Skip to content

Weekly Round Up (01.06.13)

January 6, 2013

These were my 5 most listened to tunes from the last week, according to last.fm:

1. Everyone’s Starting Over by The Diggs (perfect for the start of a new year)
2. Let’s Try by Nolita Knights
3. The New Year by Death Cab for Cutie (well, obviously I had to list to this last week)
4. Distance Kills by Nolita Knights
5. Collide / Collapse by The Diggs

Happy new year! 2013 is upon us and it’s time to discover more new music. This past week I was introduced to The Diggs, and I have a feeling I’m going to be listening to a lot of them. The band has broken up, but they’re mid-2000’s ’90’s inspired indie rock that reminds me a bit of Youth Group or old Death Cab for Cutie. Either way, I like them.

– – ~ – –

New on My Shelf (A combination of Library Loot, hosted by Claire at The Captive Reader and Marg at Reading Adventures, and Mailbox Monday, hosted in January by Lori @ Lori’s Reading Corner.)

I haven’t yet done my Christmas goodies post, so here they are! First off, bookish purchases:

Love Letters by Katie Fforde
Powder and Patch by Georgette Heyer
The Paris Wife by Paula McLain

Bookish gifts:

Christmas Collage 2012_1

1. Book Blogger Holiday Card Exchange: card & book cards from Melissa @ Melissa’s Eclectic Bookshelf; card from D. Ann @ Overflowing Bookshelf; card & Christmas postcard from Fay @ Blog A Book Etc; card & bookmark from Judith @ Leeswammes’ Blog. Thanks ladies!!
2. Card, notebook, bookmarks, and other goodies from the wonderful Cindy @ Cindy’s Love of Books – including a picture of us when we met at BEA :)
3. Family gifts: Storm Front by Jim Butcher, Black Hole Sun by David Macinnis Gill, Scarlett Fever by Maureen Johnson, Where’s the Doctor? (Still en route: Suite Scarlett by Maureen Johnson)
4 – 6. Broke & Bookish Secret Santa gift from Heidi @ YA Bibliophile: Disappearing TARDIS Mug (!!!!!!), Saving Francesca and The Piper’s Son by Melina Marchetta, Gingerbread man magnetic drawing board, candy canes, hot chocolate powders.

– – ~ – –

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished:
A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett
Entwined by Heather Dixon

Posted:
2012 Roundup and Highlights

Currently Reading:
Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys

Up Next: Sleight of Hand by Peter S. Beagle

What are you reading and listening to? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

50 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2013 4:35 pm

    I hope you enjoy the little package I sent you? Another great week of songs. Love them

  2. talesofwhimsy permalink
    January 6, 2013 6:22 pm

    I love the cards!
    And great books too!
    Hooray!

  3. Angie S. permalink
    January 6, 2013 7:24 pm

    wow! What great gifts!

  4. January 6, 2013 8:08 pm

    I’ve wanted The Paris Wife for simply ages. Looking forward toyour review.

  5. January 6, 2013 9:36 pm

    Oooh, maybe Between Shades of Grey will be my next book. It looks like a good winter read. Enjoy your your week!

    • January 7, 2013 5:01 pm

      I read like 100 pages of it in one go – I just couldn’t put it down. It’s very good so far.

  6. January 6, 2013 10:05 pm

    I’m also rereading the Dresden Series, so let me know when you get around to Storm Front!!

    • January 7, 2013 5:01 pm

      Will do! I added it to my wish list like a year ago, when you first recommended it. So when I got it I was like “what was this again? Oh right – the Amy book.”

  7. January 6, 2013 10:19 pm

    I absolutely loved The Paris Wife! I hope you enjoy it also. It looks like you scored some great holiday gifts.
    Happy Reading!
    Rebecca @ The Key to the Gate

  8. January 6, 2013 10:19 pm

    Such nice gifts! I keep meaning to start the Dresden Series.
    Have a lovely reading week!

  9. January 7, 2013 12:24 am

    Oh my gosh, you had an awesome Christmas with gifts it seems!! I love Maureen Johnson! :)

    Here is mine! http://booknerdreviews.com/2013/01/monday-mailbox-24/

    • January 7, 2013 5:03 pm

      So do I – I love the Shades of London books and have heard good things about the Scarlett ones, too.

  10. January 7, 2013 1:11 am

    So many bookish gifts! Great! Hope you enjoyed Entwined, I heard great things about that one!

    Find out what I’m reading this week!

  11. January 7, 2013 3:28 am

    Those presents look gorgeous! I have The Paris Wife on my TBR mountain.

    • January 7, 2013 5:04 pm

      I’m hoping it doesn’t sit in my TBR mountain for too long – I’ve heard great things about it.

  12. January 7, 2013 3:32 am

    What a lovely bookish Christmas you had – lucky you!

  13. January 7, 2013 3:51 am

    All those great gifts; enjoy

  14. January 7, 2013 4:26 am

    Wonderful gifts! I enjoyed The Paris Wife (audio). Have a great week!

  15. January 7, 2013 4:52 am

    Don’t you love getting bookish things for Christmas?!?

  16. January 7, 2013 4:53 am

    GREAT Mailbox….ENJOY!!

    My Mailbox Link is below.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Mailbox Monday

  17. January 7, 2013 5:08 am

    You got some great goodies and cards!

    I hope you have a good week – happy reading!

  18. January 7, 2013 6:00 am

    Great packages!!! I read The Paris Wife when it first came out and loved it!

    Have a great week!
    ~Kristin @ Always With a Book

    • January 7, 2013 5:06 pm

      That’s great to hear – I picked it up on a whim, and it sounds like it was a good choice :)

  19. January 7, 2013 6:20 am

    You had a very bookish Christmas! I hope you have the tissues out for Between Shades of Gray!

  20. therelentlessreader permalink
    January 7, 2013 7:16 am

    Yay for bookish Christmas goodies :) I hope you’re enjoying Between Shades of Gray. I loved that book

  21. January 7, 2013 7:38 am

    What a great book week.
    2 Kids and Tired Books MM

  22. January 7, 2013 10:58 am

    SUPER JEALOUS of all your awesome gifts. Especially the Doctor Who stuff! THAT MUG. omg.

    • January 7, 2013 5:07 pm

      I KNOW, RIGHT? I also got a whole bunch of loose leaf teas for Christmas, so that mug definitely got a good work out. It is amazing.

  23. January 7, 2013 1:28 pm

    Awesome haul! I see you are a Dr. Who fan!! :)

    • January 7, 2013 5:08 pm

      Yes, big Doctor Who fan :) I drank from the mug while watching the Christmas special and it was amazing.

  24. January 9, 2013 7:25 pm

    I hope you enjoy The Paris Wife, I read it last year and it was one of my favorites! Great Christmas haul :)

Trackbacks

  1. Cards Received From the Book Bloggers Holiday Card Exchange « Leeswammes' Blog

I <3 Comments

