Skip to content

Snippet Thoughts: Cinder, Come August Come Freedom, Last Little Blue Envelope, Princess in Waiting

November 21, 2012

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Cinder is was one of those hyped up YA books that I approached hesitantly. I’d heard lots of great things about it and lots of mediocre things. Also, I really wanted to like it because Marissa Meyer is such a nice person, the kind of person you want to be able to support. I’m happy to report that I ended up really liking the book! I really liked how Meyer adapted such a well-known story, and the elements of impending doom and world wide panic that she included. I didn’t really feel the chemistry between Cinder and Prince Kai, but that didn’t take too much away from the story since it wasn’t purely a love story, there were other things Cinder was concerned about and other obstacles she had to overcome. My biggest complaint is that it felt unfinished. The book felt like it ended half way through the Cinderella story. I’m really looking forward to seeing how Cinder’s story continues and how it intermingles with Little Red Riding Hood (Scarlet), Rapunzel (Cress), and Snow White (Winter).

Source: personal library

Come August, Come Freedom by Gigi Amanteau 

Overall, I just felt underwhelmed by this book. For such a compelling and potentially heartbreaking story, it felt too simply told. And as a result it lost a lot of its impact. Some of that could be contributed to it being a middle grade book and therefore written to a much younger audience. But I’m of the belief that a well told story can be enjoyed by readers of all ages. And this is one that I struggled through and ended up just skimming the last half just to find out what happened.

Do you know any middle graders who have read it? What were their thoughts? Maybe I’m just heartless?

Source: Candlewick booth at BEA

The Last Little Blue Envelope by Maureen Johnson 

Although I liked the book that came before this one, 13 Little Blue Envelopes, in that one I had a REALLY hard time getting over a 17 year old traveling all by herself all over Europe with no previous arrangements. In The Last Little Blue Envelope, that didn’t bother me as much. Although, now that I think about it, she wasn’t by herself for most of it. Or maybe I was just prepared for it this time. I also didn’t really get the relationship with Keith in the first book, but in this one he’s purposely unlikable. So, with all that out of the way, this was just a really fun read. I read it while on vacation and it was the perfect choice to fly through next to the pool. Wholeheartedly recommend it for holiday reading.

Source: Giveway win

Princess in Waiting by Meg Cabot

The Princess Diaries books have become my go-to choices for the 24hr readathon. They’re quick and entertaining, which is pretty much all I ask for when it comes to readathon books. The only thing they’re missing are pictures. I was expecting a similar experience with the 4th instalment, but then I came across this gem:

“I mean it, Mia,” he said. He can be so authoritative sometimes, just like the Beast in Beauty and the Beast, my favourite movie of all time. Or the way Patrick Swayze bosses Baby around in Dirty Dancing. So, so exciting. “Hang up the phone and go to bed.” (p. 48)

SERIOUSLY?! I don’t know about you, but I have major problems with young Mia being over the moon about her boyfriend bossing her around. Needless to say, I had a hard time enjoying the rest of the book after that. I was hoping that by the end Mia would learn some kind of lesson on not putting up with boyfriend bossiness, but sadly that wasn’t the case. I have the 6th book in the series on my shelf, so I will probably read the next two. Unsure about the ones after that.

Source: Personal library

7 Comments leave one →
  1. talesofwhimsy permalink
    November 21, 2012 11:39 am

    So sorry you didn’t like the 2nd blue envelope. She definitely takes allot of chances. But I think she took more in the 1st actually. I was mega scared with that one guy in book one (the one she went back to his apartment).

    • November 21, 2012 12:55 pm

      Oh dear, this is what I get for trying to write reviews while my brothers-in-law play Mario Cart behind me. I guess I wasn’t very clear. I actually liked the second book more than the first. I wasn’t nearly as freaked out about her safety in the second one.

      I forgot about the part where she goes back to the guy’s apartment in the first book. Gah!!!

  2. November 21, 2012 7:37 pm

    So glad to hear you enjoyed Cinder! With all the hype, I’ve been hesitant to pull it from my shelf. But I like the idea of it so much that I know I won’t be able to wait much longer.
    Glad to hear you enjoyed the Last Little Blue Envelope. I had similar problems to yours with the first one, so I’m hoping I’ll enjoy the second one even more!

  3. November 22, 2012 5:05 am

    I love Cinder!

  4. November 27, 2012 11:30 am

    Eh, I was in the mediocre camp with Cinder. I really wanted to like it and definitely appreciated the unique twist on the story, but I found the whole thing sort of . . . boring. I just didn’t emotionally connect with anyone, I guess? Glad to hear you enjoyed it, though!

  5. December 2, 2012 4:15 pm

    I haven’t read any of these, except that I did order Cinder and I look forward to reading it soon.

Trackbacks

  1. Snippet Thoughts: Madness Underneath, Cinder, This Is What Happy…, Cinders & Sapphires | alita.reads.

I <3 Comments

