

  10. September 6, 2009 8:42 pm

    Oh, good choice with Julie and Julia. I haven’t read it yet, but I loved the movie and it’s the next popular book I want to read.

I <3 Comments