Skip to content

2012 Clean Up: Snippet Thoughts (YA Smorgasbord)

January 10, 2013

disenchantments-by-nina-lacourThe Disenchantments by Nina LaCour

Contemporary YA in the vein of John Green. Being a story of a teenaged band on the road for the first time, it was the perfect reading choice for a long weekend road trip. I originally got it because LaCour was at an author event I went to and the cover is pretty, but thankfully it turns out I like her writing style. Now the question is, should I read Hold Still? I know that one’s going to be a little heavier than The Disenchantments. Either way, I’ll be on the look out for more of her stuff.

Source: Purchased

The HuntThe Hunt by Andrew Fukuda

A vampire book with a twist. There are flaws in the story, but thankfully the story itself was so engaging that I honestly didn’t notice many of them until I was thinking about the book afterwards. Even though it’s out of my reading comfort zone, I’m looking forward to seeing how the series progresses.

Source: Advanced reader’s copy from Raincoast

Code-name-VerityCode Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

UGH punch me in the heart. This book is wonderful and deserves much more said about it than these pitifully few words. But it’s also really hard to find the right ones to describe just how wonderful it is. I will say, though, that apart from amazingness of the story itself, it was immensely refreshing to read a book that was devoted to friendship, with no love triangles or love interests at all, really. By far one of my favourites of 2012. Just go read it, if you haven’t already.

Source: Finished copy from Random House

burn for burnBurn for Burn by Jenny Han & Siobhan Vivian

A story of revenge, this book mostly just made me feel uncomfortable. Overall, to me the girls seemed needlessly vindictive. I kept waiting for the Lesson, the moment when they realized that revenge wasn’t the best course of action. Instead, when that moment came, they just hoped they wouldn’t get caught. It ended with a big To Be Continued, which I will not be following up on.

Source: Advanced reader’s copy from BEA

zom-bZom-B by Darren Shan

The best way I can think of describing Zom-B is graphic and gruesome. Or maybe it just seemed that way to me because, as far as I can remember, this is the only zombie book I read all year. I’m probably (most definitely) not the target audience, but there was a twist thrown in at the end that made me think about the book much longer than I thought I would.

Source: Advanced reader’s copy from BEA

perksofbeingwallflowerThe Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

It’s melodramatic almost to an extreme, but I really liked it and am glad I finally gave it a try. Again, the writing reminded me a lot of John Green, but in this one more like the kind of writing John Green aspires to. I still need to see the movie, but I hear it’s worth watching.

Source: Library

BLOOD-STARLIGHTDays of Blood & Starlight by Laini Taylor

I really really liked Daughter of Smoke & Bone, so I had high hopes for Days of Blood & Starlight. Unfortunatley, I didn’t feel that it completely lived up to them but part of that might be my own fault. It may have been a better reading experience had I reread Daughter. I remember having very strong feelings about certain things and characters at the close of it, but the specifics of those were long gone by the time I came to Days. Karou seemed like such a different character in this second book, and maybe if I had refreshed myself on the details of what she had gone though right at the end of the last book, that change wouldn’t have felt so jarring. As it was, I spent a good deal of the book trying to remember who people were and what they were guilty of – I think it was all explained again eventually, but I wish I could have remembered it all going in. For the story, most of it felt like it was just building up for the next thing, instead of being a complete story on its own. That said, I still will definitely be reading the next book the series.

Source: Library

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2013 3:36 pm

    I keep hearing awesomeness about CNV.

  2. January 10, 2013 4:55 pm

    I have Code Name Verity and want to read it soon. Everything I read about it was positive. Most people named it one of their best for 2012.

  3. January 10, 2013 5:33 pm

    Yayyy, Code Name Verity. I had an insanely hard time figuring out what to say about it, and I’m not sure I said anything close to what I wanted to say. It’s just so heartbreaking. The last page, the letter from the mother, wrecks me.

I <3 Comments

