Skip to content

Monday Round Up (03.22.10)

March 21, 2010

“What are you reading on Mondays” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished: Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict by Laurie Viera Rigler. I really enjoyed this one, a really fun read. Review still in the works.

Started: The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold. Really liking this one, too.

Up next: Maybe An Abundance of Katherines by John Green, if I don’t decide to renew it and save it for the read-a-thon.

Library Loot is hosted by Eva at A Striped Armchair and Marg at Reading Adventures.

Yes, yes, I am starting to collect books for the 24-hr Read-a-thon that’s taking place on April 10th. I put Beastly by Alex Finn on hold at the library after hearing about it from Carrie K, thinking it would be good for the ‘thon. Unfortunately it became available earlier than I anticipated and is now due back at the library 3 days before the read-a-thon. Oopsies. So, I may read that one this week. It’s not like I’m going to be lacking books on the 10th, anyway ;)

What are you reading? Did any new books find their way into your possession? And, importantly, are you participating in the fantastic wonderful read-a-thon?

22 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2010 1:16 am

    Read Lovely Bones several years ago for a staff book battle and loved it even though it was very disturbing. Would love to read Beastly. Have fun on your read-a-thon.

  2. March 22, 2010 4:39 am

    I purchased Confessions about a month ago and really need to get it on my short-list to read. It looks like a blast!

  3. March 22, 2010 5:56 am

    I enjoyed The Lovely Bones, and I’ve heard lots of good things about An Abundance of Katherines. Enjoy your books!

    Here are my books for the week.

  4. March 22, 2010 7:05 am

    You read Lovely bones, I really want to read that one too. I’m still waiting for someone to bring it back at the library so I can read it. :)
    Enjoy this week!

  5. March 22, 2010 7:08 am

    Lovely Bones was incredible! Haven’t seen the movie…always afraid to do so if I enjoyed a book a lot. Movies usually change just enough that it’s upsetting.

  6. March 22, 2010 8:21 am

    I just finished Beastly yesterday. REALLY good book! You should totally read it this week.

    Hope you have a wonderful time reading this week.

  7. March 22, 2010 9:27 am

    I added Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict to my wish list on paperbackswap.com! I read the Lovely Bones for our book club and really enjoyed it! I finished the 4th Harry Potter book yesterday (yes, I’m a little behind the times!) and this week I hope to finish Reading Lolita in Tehran!

  8. March 22, 2010 9:46 am

    I hope you enjoy Beastly as much as I did!

  9. March 22, 2010 10:48 am

    Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict sounds like it would be really good. I’m sure The Lovely Bones would be too, but I just haven’t gotten it yet. Here’s was I read: Not-Really-Southern Vamp Chick

  10. March 22, 2010 11:21 am

    That is so cool that you are prepping for the readathon…. I hadn’t thought of that! Maybe I could finally use that time to get to those books I am just dieing to read but have had no time :)

    Have a super week!

  11. March 22, 2010 11:26 am

    Mmmm, haven’t decided yet about the readathon. I forgot it was so soon!

  12. March 22, 2010 12:15 pm

    Yay I loved The Lovely Bones! Enjoy!

  13. March 22, 2010 1:46 pm

    I’m glad you enjoyed Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict. I thought it was a fun book. The second one was good but I preferred the first because it is set in that time period. I really liked Beastly and I hope you enjoy it too. Great to hear the story from the Beast’s perspective and I found it to be a fresh and interesting retelling.

    Have a great reading week.

  14. March 22, 2010 3:14 pm

    Excellent Selection of books, you have fabulous taste. The Abundance of Katherines is one I have been wanting to read. There is a 24 hour readathon and I was unaware. Thank you for posting this, I cannot pass up a readathon. I hope you have a wonderful week reading and if you get a chance pop over and see what I am reading: http://www.rundpinne.com/2010/03/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-22_22.html

  15. March 22, 2010 4:04 pm

    I read Lovely Bones several years ago. I liked it but…. I share the but when you finish.

  16. March 22, 2010 5:30 pm

    hmm, Confessions looks fun, will have to check out your review! I loved The Lovely Bones too, read it years ago & think it’s one I’d re-read another day. Happy reading :)

  17. March 23, 2010 2:58 pm

    I want to read both The Lovely Bones and An Abundance of Katherines. I keep hearing what a great author John Greene is, but haven’t read any of his books yet.

    I just finished Mudbound and loved it – on my way to book group now to discuss it!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog last week and taking the time to comment. My settings got messed up and I wasn’t receiving notification of comments, but I got it straightened out now so will be more responsive now that I know people are leaving comments!

    Sue

  18. March 24, 2010 7:23 am

    I want to participate in the Read-a-thon sometime if only so I too can say I am stockpiling books for it. ;-) Sadly this time won’t be my time to play along since we’ll be visiting family for Spring Break (although maybe I should take along a gigantic stack of books and just hole up–would cut down on any family tension ).

Trackbacks

  1. It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? « elliek
  2. It’s Monday! What are you reading? « elliek
  3. elliek
  4. It’s Monday! What are you reading! « elliek

I <3 Comments