Skip to content

Weekly Round Up (02.24.13)

February 24, 2013

These were my 5 most listened to tunes from the last week, according to last.fm:

1. Shell Suite by Chad Valley
2. Night Wolves by Farewell J.R
3. Midnight City by M83
4. Closer by Tegan and Sara
5. The Mother We Share by CHVRCHES

My musical find of the week is Night Wolves by Farewell J.R. I described it on tumblr as achingly beautiful, and I stick by that. It hits a nerve somewhere deep inside me and then holds on and gives that nerve a good twist. Which makes for a somewhat uncomfortable listening experience, but the song is just so good that I’ve hit the repeat button almost before it has ended.

– – ~ – –

New on My Shelf (A combination of Library Loot, hosted by Claire at The Captive Reader and Marg at Reading Adventures, and Mailbox Monday, hosted in February by Audra @ Unabridged Chick.)

I met up with some local bloggers early in the week, which is always fun and involves much exchanging of books. This time we were joined by a couple lovely ladies from Raincoast – and they brought us presents!

Nobody’s Secret by Michaela MacColl [Raincoast]

Where’d you Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple [borrowed from Nafiza]

Neptune’s Tears by Susan Waggoner [Raincoast]

Absent by Katie Williams [Raincoast]

WRU 2-24-13

– – ~ – –

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished:
Sleight of Hand by Peter S. Beagle

Posted:
2012 Clean Up: Snippet Thoughts (Adult Smorgasbord)

Currently Reading:
Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo
Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

Up Next: Just focusing on getting these two done.

What are you reading and listening to? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

18 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2013 2:36 pm

    I remember hearing great things about Where’d you Go, Bernadette at the end of last year. I had some what forgotten about it, so it’s glad to have your post here to remind it’s one I wanted to check out.

  2. February 24, 2013 3:02 pm

    I thought Where’d You Go, Bernadette was a hoot. I read it but friends have loved the audiobook. I hope you enjoy it!

  3. February 24, 2013 4:57 pm

    I enjoyed Where’d You Go, Bernadette….I’m curious about Nobody’s Secret. Thanks for visiting my blog.

  4. February 24, 2013 5:39 pm

    You always find the greatest tunes Alita. I love listening to your finds. Wishing you a great week in music and books :)

  5. February 24, 2013 7:40 pm

    I’ve had Where’d You Go Bernadette on my stacks for way too long!

  6. February 24, 2013 7:43 pm

    I’ve never heard of any of these!! Have a good week.

    Here is mine

  7. therelentlessreader permalink
    February 24, 2013 8:45 pm

    Where’d You Go, Bernadette was such fun to read! I hope you love it :) Have a great week!

  8. February 25, 2013 3:23 am

    Nobody’s Secret looks really good – enjoy :)

  9. February 25, 2013 4:55 am

    You’re in for a treat with Where’d You Go, Bernadette!

  10. February 25, 2013 5:52 am

    How was Sleight of Hand? The only books I’ve read/heard of by that author is The Last Unicorn but I certainly wouldn’t be opposed to reading more of his books.

    Check out my Monday post.

  11. February 25, 2013 7:25 am

    My book group read Wuthering Heights last year. It was a re-read for me but I think I enjoyed it more the second time around. There always seems to be more to discover. Have a great week!
    Rebecca @ The Key to the Gate

  12. February 25, 2013 9:03 am

    I love that you always post music links. I can’t listen while I am here at work, but I am definitely hopping back to listen later. I am interested in reading your thoughts on Sleight of Hand! I really need to reread The Last Unicorn.

  13. February 25, 2013 10:12 am

    It seems you have a great week of reading ahead, have a good time,

    kind regards,

  14. February 25, 2013 11:16 am

    ENJOY all your books!!!

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Mailbox Monday

  15. February 25, 2013 8:05 pm

    I just got Where’d You Go, Bernadette from the library. I’ve heard nothing but good things, so I hope we both enjoy it! :)

  16. February 26, 2013 9:35 am

    At some point, I’m going to make myself tackle Wuthering Heights. I love classics, but they’re hard to get through sometimes.

  17. February 26, 2013 11:39 am

    Great book week. All your new ones are new to me. Enjoy!
    2 Kids and Tired Books MM

I <3 Comments

