Skip to content

Weekly Round Up (02.17.13)

February 17, 2013

These were my 5 most listened to tunes from the last week, according to last.fm:

1. The Mother We Share by CHVRCHES
2. Shell Suite by Chad Valley
3. Midnight City by M83
4. Rock You Like A Hurricane by Scorpions
5. Be The Song by Foy Vance

Last Tuesday I went to see Warm Bodies, and it was so good. So good, in fact, that I’m going to see it again this week. With the same group of friends. In addition to being a really fun movie, the music in it is fantastic. It has a great mix of 80’s tunes and 2000’s indie pop that sounds like it could be from the 80’s. There isn’t an official soundtrack, but I found a list of the songs and made my own soundtrack playlist in Deezer and listened to it pretty well non-stop for the rest of the week. So, that is how the Scorpions made it onto my top tunes list.

– – ~ – –

New on My Shelf (A combination of Library Loot, hosted by Claire at The Captive Reader and Marg at Reading Adventures, and Mailbox Monday, hosted in February by Audra @ Unabridged Chick.)

I borrowed some books from Caitlin last week and I’m so looking forward to reading all of the that I’m having trouble picking what to read first. Suggestions?

Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo (This will probably be the first of the group that I read, because… The Grisha Trilogy!)

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare (The trailer was on before Warm Bodies and right at that moment I decided I needed to read the book before the movie comes out.)

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater (Our book club pick for March. Although I wasn’t particularly fond of The Scorpio Races I am still looking forward to reading this one.)

WRU 2-17-13

– – ~ – –

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished:
The Love Song of Jonny Valentine by Teddy Wayne

Posted:
nothing :(

Currently Reading:
Sleight of Hand by Peter S. Beagle

Up Next: Probably Siege and Storm but I also want to start Wuthering Heights.

What are you reading and listening to? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

24 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2013 6:02 pm

    I haven’t read any of these, but they do look enticing. Enjoy! And thanks for visiting my blog.

  2. February 17, 2013 6:21 pm

    I really liked Warm Bodies as well. It was a lot better than I expected it to be, and now I want to read the book.

    As for which to read next, I might be biased since I’ve only read one, but I’d definitely go with The City of Bones.

    • February 18, 2013 11:14 am

      It was much better than I thought it would be, too! My friend bought the book right after we watched it and I’m definitely going to be borrowing it from her afterwards.

  3. February 17, 2013 6:57 pm

    City of Bones has been made into a movie?! How did I miss that?

  4. February 17, 2013 7:56 pm

    Those are good titles you have coming up. Happy Reading!

  5. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out permalink
    February 17, 2013 8:49 pm

    I’m glad you enjoyed Warm Bodies. Zombies don’t really do it for me I must admit but my interest is piqued

    Have a great reading week
    Shelleyrae @ Book’d OUt

    • February 18, 2013 11:16 am

      I’m usually not into zombies either but I thought I’d go along to the movie for a laugh. I really didn’t expect to like it as much as I did.

  6. February 17, 2013 8:50 pm

    Have a fantastic week of reading! Enjoy whatever you choose :)

  7. February 17, 2013 11:34 pm

    Lots of new books. Enjoy!

  8. February 18, 2013 2:12 am

    Wuthering Heights is good – hope you enjoy it. I’ve just started To Kill a Mockingbird.

  9. February 18, 2013 5:44 am

    I’ve heard readers who loved City of Bones are worried about the movie. I hope you love your new books!

  10. February 18, 2013 6:18 am

    I loved The Raven Boys and City of Bones. :)

  11. February 18, 2013 7:31 am

    I’ve been looking at reading The Raven Boys, more so now that I finally finished The Scorpio Races.

  12. February 18, 2013 8:10 am

    I haven’t posted much this week either :) We are going to have a big snow storm this week so maybe we’ll have a snow day!

    Have a lovely reading week! What Are You Reading This Week @ The Brunette Librarian

  13. February 18, 2013 8:28 am

    Be The Song sounds like it would be a good song! Enjoy your books and your week!

  14. February 18, 2013 11:58 am

    My daughter and I are currently reading The Scorpio Races. We are enjoying it, although it’s slow. We are almost halfway and my daughter is getting impatient for the race to begin.

  15. February 18, 2013 12:44 pm

    First time I visit your blog. I’m a new follower. Haven’t read Leigh Bardugo’s books but have read good reviews. Mortal Instruments is one of my favorite series.

    Jess @ Jessy’s Bookends

  16. February 18, 2013 4:23 pm

    Haven’t heard of these books….hope you ENJOY them.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Mailbox Monday

  17. February 18, 2013 6:41 pm

    Now I’ve got one line of “Rock You Like a Hurricane” stuck in my head because that’s all I know! I don’t think I even own it. I have a feeling I’ll be clicking through your link in just a second.

    I have City of Bones on my radar for the same reason. I’ll have to see if I can borrow it from my sister. Enjoy your week!

  18. February 20, 2013 2:22 am

    I love seeing your list of Top Tunes this week they are great I have listened to them all at least twice! I LOVE M83’s Midnight City a bit too much and it was spoilt by Made In Chelsea :( Still a good song though! Foy Vance is my favourite out of the list something about a man with a guitar who has a peaceful voice :D

    Good selection of book also – I have seen a lot of City of Bones about lately – Siege and Storm looks like it will be a good read so I hope you enjoy that this week :D

    • February 20, 2013 10:17 am

      I’m glad you’re enjoying the songs! I really need to listen to more of Foy Vance, but at the moment I’m stuck on that one song. It’s just so lovely.

      • February 20, 2013 10:28 am

        It is a very lovely song – i used a lot of battery on my phone today with You Tube! It might be an imminent download!

I <3 Comments

