Skip to content

Weekly Round Up (02.10.13)

February 10, 2013

These were my 5 most listened to tunes from the last week, according to last.fm:

1. Let’s Try by Nolita Knights
2. Distance Kills by Nolita Knights
3. All You Need by Nolita Knights
4. Just Too Used To You by Tigertown
5. The Mortal Boy King by The Paper Kites

It’s been a week of mellow tunes, but I’m about to amp it up a bit for the Grammys! I’m cheering on fun. and crossing my fingers that they win All The Awards. Any of your favourites nominated this year?

– – ~ – –

New on My Shelf (A combination of Library Loot, hosted by Claire at The Captive Reader and Marg at Reading Adventures, and Mailbox Monday, hosted in February by Audra @ Unabridged Chick.)

Level 2 by Lenore Appelhans (Bought – I’ve been following Lenore’s blog [and pics of her cats] since I first started blogging, so I’m super excited to read her book!)

Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte (Bought – I’ve been wanting to read this for a while and then when I heard April Lindner was coming out with a modern retelling of it I knew I really had to get to it. Plus, the Oxford World’s Classics edition is so very purdy.)

Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl (Won – Well, I didn’t win it exactly, but Natalie won a gift bag of swag at the advance screening of Beautiful Creatures we went to last week, which included a copy of the book. But since she already had a copy, she passed this one along to me.)

Catherine by April Lindner (Bought – Well, I couldn’t get the original and not also get the retelling, now could I? I really enjoyed Jane, her retelling of Jane Eyre, so I’m looking forward to seeing what she does with the story. After I read the original, of course.)

WRU 2-10-13

– – ~ – –

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished:
Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys
Wife 22 by Melanie Gideon

Posted:
Snippet Thoughts: Vacation Reads

Currently Reading:
Sleight of Hand by Peter S. Beagle

Up Next: The Love Song of Jonny Valentine by Teddy Wayne

What are you reading and listening to? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

17 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2013 2:40 pm

    Oh, Wuthering Heights is a favorite of mine — I hope you enjoy it!

  2. February 10, 2013 3:22 pm

    Hi Alita,

    Thank you so much for stopping by Fiction Books today, I love to ‘meet’ new people.

    I have to admit that I am quite remiss, when it comes to reading the classics, however I do have strong feelings about the current trend for authors to take a classic and re-work it for the modern market. Classics are, in my mind, designated that status for a reason and should be left in their original format for us and future generations to enjoy, without being changed or added to in any way.

    I feel exactly the same way about films, which have worked well for many years in their original format, only for someone to come along and decide that there needs to be a prequel. The original screen writer devised his characters in a certain way, so why do we need to know what they were like, before he had even invented them?

    Okay, rant over! just a pet hate of mine!

    I seriously hope that you enjoy all your books and have a good week.

    Yvonne

  3. February 10, 2013 3:41 pm

    Out of the Easy and Wife 22 are both on my list…hope you have a great week!

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  4. February 10, 2013 5:10 pm

    I read Wuthering Heights when I was a teen and found it too dark, especially Heathcliff. Enjoy your new books!

  5. talesofwhimsy permalink
    February 10, 2013 5:37 pm

    Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on Catherine.

  6. February 10, 2013 6:11 pm

    I love wuthering Heights. Okay you sold me I am going to get CAtherine asap LOL I hope you enjoy level 2 working. I sure did

  7. February 10, 2013 10:21 pm

    Awesome books this week. I’ve heard good things about Catherine, and I’ll be starting Out of the Easy soon. Happy reading!

  8. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out permalink
    February 10, 2013 11:24 pm

    I liked Wife 22, Catherine sounds like it has potential

    Have a great reading week!

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

  9. February 11, 2013 2:45 am

    I was going to write what Laura Fabiani posted so I’ll just say ditto. I think it’s another classic that I would have enjoyed more reading for the first time as an adult. That said, I stuck with it and ended up kind of liking it. I was 16 and it was summer break so I wasn’t under pressure to read it for a class.

  10. February 11, 2013 4:11 am

    I hope Level 2 exceeds your expectations! I went to an event that featured Lenore and 4 other authors. Her book sounded the best to me.

  11. February 11, 2013 7:06 am

    ENJOY!!!

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Mailbox Monday

  12. February 11, 2013 7:24 am

    I don’t think I’ve ever read Wuthering Heights. It’s been so long that I can’t remember! I’ve been thinking I need to get back to some classics. Enjoy!
    2 Kids and Tired Books MM

  13. February 11, 2013 7:52 am

    Looks like some fun books to read. Enjoy!

  14. February 11, 2013 9:31 am

    Happy Reading. Wife 22 is on my ever-growing TBR list. Will I ever get caught up? NOPE! Don’t see it happening soon! :)

  15. February 11, 2013 1:06 pm

    Hope you enjoy all your books!

  16. February 11, 2013 6:12 pm

    Wife 22 is an interesting book :) Lots to discuss with it!

    Have a lovely reading week!

    Whatcha readin’ this week @ the Brunette Librarian

I <3 Comments

