Skip to content

Weekly Round Up (02.03.13)

February 3, 2013

These were my 5 most listened to tunes from the last week, according to last.fm:

1. I Need a Dollar by Aloe Blacc
2. Steady by Hey Ocean!
3. All I Want by Kodaline
4. Liar by Hey Ocean!
5. Let’s Try by Nolita Knights

I discovered the White Trees the other day while watching a youtube video and have become enamoured with their instrumental tunes. My favourite of theirs is Buildings2, which I think I have listened to about a billion times. It needs to be longer.

– – ~ – –

New on My Shelf (A combination of Library Loot, hosted by Claire at The Captive Reader and Marg at Reading Adventures, and Mailbox Monday, hosted in February by Audra @ Unabridged Chick.)

Last week I didn’t have anything to share with you guys but a couple CDs and a picture of a sunset.

Oh how things can change in a week.

Last weekend ALA midwinter was held in Seattle and I really really had wanted to go. Meeting up with bloggers and other bookish people is one of my most favourite things and a whole host of them would be descending upon the city. Unfortunately between juggling vacation time and other life stuff, a trip down to Seattle just wasn’t going to happen last weekend. Which was a bummer, because it sounded like everyone was having a great time.

But then on Tuesday I got a message from Caitlin saying I should stop by to pick up my books. Books? For me?? Turns out she picked up a few books over the weekend that she thought I would like :)

AND THEN on top of that, I got book mail! A review copy from Free Press / Simon & Schuster arrived and a pack of ARCs from William Morrow that I won during the October Readathon.

WMpk*The Guilty One by Lisa Ballantyne (William Morrow)
*The Truth About Love & Lightning by Susan McBride (William Morrow)
*The One I Left Behind by Jennifer McMahon (William Morrow)
*The Children of Liberty by Paullina Simons (William Morrow)

ALA2013*The Love Song of Jonny Valentine by Teddy Wayne (Free Press)
*This Is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith (ALA, borrowed from Caitlin)
*Thousand Words by Jennifer Brown (ALA)
*Cinders & Sapphires by Leila Rasheed (ALA)
*Gorgeous by Paul Rudnick (ALA)
*Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys (ALA)
*Wild Awake by Hilary T. Smith (ALA)
*The Lucy Variations by Sara Zarr (ALA) (!!!)

Whew. Well THAT was an influx of books to my TBR shelves!

– – ~ – –

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished:
Me Before You by Jojo Moyes
This Is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith

Posted:
Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys
Reading Plan: February 2013
Soundtrack Saturday: Me Before You

Currently Reading:
Sleight of Hand by Peter S. Beagle
Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys

Up Next: Probably The Love Song of Jonny Valentine by Teddy Wayne

What are you reading and listening to? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

20 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2013 2:51 pm

    Wow, what a great bonanza of books! I think The Guilty One looks very tempting…and also The One I Left Behind.

    Enjoy!

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  2. February 3, 2013 4:05 pm

    What a great mailbox! I haven’t read any of your new books so I will be looking out for your reviews.

  3. February 3, 2013 7:44 pm

    Thats a lovely haul of books. Enjoy them all.

  4. February 3, 2013 8:25 pm

    Me Before You looks wonderful – I think I’ve heard a ton of people talking about it recently. Hope you enjoyed it – looks like you had a busy busy week! :)

    Happy reading this week!!
    Whatcha readin’ this week @ the Brunette Librarian and Don’t forget to enter to win Philippa Gregory’s “Changeling”

  5. February 3, 2013 8:26 pm

    I read Me Before You last week too and enjoyed it. Have a great week.

  6. February 3, 2013 10:04 pm

    What a nice friend to pick up those books for you at ALA! I’m a little jealous of The Lucy Variations – can’t wait to read that one. This is What Happy Looks Like also looks wonderful. Happy reading :)

  7. February 4, 2013 2:55 am

    Looks like you got some good ones this week!

  8. February 4, 2013 3:01 am

    Very, very nice! Well done and enjoy the reads :)

  9. February 4, 2013 3:08 am

    I’m curious about the Susan McBride book. Enjoy all your new reads!

  10. February 4, 2013 4:08 am

    Wow, that’s a lot of books! I’m like Mary – the Susan McBride book looks good to me.

  11. February 4, 2013 5:43 am

    I have both The Truth About Love & Lightning and Children of Library on my shelf for blog tours…both look really good!

    Have a great week!
    ~Kristin @ Always With a Book

  12. February 4, 2013 6:32 am

    NICE Mailbox….love how you have them displayed.

    The Truth About Love & Lightening is good…I read it…you should enjoy it.

    Giveaway going on at my blog for THE CONFESSION by Charles Todd. It is in the post right below Mailbox Monday.

    My Mailbox Monday link is below.

    Happy Monday!!

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Mailbox Monday

  13. February 4, 2013 6:50 am

    Hope you like the Love Song of Johnny Valentine. It’s on my TBR and I look forward to hear how you like it.

  14. February 4, 2013 7:44 pm

    What a lovely TBR, enjoy them!
    Amy Yingling
    The Crafty Book Nerd

  15. February 4, 2013 11:36 pm

    That’s quite a nice looking stack of books. I hope you enjoy them all!

  16. February 5, 2013 8:30 am

    Out of the Easy is on my wishlist so that catches my eye! So many of your new books sound very good! I think you have just added to my ever growing wishlist!

  17. February 5, 2013 8:58 am

    What an amazing selection of books you received! I can’t wait to hear more about them, especially This Is What Happy Looks Like, which I can’t wait to read too. Enjoy your week and your new books! :)

  18. February 5, 2013 5:27 pm

    Great book week! Enjoy!
    2 Kids and Tired Books MM

  19. lemon123 permalink
    February 11, 2013 10:13 am

    Sounds like Christmas came early to your house. Know you’re having a good time. I really want to read that Jo Jo Moyes novel, Me Before You. Heard Buildings 2. Loved it immediately.

I <3 Comments

