Skip to content

Weekly Round Up (01.13.13)

January 13, 2013

These were my 5 most listened to tunes from the last week, according to last.fm:

1. Everyone’s Starting Over by The Diggs
2. Dark by Luke Sital-Singh (This song is so beautiful it nearly knocks my breath out.)
3. Never Take Friendship Personal by Anberlin (Was on a bit of an Anberlin kick last week – sometimes it’s good to revisit old favourites.)
4. Let’s Try by Nolita Knights
5. Bloodflow by Alt-J (I’m so choked that their show here in April has already sold out! I’d love to see them live.)

I can’t remember exactly when or how I discovered Luke Sital-Singh’s “Dark”, but I obviously thought it was okay and threw it on my mellow playlist. And, of course, then promptly forgot about it. Over the Christmas break, once I had had my fill of Christmas music, I was doing something around the house and had turned on my mellow playlist in the background. Suddenly this song came on and I was like “what. is. that?” Sometimes it takes a couple listens for a song to sink in, and this one has definitely sunk in now. I can’t get over how beautiful it is.

– – ~ – –

New on My Shelf (A combination of Library Loot, hosted by Claire at The Captive Reader and Marg at Reading Adventures, and Mailbox Monday, hosted in January by Lori @ Lori’s Reading Corner.)

Christmas Card 2012

I picked up two library books:

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes (I keep hearing fantastic things about this one!)

The Sleeping Beauty Proposal by Sarah Strohmeyer

Plus, the last of my Book Blogger Holiday Card Exchange cards arrived last week! This one is from Kimberly at On the Wings of Books.

Thanks Kimberly :)

– – ~ – –

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished:
Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys

Posted:
Reading Plan: January 2013
2012 Clean Up: Snippet Thoughts (YA Smorgasbord)

Currently Reading:
Sleight of Hand by Peter S. Beagle

Up Next: The Sleeping Beauty Proposal by Sarah Strohmeyer

What are you reading and listening to? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

19 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2013 5:54 pm

    Shades of Gray was great. I just started These Girls by Sarah Pekkanen. Have a great week.

  2. January 13, 2013 7:08 pm

    I have seen Shades of Gray around but haven’t had a chance to read it yet. I almost bought it at our last book fair but decided not to buy anything until I read some of the books I already have. Come see what I read last week here. Happy reading!

  3. January 13, 2013 7:13 pm

    I want to read Me Before You too because of all the great reviews I’ve read on it.

  4. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out permalink
    January 13, 2013 7:24 pm

    Sleight of Hand looks interesting. I hope you enjoy it!

    Have a great reading week!
    Shelleyrae@Book’d Out

  5. January 13, 2013 8:01 pm

    I love rediscovering music. I have such a huge library that I often forget I have something until I’m looking around my collection or it randomly pops up when I’m listening on shuffle. It’s wonderful to find those tracks you didn’t know you loved :)

    Good luck wit your reading this week!!!

  6. January 13, 2013 9:18 pm

    The Sleeping Beauty Proposal looks so cute and it has a darling cover :) Enjoy your reads this week!
    Come see my It’s Monday! post :)

    Kimberly @ Turning the Pages

  7. January 14, 2013 4:25 am

    Haven’t heard of these books. I’ll have to look into them.

  8. January 14, 2013 4:55 am

    I hope you have a great reading week! Looks like you have a great selection! :)

    http://mustreadfaster.blogspot.com/2013/01/what-are-you-reading.html

  9. January 14, 2013 6:33 am

    I keep hearing great things about Me Before You as well, I hope you enjoy it!

  10. January 14, 2013 8:13 am

    You always have the greatest playlists Alita. Thanks for introducing me to some new tunes this week.

  11. January 14, 2013 8:19 am

    Every time someone mentions Between Shades of Gray I make a mental note to read it (but then I forget.) I’m putting it on my list now.

    Have a great week!

  12. January 14, 2013 1:20 pm

    I hear a lot about ME BEFORE YOU as well. ENJOY!!

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Mailbox Monday

  13. January 14, 2013 4:55 pm

    OMGoodness – I have totally fallen in love with the song dark now!!!! Thank you for recommending it…I can’t stop listening to it! I see Me Before You everywhere I go – will have to check it out. Everytime I see it though, the cover reminds me of ‘When God Was a Rabbit’ by Sarah Winman as it has the same sort of approach. Hope you have a great reading week :)

  14. January 14, 2013 9:08 pm

    Enjoy your new books! Many are completely new to me. I like the idea of listing top tunes!

  15. January 15, 2013 9:51 am

    I did a double take on Between Shades of Gray and was wondering why in the world you were reading THAT when I realized it was the Sepetys book. I enjoyed it and I’m looking forward to her next book, which I think is set in New Orleans.

  16. January 15, 2013 10:30 am

    Enjoy!

  17. January 15, 2013 1:32 pm

    Great book week. Enjoy!
    2 Kids and Tired Books MM

  18. January 16, 2013 7:17 pm

    The Sleeping Beauty Proposal actually sounds kind of hilarious! I will be curious what I think. I also did the SAME thing as Beth when I saw Between Shades of Gray on your list — ha!

I <3 Comments

