Skip to content

Anybody Out There? by Marian Keyes

November 7, 2012

From the author’s website:
Anna Walsh is officially a wreck. Physically broken and emotionally shattered, she lies on her parents’ Dublin sofa with only one thing on her mind: getting back to New York. New York means her apartment, The Most Fabulous Job In The World™ and above all, it means her husband, Aidan.
But nothing in Anna’s life is that simple …
Not only is her return to Manhattan complicated by her physical and emotional scars – but Aidan seems to have vanished.
Is it time for Anna to move on? Is it even possible to?
A motley group of misfits, an earth-shattering revelation, two births and one very weird wedding might help Anna find some answers – and change her life forever …

I love this book. Let’s just get that out there. Marian Keyes is one of my favourite authors and this is by far my favourite book of hers. It was a reread for me, I read it for the first time about six months before I started blogging and I’m happy to report that it held up just fine the second time around.

Anybody Out There? is the fourth book in Keyes’ Walsh Family series, each book in the series focusing on one of the five Walsh sisters. This is one is about Anna, the second youngest of the family. In the first three books she’s shown as being flighty, not quite with it, and generally having no direction in life whatsoever. So, it’s something of a surprise to start Anybody Out There? and learn that she now has a career, a husband, and a life far away from her native Dublin.

One of my favourite things about Anybody Out There is hearing Anna’s story and transformation from Anna’s point of view. Anna is such a wonderful character. She’s a quiet soul in a family of big personalities, but she holds her own as a character. Throughout the present day story, Anna fills the reader in with stories on how she arrived in current predicament – her move to New York, snagging her fabulous job, meeting Aidan. And it is heartbreaking and funny and sweet and pretty much everything I could ask for from a Marian Keyes novel. Plus there’s a healthy dose of Walsh family wackiness, primarily courtesy of Mama Walsh and little sister Helen back in Ireland.

Be warned – this is a tear jerker. There are times I greatly dislike books that make me cry, because I feel I have been emotionally manipulated by the author (*cough*OneDay*cough*). But there are other instances in which I absolutely love books that make me have a good cry because the story’s so good. Anybody Out There? falls firmly in the latter category. In fact, I think I cried more during the second read than I did the first. So, perhaps don’t read this in public.

Marian Keyes has just released the fifth book in the Walsh series and while I’m eager to read it, I’m sad that the series is coming to a close – at least I *think* it’s coming to a close. If anyone has any info on the future of the series, let me know! I want to hang out with the crazy Walsh family some more!

Source: Personal library

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2012 9:08 am

    I have never read any titles by Marian Keyes but this review is making me think I should start!

  2. November 9, 2012 7:47 am

    I can’t believe I still haven’t read Marian Keyes! Every time I read one of your reviews, or you recommend her to me, I am reminded I have to change that. Maybe I can manage it by the end of 2012? This one sounds like a good one, too!

I <3 Comments

