Skip to content

Weekly Round Up (11.04.12)

November 4, 2012

Hi Monday Meme-ers! It’s been a while. At the ended of August I decided to go on a short hiatus, and it kind of lasted a little longer than expected. I’ve still be reading and discovering new music and watching The Lizzie Bennet Diaries – pretty much still doing all things bookish, just not blogging about them. But I’m back now and ready to get back at it!

These were my 5 most listened to tunes from the last week, according to last.fm:

1. Let’s Try by Nolita Knights
2. Distance Kills by Nolita Knights
3. All You Need by Nolita Knights (clip)
4. Wasted by Fotos
5. Broken Brights by Angus Stone

Nolita Knights are one of my favourites right now, and they’re being such teasy teasers in releasing music. They released “Distance Kills”, just the single song, a couple months ago and I immediately fell in love with it. Now the “Distance Kills EP” is out, which contains only two new songs and they are both fantastic. I NEED more! I have no idea when their full length comes out, but you bet that I will have it just as soon as it does.

New on My Shelf (A combination of Library Loot, hosted by Claire at The Captive Reader and Marg at Reading Adventures, and Mailbox Monday, hosted in November by Joy @ Edgy Inspirational Romance.)

Surprisingly, I didn’t add many books to my shelves during my hiatus, other than library books that I’ve already read and returned. These are the three that are new to my own collection.

The Grimm Chronicles Vol. 1 by Isabella Fontaine & Ken Brosky (Thanks Brew City Press!)
The Last Chance Saloon by Marian Keyes (Second hand store purchase. Only Marian Keyes book that I haven’t read yet, other than the new one that just came out. Very much looking forward to it!)
The Root Cellar by Janet Lunn (Second hand store purchase. I read this in Elementary school and it’s one of the first books I really remember loving. Was very very excited to find it again!)

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished:
The Rook by Daniel O’Malley
The Madness Underneath by Maureen Johnson

Posted:
The Rook
by Daniel O’Malley
Reading Plan: November 2012

Currently Reading:
Jane Austen Made Me Do It edited by Laurel Ann Nattress
Gilead by Marilynne Robinson (Although I should probably just mark this as DFN since I haven’t touched it in weeks. Everyone seems to love it, so please tell me I’m not the only one who’s had trouble getting in to it.)

Up Next: Zom-B by Darren Shan

What are you reading and listening to? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

19 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2012 4:40 pm

    Yea your back. I missed your posts. Especially your music suggestions. Welcome back :)

  2. November 4, 2012 4:53 pm

    Off to check out what you thought about The Rook. I’ve picked it up a few times at the library and put it back thinking it was not my kind of book. Have a great week of reading.

  3. November 4, 2012 5:09 pm

    This might be good news to you…I didn’t like Gilead. I knew that it was a critical darling but I just found nothing for me in that book.

  4. November 4, 2012 5:31 pm

    Loving Nolita Knights!

  5. November 4, 2012 7:46 pm

    I love Marian Keyes. Her girls have such crazy lives, and yet it’s all so believable and realistic, in a slightly exaggerated kind of way. I always feel happily exhausted after reading her.

  6. November 4, 2012 9:38 pm

    Decided to listen to Distance Kills while I write this. :-) Nice sound and nice sentiment- except for the title part… ouch.
    Oh – I have to jump over and see how you liked The Rook.
    Wishing you a happy week!

  7. November 4, 2012 10:08 pm

    I have Gilead on my TBR. My favorite book was Suite Scarlett by Maureen Johnson Please come see what I’m reading now.

  8. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out permalink
    November 4, 2012 10:32 pm

    Marian Keyes new book is great, if you are a fan I am sure you will enjoy it. Grimm the TV series is finally going to be aired here in a few weeks. I can’t wait

    Wishing you a great reading week

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

  9. November 5, 2012 5:57 am

    The Last Chance Saloon grabbed my interest….thanks for sharing, and for visiting my blog.

  10. November 5, 2012 8:03 am

    Jane Austen Made Me Do It sounds cute! I didn’t get many new books last week and am in the middle of way too many books right now.

  11. November 5, 2012 8:17 am

    The title Jane Austen Made Me Do It had me giggling, that’s a pretty good title. Hopefully the book is as good :)

  12. November 5, 2012 10:14 am

    I hope you love your new books!

  13. November 5, 2012 11:26 am

    Welcome back! Enjoy all your new reads!

  14. November 5, 2012 11:38 am

    I remember that monthly plan. And I remember thinking I should try something like that. And I certainly haven’t done any such thing.

    But good luck! I looked like you did decently with August’s plan.

  15. November 5, 2012 11:55 am

    ENJOY!!!!

    THANKS for sharing.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    http://silversolara.blogspot.com/2012/11/mailbox-monday-1152012.html

  16. November 5, 2012 2:42 pm

    I’ve seen quite a few reviews of The Rook and am interested to try it. Love the premise!

  17. November 5, 2012 5:32 pm

    I’ve totally ordered Zom-B for my teens :) Hope its a good one!
    Whatcha readin’ this week @ the Brunette Librarian :)

  18. November 6, 2012 5:17 pm

    i must live under a rock – i don’t know any of the titles or authors! :)

    thanks for popping by my blog … have a great week!

I <3 Comments

