Skip to content

2012 Clean Up: Snippet Thoughts (Book Club Picks)

January 23, 2013

when you were mineWhen You Were Mine by Rebecca Serle

This is a modern day retelling of Romeo & Juliet from the perspective of Rosaline, whom Romeo was head over heals for prior to meeting Juliet. I really liked the twist this adaptation took, that Rosaline was the one who was right for Romeo (or Rob, in this version) and Juliet was the manipulative one who stole him away. And even thought it’s a familiar story, it still managed to surprise me. When it came to book club night, all of us just wanted to watch the Baz Luhrmann adaptation. So we did.

Source: Library

AshesAshes by Ilsa J. Bick

Okay, I take it back about Zom-B being the only zombie book I read in 2012. But this one was just as gory and gruesome, if not more so. I had a hard time getting through it – partly because some of the characters made some really stupid decisions (WHY would you leave a fully stocked, well protected, isolated house in the middle of winter?), party because the main character’s reactions didn’t make sense (Okay, when they’re just nice people taking care of you, that’s when you’re going to be all angsty? But, when they want to marry you off, that’s when you’re okay with the situation?), and party because it really was that gruesome. So, no, I’m not going to be reading the next book. I think only one person from our book club attempted it, and she couldn’t finish it.

Source: Library

My_Sister_Lives_on_the_MantelpieceMy Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece by Annabel Pitcher

This book was sad. But, I guess with a title like that you probably shouldn’t expect anything else. On our book club night we talked a lot about how terrible the parents were, especially the mother, and how wonderful the sister was. SPOILER ALERT I’m not sure if I liked it or not, all I know is that I’m still mad at the author for killing the cat and making me cry on the train. END SPOILER

Source: Library

I Capture the Castleicapturethecastle by Dodie Smith

It’s books like this that make me so thankful to be in a book club that gets me to read books I’ve been putting off. This book was all around lovely. The narrator, Cassandra, is absolutely charming and reminded me a lot of Jerusha from Daddy Long Legs. Actually, much of what I loved about the book had to do with the characters. I especially loved that the step mother wasn’t of the stereotypically evil variety, but was actually quite wonderful. That doesn’t happen very often. I did, however, find Simon somewhat creepy. The movie is now on Netflix, so I don’t have much of an excuse for not watching that, and soon.
EDIT: I have since watched the movie. A few thoughts: Cassandra came across as more melodramatic and less charming than in the book. Simon, however, seemed less creepy in the movie and I actually quite liked him. Finally, there was not enough Stephen. Not nearly enough.

(Side note: Prior to reading this, in my head I always got it confused with We Have Always Lived in the Castle, which, while also featuring sisters in a crumbling castle, is definitely a Very Different Book.)

Source: Library

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2013 7:30 am

    I want to read I Capture the Castle. One day I will get to it. Thanks for the reminder that it’s still on my list. :)

  2. January 23, 2013 8:03 am

    Some interesting reads from your book club. Is this an “in person” book club or virtual?

    Allison
    Book Reviews

    • January 23, 2013 9:55 am

      It’s an in person book club, but the books are chosen by Forever Young Adult. Which is handy because that’s one less decision we have to make so we can take more time with important decisions like what we’re going to eat.

  3. January 23, 2013 9:43 am

    Very Different Books indeed! But both so, so good.

  4. January 23, 2013 10:16 am

    When You Were Mine sounds like a really interesting concept. I’m going to have to get hold of a copy!

  5. January 23, 2013 1:56 pm

    I capture the Castle is one of my favorite books!

  6. January 23, 2013 4:13 pm

    Oh wait what now? You thought Simon was less creepy in the movie? I completely disagree! I thought he was the creepiest in the movie, and I couldn’t figure out what Cassandra possibly liked about him. (Henry Cavill nailed it as Stephen though. I still get mixed up and call him Stephen Cavill. That seems like a much more suitable name for him.)

    • January 27, 2013 2:40 pm

      Yup, I did. Maybe because in the book I pictured Cassandra much younger and Simon much older, but her being into him didn’t weird me out so much in the movie.

      And yes, that Mr Cavill is much more a Stephen than a Henry.

  7. January 28, 2013 3:48 am

    Your review and the subsequent comments on I Capture the Castle has me all curious now because this is a book I’d like to read some day.

I <3 Comments

