Skip to content

Monday Round Up (07.12.10)

July 11, 2010

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Back from vacation and it went by way, way too fast! I was able to get quite a bit of reading time in, but really, I should know better than to bring a 600-page book along on a big family vacation! I finished it, but just barely ;)

Finished: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling

Currently Reading: Benny & Shrimp by Katarina Mazetti. Just started and really enjoying it so far.

Up next: Not sure yet. It’ll either be a random selection from my tbr pile or continuing on with the HP books – Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix.

What are you reading? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. July 11, 2010 9:34 pm

    Im reading HP and the Order of the Phoenix at the moment. So good!!

  2. July 11, 2010 9:38 pm

    My favorite quote form Benny & Shrimp is, “He asked if I made my own bread, and I laughed and said I thought bread grew on trees and you either picked it as little rolls or let it ripen into big, fat loaves.” p 67

    • July 12, 2010 3:20 pm

      There are so many great lines in this book! Part of me wants to gobble them all up as quickly as possible, but another part wants to savour and reread passages as I go along.

  3. July 11, 2010 10:21 pm

    I am reading a littl ebit of everything – serious, funny, memoir, you name it. :) I have Benny and Shrimp on the shelf. Glad to hear it is a good one so far :)

  4. July 11, 2010 11:06 pm

    I’ve heard good things about Benny and Shrimp, glad you’re enjoying it. Have a wonderful week and happy reading whatever you choose next!

  5. July 11, 2010 11:40 pm

    Is this a first time reading of the Harry Potter series? Good luck! I gave up at Harry Potter: Order of the Phoenix (#5). It was too long for me, and (don’t flame me!) boring. At least for me. I may try it again, but it’ll be a long time from now.

    Check out my post, and feel free to enter my contest.

    • July 12, 2010 3:23 pm

      A HP book boring??! *GASP* Sorry, I couldn’t help it ;)

      Heh, no this isn’t my first trek through the series, I’ve decided to reread the books over the summer. Order of the Phoenix wasn’t my favourite of the bunch, but I do remember still enjoying it. We’ll see how it holds up this time around.

  6. July 12, 2010 6:21 am

    I love Harry Potter! My Monday is here

  7. July 12, 2010 7:36 am

    i just finished a GREAT book–red hook road by ayelet waldman and am now on to mortuary confidential. with a cartoon hearse on the cover, it promises to be an entertaining read!

  8. July 12, 2010 10:42 am

    Harry Potter books are the best. They are my comfort reads. At the moment I’m haflway through ‘The Rum Diary’ by Hunter S. Thompson. Ive also got Achebe’s ‘Things Fall Apart’ and Coetzee’s ‘Disgrace’ lined up too. You can find my Monday list here: http://mywordlyobsessions.wordpress.com

    Doing the Monday round really helps in finding some brilliant gems (both blogs and books).

    Have a good week.
    Zee.

  9. July 12, 2010 11:29 am

    I love the Harry Potter series, and I think The Goblet of Fire was my favorite.

  10. July 12, 2010 2:06 pm

    I’ve never heard of Benny and Shrimp, but I’m looking forward to your review! Hope you had a relaxing vacation. :)

  11. July 12, 2010 7:36 pm

    I have never heard of Benny and Shrimp either, will have to check it out. I am getting very close to doing a re-read of HP… LOVE!

    I am currently finishing The 19th Wife, reading An American On Purpose by Craig Ferguson (LOVE him), and The Water In Between by Kevin Patterson.

  12. July 12, 2010 7:55 pm

    After the first couple of Harry Potter books I gave up and listened to them on audio. They were fantastic and I loved the narrator! Happy Reading!

I <3 Comments