Skip to content

2012 Clean Up: Snippet Thoughts (Adult Smorgasbord)

February 20, 2013

NakedHeatNaked Heat by Richard Castle

I really enjoyed the first Castle book, Heat Wave, because it felt like reading an episode of “Castle.” This one also felt like reading an episode of the show, but for some reason it had the opposite effect on me. Instead of enjoying, I felt like I had heard the story before and had a hard time getting through it. Such a shame. Should I give the next one a go?

Source: Gift

goodgirlsrevoltThe Good Girls Revolt by Lynn Povich

I’m having a lot of trouble figuring out what to say about this book. Not that I don’t have anything to say about it, but that 6 months later it’s rolling around my head. It’s been making gender discrepancies in my own corner of the world more evident. I work in an industry that at a glance may not seen especially male-centric – I mean, most of the people I work with are female. But the women are primarily assistants or work in administrative roles. In the 6 years I’ve worked at my current company, there are specific positions that, despite a pretty high turnover rate, have only been filled by women. And they haven’t moved up, they’ve moved on to better positions at other companies. We could say that this company is a good learning ground for those kinds of roles, and yes plenty of men have left during that time as well. But all the top positions? Filled by men. And I don’t know what do do with this information.
The Good Girls Revolt is a story about women who saw the discrepancies and did something about it. And that thing wasn’t easy and it didn’t come quickly. And years later the very same things were happening at the very same company. But still, they shone a light on these issues and, with the help of this book, have shown us that the work they started isn’t done yet.

Source: Advanced reader’s copy from BEA

no-1-ladies-detective-agencyThe No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith

I don’t know what I was expecting of this book – probably something closer to Maisie Dobbs – but its meandering storytelling wasn’t it. Thankfully, once I got over my initial expectations, I thoroughly enjoyed it. I’m not sure if I’ll read more of the books, but I’m happy to say I’ve finally given this well known series a try.

Source: Purchased

hitchhikersguideThe Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

I loved it! After letting it collect dust on my shelves for years, I finally read it during the October readathon, and it was hilarious and overall fantastic. I had seen the movie years ago, but I could still picture Martin Freeman as Arthur Dent, which did not detract from my enjoyment one bit – it may have actually added to it. I’ve got to read more of the books in this series.

Source: Won

powder_patchPowder and Patch by Georgette Heyer

I was in desperate need of some light reading this past Christmas and I hoped that a Georgette Heyer romance might do the trick I read my first Heyer a year and a half ago and thought it was completely delightful. On the success of that I tried to read one of her historical novels, and that was not nearly as much of a success. I also did not come close to finishing it. So I thought that my success with with Heyer was to be a one off. Thankfully Powder and Patch proved that wasn’t going to be the case. For the most part Powder and Patch was just as delightful as Faro’s Daughter, with witty dialogue and fancy parties and mistaken intentions. Which other Heyers do you recommend? There are so many to choose from!

Source: Purchased

lovelettersLove Letters by Katie Fforde

When looking for some light Christmastime reading, I didn’t stop at Heyer. I continued with Fforde, whose Wedding Season I read a while ago and was sufficiently entertained by. I was looking for more of the same and certainly found that in Love Letters, with the added bonus of So Much Bookishness. A former book seller, a reclusive (and hot) author, and a literary festival. All good stuff. Laura’s helplessness and naivety became a bit grating at times, but thankfully didn’t detract too much from my enjoyment of the story. If you’re looking for some light reading with a dash of “let go and try new things!”, perhaps give this one a try.

Source: Purchased

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2013 12:47 pm

    I read one Castle book and enjoyed it but I don’t feel pulled to read another. Not sure why that’s case the but there it is.

    So glad you liked The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy! It’s a favorite of mine.

  2. February 20, 2013 3:47 pm

    Aw, Hitchhiker’s Guide! I’ll be interested to see what you think of the subsequent book in the series. I’ve only ever read the first one, but I’ve been told it’s kind of diminishing returns as you get deeper into the series.

  3. February 21, 2013 6:52 am

    I have The No 1 Ladies’s Detective Agency gathering dust on my bookshelf waiting for me to pick it up one day. And everyone raves about the Hitchhiker’s Guide…maybe I’ll give these books a try.

  4. February 23, 2013 3:45 pm

    It’s been years since I read The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency but I thought it was just delightful.

I <3 Comments

