Skip to content

Let’s try this again

October 18, 2015

alita.readsRemember when I used to blog regularly – joining weekly memes, online events, IRL events, and even hosting my own events? HA HA me neither. It was so long ago, it almost seems like it was a different person.

For about 4 years I was consistent with blogging: sharing my thoughts with the online bookish world, spending hours visiting other blogs, and even more hours reading reading reading. Until suddenly, I wasn’t. I don’t know exactly what happened, but it wasn’t a conscious decision. Life got busy, un-reviewed books piled up, and blogging became this all consuming thing to which I no longer felt I could give proper attention. So, without any fanfare or explanation, I just disappeared.

2 years later, I now realize that I miss writing my thoughts on books. Without writing reviews, I can’t even remember what most of the books I’ve read in the last 2 years were about. And I’m not even reading nearly as much as I was during the Blogging Years. And I miss my bookish community. I think I took the little community I had wormed my way into for granted. I looked at Big Popular Bloggers and their legions of followers and knew I was never going to be that influential. But I know now that that’s okay. It’s going to be a humbling experience, coming back and writing into the void, but I’m looking at this as writing more for my own benefit, as my own record of what I’ve read.

I don’t have any grand, lofty plans about how this time I’m going to Make It Work. I’m just going to take it one post at a time and see where it leads.

With that, time to work on my first book review in two years *gulp*

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2015 10:59 pm

    I’m glad you’re back. I’ve missed this side of you and I’m looking forward to your posts. Will Soundtrack Saturday re-appear?

  2. October 19, 2015 12:46 am

    So lovely to see you posting again, Alita! You’ve been missed.

  3. October 19, 2015 6:23 pm

    Oh! You’re here! You’re staying! Yayyyyyy! HI WELCOME BACK WE MISSED YOU HI.

  4. cindyloveofbook permalink
    October 30, 2015 12:21 pm

    Alita, I am so happy you are back. I missed reading your blog. I always think of you when I am at BEA and around Christmas time :)

I <3 Comments

