Skip to content

Shopaholic to the Rescue by Sophie Kinsella

March 2, 2016

shopaholicrescueFrom the author’s website:
To Las Vegas . . . and beyond!
Becky Brandon (nee Bloomwood) is on a major rescue mission! Hollywood was full of surprises, and now she’s on a road trip to Las Vegas to help her friends and family.
She’s determined to get to the bottom of why her dad has mysteriously disappeared, help her best friend Suze and even bond with long-time enemy Alicia Bitch Long-legs (maybe…).
As Becky discovers just how much her friends and family need help, she comes up with her biggest, boldest, most brilliant plan yet! So can she save the day just when they need her most?

Sophie Kinsella’s books hold a special place in my heart. I all but stopped reading for pleasure during college and I kind of forgot to pick it up again after I graduated. But when I was lost in the stresses of wedding planning, I was handed Can You Keep a Secret and was reminded that oh right, reading can be fun. In fact, it’s something I should do more often.

I quickly moved on to Confessions of a Shopaholic and since then I’ve devoured every single book in the Shopaholic series. Yes, there have been some bumps along the way, but I’ve always enjoyed going to back to this quirky, charming cast to characters. However, I very nearly quitted the series halfway through the 7th, Shopaholic to the Stars. Have you read it? Ugh, Becky drove me nuts. It was like she was determined to never learn any lessons and to repeat the same mistakes over and over again.

Stars ended on a cliffhanger, though, and I wanted to see where that was going to lead, so I reluctantly picked up Shopaholic to the Rescue. And you know what? It was so much better. I mean, yes, I went into it with super low expectations. But just slightly beating my low exceptions wouldn’t have been enough to make me fly through this as quickly as I did.

Becky is forced to come to terms with some of her bad decisions and grows up a bit in this book. It was a refreshing change to the Becky of Stars. But it is still a Sophie Kinsella book, and wasn’t all personal reflection; Rescue is filled with road trip hijinks and the kind of ridiculous situations that only Becky could get herself into. The whole Shopaholic cast of characters is back in this one, including cameos by Confessions antagonist Derek Smeath.

I’m so glad I gave Shopaholic one more try – Rescue might even be one of my favourites of the series. I’m looking forward to seeing what Becky & co. get up to next.

No comments yet

I <3 Comments

