Skip to content

Weekly Round Up (11.25.12)

November 25, 2012

These were my 5 most listened to tunes from the last week, according to last.fm:

1. Lions & Witches by Tigertown
2. Just Too Used to You by Tigertown (LOVE this one)
3. What Makes it Harder by Tigertown
4. Anna Sun by Walk the Moon
5. Little Numbers by Boy

Two things to note from last week. First, I stumbled upon Tigertown and was immediately hooked. I found it really hard to listen to anything else after finding them and wish that they’re most recent EP was available outside Australia so that I could listen to “The Morning Has Finally Come” on repeat.
Second, I finally got to see Walk The Moon play last night. Family of the Year opened and, as always, they were fantastic. And then Walk The Moon hit the stage and it was dance party time. They were mostly really very good live. A couple of their songs fell flat live, but for the most part the crowd was completely into their set and you could tell the band really fed from that energy. They played all my favourites and thankfully those were all just as fantastic live as I could have hoped – especially “Anna Sun”.

– – ~ – –

New on My Shelf (A combination of Library Loot, hosted by Claire at The Captive Reader and Marg at Reading Adventures, and Mailbox Monday, hosted in November by Joy @ Edgy Inspirational Romance.)

Just one book this week (which is even more surprising considering I spent half an hour at Chapters yesterday and they’re having a HUGE sale. And still – I bought nothing. Amazing).

Anyway, this one is from the library:

Days of Blood & Starlight by Laini Taylor

– – ~ – –

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished:
Days of Blood & Starlight by Laini Taylor (yeah, so I put everything else aside for it.)

Posted: Snippet Thoughts: Cinder, Come August Come Freedom, Last Little Blue Envelope, Princess in Waiting

Currently Reading:
Jane Austen Made Me Do It edited by Laurel Ann Nattress
Gilead by Marilynne Robinson
Everything Beautiful Began After by Simon Van Booy

Up Next: I just need to get the books I already have on the go finished.

What are you reading and listening to? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

20 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2012 4:28 pm

    Great job on buying no books Alita. I know its hard. Love the music selection this week. I actually like Tigertown and looking forward to checking them out. have a great week :)

  2. November 25, 2012 8:24 pm

    I hope Days of Blood and Starlight is as good as the first book. I am looking forward to reading it. I am not sure I could leave a bookstore with no books!

  3. November 25, 2012 8:28 pm

    I’ve only read Gilead from your reading list. I found it to be a bit of a slow read but I am looking forward to your review on the JA spin off.

  4. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out permalink
    November 25, 2012 8:57 pm

    I’ve never heard of Tigertown and i’m Australian, so I am listening via Youtube as I type – not bad :)

    I hope you enjoy Days of Blood and Starlight

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

  5. November 25, 2012 11:05 pm

    Laini Taylor occasionally shops in our store and she’s such a nice person. I should really read her books before she comes in again.

  6. November 25, 2012 11:43 pm

    I’ve heard lots of good things about Gilead, how are you finding it?

  7. November 26, 2012 12:52 am

    I so want to read Days of Blood & Starlight. I’ve seen it everywhere and I know when I finally pick up a copy, it’ll be the first thing I read.

  8. therelentlessreader permalink
    November 26, 2012 4:26 am

    How are you liking Gilead? I had all sorts of problems with that book even though everyone else in the world seems to love it!

    Have a great week of reading!

  9. November 26, 2012 5:07 am

    I can’t wait to see your review of Days of…! I reallly want to read that! I’ll check out the rest of your list and see if it looks good! Are you reading Gilead for the read-a-long?

    My post:
    http://mustreadfaster.blogspot.com/2012/11/what-are-you-reading_26.html

  10. November 26, 2012 6:02 am

    Great books :) I can’t wait to see the review of Days of Blood and Starlight. I hope you like it :)
    Here is my post: http://iloveteenbooks.blogspot.com/2012/11/its-monday-what-are-you-reading_26.html

  11. November 26, 2012 7:30 am

    Days of Blood and Starlight is getting great buzz – I hope you love it!

  12. November 26, 2012 7:32 am

    I liked Gilead. Much more than Housekeeping. Jane Austen Made Me Do It sounds fun! Enjoy.
    2 Kids and Tired Books MM

  13. November 26, 2012 11:53 am

    I really want to read Jane Austen Made Me Do It, it looks really good. I’m going to spent the rest of the week finishing my unfinished books too.

  14. November 26, 2012 1:57 pm

    Day of Blood and Starlight! I finished reading that recently! :)

  15. November 26, 2012 1:58 pm

    You always listen to great music! I had never listened to Tigertown but it will be a new addition of my playlist now!

    I’m not sure how you managed to leave Chapters without filling your pockets with books; that must have taken some amazing self-control! I’ve decided I’m staying away form this one as I am not sure I could follow your example ;)

  16. November 26, 2012 2:52 pm

    Tigertown sounds good…enjoy everything!!

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Mailbox Monday

    My It’s Monday!! What are You Reading?

  17. November 26, 2012 4:34 pm

    You reminded me, I still have to finish Jane Eyre! :)

  18. November 26, 2012 5:42 pm

    Are you liking Gilead so far? I haven’t read that one, but I though Housekeeping was beautiful in a haunting way.

  19. November 27, 2012 2:50 pm

    Wow, good job not buying anything at the book store! That’s a miracle!!!

I <3 Comments

