Skip to content

Snippet Thoughts: Vacation Reads

February 6, 2013
Perfect spot to start The Sleeping Beauty Proposal

Perfect spot to start The Sleeping Beauty Proposal

The Sleeping Beauty Proposal by Sarah Strohmeyer

When I’m going on vacation, especially some place beachy, I typically want at least one book that’s light and engaging. Light because beach equals happy fun times (read: no tear jerkers, please), and engaging because I am too easily distracted by people and waves and oh look something shiny. The Sleeping Beauty Proposal fit the bill perfectly. The premise of the story often reminded me of something Becky “Shopaholic” Bloomwood would get herself into. Which is to say it was completely ridiculous and unrealistic, but you just had to suspend reality and go along with it. And while Strohmeyer isn’t as laugh-out-loud funny as Kinsella, she still did make me smile, chuckle, and roll my eyes in all the right ways. Overall it was a fantastic pick for the beach.

Just taking a walk, listening to a story about murders in cold rainy London

Just taking a walk, listening to a story about murders in cold rainy London

The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson (audio)

*Disclaimer: this is going to be less about the audio book itself and more about my first audio book experience.*
I’ve been reluctant to jump on the audio book train. I just haven’t been able to find place in my life where they fit. I know most people like to listen to them when they drive or do house work, but I prefer to listen to music for both – partly because I just like music but mostly because my mind easily wanders and music is works better for background noise. Also, I take transit to work and reading a physical book gives me something to look at other than my fellow commuters. So, while I have listened to stories in the past, for all intents and purposes, this was my first audio book.
But – remember how I said that when I’m at the beach I’m easily distracted by all the beachy activity? It turns out that audio books work perfectly in this setting! I loved that I could listen to the story while watching the waves crash in and whales jumping on the horizon and sunsets and small children burying each other in the sand. I fully plan on loading up on audio books this summer for my afterwork beach time.
As for how The Name of the Star translated into audio? I think this was a pretty great one to start off with. I had already read the book but since we picked it for book club in February, I wanted a refresher on the story. The narrator was easy to listen to – I’ve heard that some are not – and helped me gain a new perspective on the characters and plot. For the time being at least, I think I’m going to continue to stick with listening to books that I’ve already read. Any audio books you guys particularly recommend?

Treasure Island is getting a bit sandier

Treasure Island is getting a bit sandier

Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson

I’ve never had a huge inclination to read Treasure Island but when I saw it sitting on the Premier Classics shelf when I had a bunch of Chapters gift cards to burn after Christmas a year ago, I suddenly needed to have it. As classics go, Treasure Island is just about as far from intimidating as they come. I mean, it’s not long and there are pirates. Should be a barrel of fun, right? However, I unfortunately didn’t enjoy it as much as I thought I would. I expected to get completely caught up in the journey and Jim’s escapades, and that didn’t really happen until almost the end of the book. I will admit that I had a bit of trouble focussing on it while on vacation and read the last bit much quicker once I was back home. So that might have something to do with it. I can see how people really love this book, but I think the timing just wasn’t right for me. But I am glad I finally read it and would actually like to flash around its beautiful cover a bit more.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2013 7:19 am

    You got me all curious about The Name of the Star because it is narrated by Nicola Barber whose narration I loved in Ashes of Twilight.

  2. February 6, 2013 9:24 am

    I liked The Name of the Star. I can see it working as a vacation audiobook too. Enjoy!

    PS – If you’re actually on a beach right, I’m so jealous! :)

    • February 6, 2013 10:03 am

      I’m not, this was a few weeks ago. But I’m already jealous of my past self, too!

  3. talesofwhimsy permalink
    February 6, 2013 1:49 pm

    I love your pictures.

    Yay! Glad you liked an audio. They are SO addictive.

I <3 Comments

