Skip to content

Weekly Round Up (11.11.12)

November 11, 2012

These were my 5 most listened to tunes from the last week, according to last.fm:

1. Anna Sun by Walk the Moon
2. Iscariot by Walk the Moon
3. Tightrope by Walk the Moon
4. Lions by Walk the Moon
5. Quesadilla by Walk the Moon

I bought Walk The Moon‘s self-titled album a few months ago after hearing & loving “Anna Sun.” I figured that if that one song was so good, at least some of the rest of the album would be good, too. My initial reaction to the full album, though? I thought it was terrible. There were a couple songs on it that were okay, but I didn’t like them enough to listen to the whole album. As you can see, my opinions of it have since changed. I don’t know how, but the album has grown on me so much that it was pretty much all I listened to last week. It’s poppy and fun and if you get to see them on their current tour, I will be extremely jealous.

– – ~ – –

New on My Shelf (A combination of Library Loot, hosted by Claire at The Captive Reader and Marg at Reading Adventures, and Mailbox Monday, hosted in November by Joy @ Edgy Inspirational Romance.)

I added two new books to my shelves last week:

Beautiful Ruins by Jess Walter
The Mystery of Mercy Close by Marian Keyes (The new Walsh Family book! I am very very excited for this one!)

– – ~ – –

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished:
Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Posted:
Anybody Out There
by Marian Keyes

Currently Reading:
Zom-B by Darren Shan
Jane Austen Made Me Do It edited by Laurel Ann Nattress
Gilead by Marilynne Robinson

Up Next: Everything Beautiful Began After by Simon Van Booy

What are you reading and listening to? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2012 9:46 pm

    A coworker recommended Cinder, but it hasn’t felt like a priority. Did you enjoy it?

  2. readerbuzz permalink
    November 12, 2012 4:39 am

    I keep checking out Beautiful Ruins from the library, reading a couple of chapters, and then turning it back in. Wish I could just read it.

    Here’s my It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?! I hope you will stop by!

  3. November 12, 2012 6:12 am

    I have been curious about Cinder…but haven’t yet read it. I want to read something by Marian Keyes. Enjoy your week!

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  4. November 12, 2012 10:26 am

    Beautiful Ruins sounds good…Enjoy all your reads.

    Review for THE GIRL ON THE CLIFF going on at my blog if you want to stop by.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    http://silversolara.blogspot.com/2012/11/mailbox-monday-11122012.html

  5. November 12, 2012 12:53 pm

    I’ve heard Marilynne Robinson is good. Have been meaning to give one of her books a go. Enjoy!

  6. November 13, 2012 12:52 pm

    I like the Anna Sun single as well, I’m going to have to look into the rest of the album. I recently bought an entire album by A Silent Film based on the strength of their single Harbour Lights, which I love.

  7. November 13, 2012 2:49 pm

    Hi Alita,

    I love the sound of ‘Beautiful Ruins’ and as this is a new to me author, I was most surprised to discover that Jess was indeed a man.

    The book just sounds so evocative and sensual that I can’t wait to see how the storyline is developed and written from the male perspective.

    I checked out Jess’s site and have definitely marked him as a new author to follow, just about all his work sounds eminently readable to me, so I thank you for highlighting him this week.

    I hope that you enjoy all your books.

    Yvonne

  8. November 16, 2012 9:40 pm

    Will you be reviewing Cinder? I still haven’t read it but I would love to hear your thoughts on it!

I <3 Comments

