Skip to content

Oh hey, it’s 2013. How about that.

January 4, 2013

MERRY CHRISTMAS & HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

I trust you all had a wonderful holiday. I had a fantastically laid back Christmas break and am now easing back into work.

This is where I usually look back at the previous year and set goals for the upcoming one, but I am terrible at goals. (Last year I said I would read more classics and listed 4 that were current on my shelf. I did not read a single one of them.) Instead I’m going to take a page from Jenny and make some retroactive resolutions for 2012!

In 2012 I resolve to…
*read at least 70 books (beating previous record of 68 books) [Got to 71 finished! A couple on that full list are DNF.]2012Highlights
*meet a favourite author (or two)
*go to New York and meet awesome bloggers at BEA
*go to New York and see a musical on Broadway
*go to New York with husband and just revel in its amazingness
*go to Los Angeles and make it out alive
*make time for re-reads
*make a new reading schedule each month… and stick to it when convenient
*start re-reading The Chronicles of Narnia, but to not worry about finishing them
*take a spontaneous vacation day and go to the beach
*have a sit down meal by myself
*see a band 3 times in less than a year
*go to an amazing outdoor show. Preferably one that will still give me chills when I think about it months and months later.
*go to all the shows

Look at that! 2012 was a pretty amazing year. No really, it was. Our book club has really taken off, and continues to be an endless source of fun (and food and drinks). Not only was I able to do some vacation traveling, I got to visit two of our other offices and met people IRL that I’d been working with for years. Speaking of work, I got to witness some really talented people be recognized for their hard work and general amazingness.

In summary: I have great friends, a husband willing to travel here and there with me, and a job that I enjoy in an industry I love. I mean, yes, the year wasn’t all rainbows and sunshine and I haven’t exactly been the most reliable blogger, but overall things are swell. What more could a girl ask for?

Now down to the nitty gritty – my top bookish and music picks from 2012.

Favourite Books – Read in 2012
TopBooks2012Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer
The Fault in our Stars by John Green
Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynn Jones
I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella
Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta
The Rook by Daniel O’Malley
Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins
The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman
Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

10 most listened to tracks – according to last.fm
1. Always Gold – Radical Face
2. All at Sea – Richard Walters
3. St. Croix – Family of the YearTopAlbums2012
4. Squealing Pigs – Admiral Fallow
5. Shuffle – Bombay Bicycle Club
6. We Are Young – fun.
7. Distance Kills – Nolita Knights
8. A Pound of Flesh – Radical Face
9. Let’s Try – Nolita Knights
10. Anna Sun – Walk the Moon

Favourite Albums  – Released in 2012
The Family Tree: The Roots – Radical Face
An Awesome Wave – Alt-J
Walk the Moon – Walk the Moon
Some Nights – fun.
Distance Kills EP – Nolita Knights

What were some of your highlights of 2012?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2013 10:56 am

    Great post…Great goals…thanks for sharing.

    Happy 2013!!!

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Blog

  2. talesofwhimsy permalink
    January 4, 2013 11:23 am

    Nice!
    I recently purchased Ready Player One and The Fault in Our Stars.

    • January 4, 2013 1:29 pm

      I hope you enjoy them both! Keep the tissues close for TFIOS, but thankfully they shouldn’t needed for RPO.

  3. January 4, 2013 12:33 pm

    Yes! You did have a good 2012 year. There are several books on your top list that I plan to read in 2013. My monthly reading plans better get me there!

  4. January 4, 2013 1:12 pm

    Ha! I’m delighted you did my retroactive resolutions thing. Isn’t it joyful? Happy New Year!

    • January 4, 2013 1:32 pm

      It feels SO much nicer to look at a list of things I DID accomplished rather than revisiting one full of things I failed miserably at. Retroactive Resolutions are a thing of genius. I can’t wait to see my 2013 resolutions a year from now :)

  5. January 4, 2013 1:22 pm

    Yay, what an awesome year! :D

    • January 4, 2013 1:34 pm

      Yay! I feel like I need to be tossing confetti around :) My coworkers probably wouldn’t care for that too much, though.

  6. January 4, 2013 3:27 pm

    You had a great year! Good luck with your goals this year :)

  7. January 4, 2013 5:48 pm

    I didn’t read Lola, but I love Stephanie Perkins’ books. And also love Sophie Kinsella. I thought this one was cute, but nothing lives up to the Shopaholic series!

  8. justbookreading permalink
    January 6, 2013 3:26 pm

    Happy 2013!

    Two of your best reads are on my list, Ready Player One and The Rook. I’m looking forward to them.

    I love the retroactive goals. That’s such a great way to look back at the year.

I <3 Comments

