Skip to content

Weekly Round Up (01.27.13)

January 27, 2013

Hi guys! I missed doing a round up last week because I was away on vacation. So this is what I’ve read in the last two weeks.

These were my 5 most listened to tunes from the last week, according to last.fm:

1. Dark by Luke Sital-Singh
2. Let’s Try by Nolita Knights (especially THIS version)
3. Everyone’s Starting Over by The Diggs
4. Hallelujah by Joshua Hyslop
5. Just Too Used to You by Tigertown

One of my absolute favourite things to do when I go to Maui (the whole two times I’ve been) is to head to the beach right before sunset and watch the sun go down. I love that everything slows down for half an hour while people watch another day end. On the second last night of our trip, I headed to the beach closest to our condo by myself and found a quiet little perch on the rocks. I had been listening to my audio book, but as the sun began to set in earnest I decided to switch over to some music. So I turned on my favourite song of the moment, Dark. I listened as I watched the waves crash in and the sun lower, and it ended at the exact same moment that the sun slipped beneath the water. It was amazing. And now, with that memory attached to it, I love the song even more than I did before.

Maui Sunset1

– – ~ – –

New on My Shelf (A combination of Library Loot, hosted by Claire at The Captive Reader and Marg at Reading Adventures, and Mailbox Monday, hosted in January by Lori @ Lori’s Reading Corner.)

Nothing bookish to share, but I have new music to share. Yes, music that arrived in my physical mailbox!

I signed up for Merchbox a few weeks ago, and when I got back from vacation my first monthly package was waiting in my mailbox!

Here’s what I got:

MerchBox1*The Sanctuaries – Annette (I didn’t enjoy this as much as I’d hoped. My favourite songs are the 2 instrumental ones – but I really, really like those.)
*Iameve – The Everything Nothing: Act 1 (I’m listen to this now, but iTunes keeps crashing at the end of each song. Which is annoying. But I like what I hear so far. It’s kind of theatrical.)
*Magnet
*Fortune Teller Fish (I just tried it out, and it fell right off my hand. That’s not one of the options on the back, so who knows what that’s supposed to be. Perhaps that I’m unbalanced.)
*Starburst & sour candy (I can attest to their deliciousness)

Can’t wait for next month’s package! Check out what other people received.

– – ~ – –

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished:
The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson (audio)
The Sleeping Beauty Proposal by Sarah Strohmeyer
Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson

Posted:
Entwined by Heather Dixon
2012 Clean Up: Snippet Thoughts (Book Club Picks)

Currently Reading:
Sleight of Hand by Peter S. Beagle
Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Up Next: No idea. I’ll figure that out once I put together my reading plan for February later this week.

What are you reading and listening to? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

20 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2013 3:14 pm

    How wonderful to listen to your favorite music while watching the sun set! It’s been bitterly cold here in Montreal, I envy your beach days of vacation. Enjoy your new music!

  2. January 27, 2013 3:24 pm

    I’m going to listen to all of these songs ASAP. I love these posts even though I don’t comment often, but I love finding all your music and then trying to read with each song. : )

  3. January 27, 2013 4:37 pm

    I just read Me Before You, eager to hear what you think!

  4. talesofwhimsy permalink
    January 27, 2013 5:37 pm

    What a gorgeous picture. I love it.

  5. January 27, 2013 7:41 pm

    Wow Dark is a gorgeous song! I can just imagine listening to it while watching the waves like that, what a beautiful moment it must have been. Sleight of Hand sounds great!

  6. January 27, 2013 9:01 pm

    So jealous of your trip to Maui, but I’m glad you had a good time! We went for our honeymoon and I’ve already informed my husband we are going back for our 10-year anniversary in 2014. Something to look forward to! Thanks for sharing the pic and letting us experience the moment a little!

  7. January 27, 2013 9:47 pm

    I completely forgot about The Name Of The Star. I wanted to read that one. How was it on audio?

  8. January 27, 2013 11:41 pm

    I’ve never been able to really do the audiobook thing. Have no idea why. Not familiar with most of those books but I have The Name of the Star in my TBR Mountain. Hope you’ll drop by and check out my post for this week :)

    http://theparanormaladdictionbookblog.blogspot.com/2013/01/its-monday-what-are-you-reading.html

  9. January 28, 2013 12:01 am

    Wow, what a great picture – and what a fantastic place for a holiday! Enjoy your books this week.

  10. January 28, 2013 3:22 am

    Gorgeous sunset photo! Thanks for sharing. I am going to be picturing this while trying to warm up on this cold winter day here. I’ve been seeing Me Before You on a lot of lists. I look forward to reading your thoughts on it. Have a great week!
    Happy Reading,
    Rebecca @ The Key to the Gate

  11. therelentlessreader permalink
    January 28, 2013 8:49 am

    I’m so super curious about Me Before You! I hope you’re enjoying it :)

  12. January 28, 2013 11:06 am

    I am so, so curious about Me Before You, I’ve heard nothing but good about it so far, but the price tag makes me nervous.

    Also. Gorgeous picture!

  13. January 28, 2013 1:14 pm

    There are few things more divine than a beautiful sunset and good music.

  14. January 28, 2013 7:31 pm

    Beautiful picture! Have a great week!

  15. January 28, 2013 7:53 pm

    It’s getting so hard to find time to read any more! I’ve been chipping away at Safe Haven for two weeks now and getting nowhere with it because I spend so much of my time writing. I should have my first short story published by late this week, but I still need to carve out some good time to read.

    Not particularly enjoying the book. I can’t imagine having time to get through a few in a week. What a blessing! And a challenge, for that matter…

  16. January 29, 2013 12:04 pm

    Haha I have a draw of those fortune teller fish! We organised a photo project on Flickr a couple of years back; sent lots of people a fish and they had to take a photo incorporating it on the same day. I think it told me I had mood swings ;)

  17. January 29, 2013 1:17 pm

    I keep meaning to try Treasure Island, I’ve never picked it up and I’m curious about it.

    Your photo is beautiful, I’m glad you had a good holiday!

  18. January 29, 2013 2:49 pm

    I love reading your weekly music picks and always find myself heading over to You Tube if I haven’t heard the songs! Your photo is also gorgeous – what a great way to mix up your Monday post :D oh and one last thing thank you soooo much for the beautiful postcard :D it really made my day to come home to such a lovely note after a long day at work :D

    • January 29, 2013 3:28 pm

      You’re very welcome! I was just thinking of the postcard this morning and wondering if it had arrived. Thanks for letting me know :)

      • January 29, 2013 4:00 pm

        :D No problem I am on the look out for a weird and wonderful return postcard :D

I <3 Comments

