Skip to content

Snippet Thoughts: Good In Bed, Brava Valentine, I’ve Got Your Number, Please Forgive Me

December 5, 2012

good in bedGood in Bed by Jennifer Weiner

Jennifer Weiner is one of those authors that in theory I should like. Previous to this, I had only read one of her books, In Her Shoes, and it was one of the rare occurrences where I liked the movie better. But she writes chick lit with fun covers, and as superficial as that sounds, I quite like chick it with fun covers. So leading up to her appearance at the BEA bloggers conference, I figured I should read something else by her. And… it was okay? I didn’t particularly care for the main character and a lot of the plot read like fanciful wish fulfillment on the part of the author. But it kept me company during my caffeine and excitement induced insomnia the night before BEA, so it has that in its favour. Yes, I’ll probably read other books by Weiner in the future (I have Then Came You on my shelf), but they likely won’t be a high priority.

BravaValentineBrava, Valentine by Adriana Trigiani

I had a lot of trouble with the first book in this series, Very Valentine, particularly with the writing, so I wasn’t really jumping at the chance to read this one. But you know what? I actually really liked it. I didn’t exactly love it, but I liked it much more than the first one. Maybe it was because I had just been in New York, and I could picture much of the city that plays such a big role in Valentine’s life, maybe Valentine and her family have grown on me, or maybe I was just in the right state of mind. I think there might be another book coming in this series, and I’ll definitely check it out when it’s available. Also, can we just take a moment to look at that cover. Isn’t it pretty?

i've got your numberI’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella

I know I’ve said this before, but I’ll say it again: I credit Sophie Kinsella and her Shopaholic series with getting back into reading nearly five years ago by reminding me that reading could be fun. Because of that, Kinsella will always have a special place in my heart. And I’ll read anything she puts out. I’ve grown somewhat disenchanted with the Shopaholic books, especially the last couple ones, but her stand-alones have never disappointed. And I’ve Got Your Number is no exception. It was a really fun book with a lot of heart, and as cheesy as that sounds it’s totally true. If you’re in need of a book that will make you laugh out loud, and sometimes that’s just what we need, then definitely give I’ve Got Your Number a whirl.

please forgive mePlease Forgive Me by Melissa Hill

Melissa Hill has quickly become one of my favourite chick lit authors for her twist-filled plots. Please Forgive Me definitely had its twists and overall was an enjoyable read, but I didn’t find it quite as engaging as her other books. I highly recommend Before I Forget and The Last To Know, though. Those were fantastic. I still have Wishful Thinking on my shelf that I think I’m going save for my vacation in January.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 5, 2012 7:20 am

    I read Very Valentine and thought it was good, but I have yet to read the second one. Sophie Kinsella was an author that got me back into reading too because I was going through post-partum depression after my second child and her books were hilarious. My sister lend me her books and I am so grateful they helped me through a rough period, I now want to read I’ve Got Your Number.

  2. December 5, 2012 9:50 am

    I listened to VERY VALENTINE and BRAVA, VALENTINE on audio, so it was a treat to hear the story delivered by Cassandra Campbell, one of my favorite narrators. I also think that there will be a third installment, so I’m looking forward to it!

  3. December 5, 2012 11:32 am

    I love Sophie. Always a guaranteed good time.

  4. December 5, 2012 11:33 am

    Oooo Coffee, you have me thinking I should try it on audio.

  5. December 5, 2012 1:39 pm

    I love Sophie Kinsella !:)

  6. December 6, 2012 8:48 am

    I like Jennifer Weiner’s humorous writing style, but her books seem a bit formulaic to me. Good in Bed was my favorite one (I was disappointed by the ending of its sequel, Certain Girls, but otherwise happy to revisit the characters). I read Then Came You over the summer and liked it (it’s more serious in tone), but I don’t think you need to rush to read it.

  7. December 6, 2012 12:46 pm

    I have Brava, Valentine on my shelf, it’s been there awhile actually. I should try it. My mom is a Jennifer Weiner fan but I can’t really get into her books. Like you, I always feel like I should like them but they never seem to work out for me.

  8. December 18, 2012 11:48 am

    I actually like “vintage” Jennifer Weiner better than modern Jennifer Weiner . . . and I’m not sure why that is. Sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy Good In Bed more! That’s one of my favorites, actually, though I can definitely understand where you’re coming from. I really liked Then Came You!

I <3 Comments

