Skip to content

Weekly Round Up (08.26.12) & Updates

August 26, 2012

These were my 5 most listened to tunes from the last week, according to last.fm:

1. Nach Dem Goldrausch by Fotos
2. What You Know by Two Door Cinema Club
3. Anna Sun by Walk The Moon
4. Back Seat by Atlas Genius
5. Skinny Love by Bon Iver

This week I became a little obsessed with German indie rock band Fotos. Both their albums Nach Dem Goldrausch and Porzellan are just so good. I took German in school growing up, but I’ve lost a lot of it in years since graduating. Nothing has persuaded me to brush up on it like this band has. And yes, I get a tiny bit excited when I’m listening and suddenly realize that I understand a word or phrase. But I fully believe that you can enjoy these albums without knowing any German. For proof, listen to either the super catchy “Nach Dem Goldrausch” (After The Gold Rush) above or the more shoegazer “Alles Schreit” (Everything Screams).

New on My Shelf (A combination of Library Loot, hosted by Claire at The Captive Reader and Marg at Reading Adventures, and Mailbox Monday, hosted in August by Jennifer D @ 5 Minutes for Books.)

I added one book to my shelves this week:

Ashes by Ilsa J. Bick (library)

This is our book club book for September, and… it is much thicker than I expected it to be! I’ve heard lots of good things about it, though, so I’m sure it will be worth the read.

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished:
nothing

Posted:
Shadow and Bone
by Leigh Bardugo
Weekend Cooking: Chocolate Raspberry Muffins

Currently Reading:
Naked Heat by Richard Castle
Good Girls Revolt by Lynn Povich

Up Next: I’ll probably get started on Ashes next.

Update #1: I started a tumblr a while ago, but I don’t think I’ve ever shared it here. So, if you’re interested in more music-y stuff from me, check out alita’s tunes (real original, I know).

Update #2: I’m going to take a short blogging break starting, well, today. I’ll be out of town for a couple days and I know everyone’s going to be busy with the end of summer and beginning of school, so I’ll pop back over here sometime in mid-September. I’ll still be on twitter and creeping around your blogs, but I’m not going to put any pressure on myself to get stuff up on alita.reads. See you all in a few weeks!

What are you reading and listening to? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

18 Comments leave one →
  1. August 26, 2012 4:24 pm

    I love coming to this on your blog because I always walk away with a new tune in my head. You showcase some of the best music. :) I am hoping to get Ashes in paperback this week so that I can read it before I start Shadows since I picked it up at BEA. Have a great week

  2. August 26, 2012 6:40 pm

    Enjoy your break, and I hope you get some good reading in!

  3. August 26, 2012 7:25 pm

    I want to read Shadow and Bone after reading such great reviews. Enjoy your break.

  4. August 26, 2012 8:25 pm

    I read Ashes in 4 days I think. It was much more graphic than I expected, and… it’s book 1 of a planned trilogy so I wasn’t, let’s go with PLEASED with the ending…

  5. August 26, 2012 8:26 pm

    The cover of ASHES is real creepy. Thx for your post on the muffins. I looked up the recipe and plan on making them this week.

  6. August 26, 2012 8:30 pm

    Ohhh my gosh – loove me some Richard Castle. Do you watch the show??

    The Brunette Librarian’s Blog

  7. August 26, 2012 8:46 pm

    I see you may be starting Ashes, that is one I need to read soon too!

  8. August 26, 2012 9:15 pm

    Enjoy your break. My favorite book this week was Ottoline at Sea by Chris Riddell. Please come see what I’m reading now.

  9. August 26, 2012 9:32 pm

    Oooh, I’ve heard good things about Good Girls Revolt, hope you like it. Enjoy your break :) I’m going to follow you on Twitter

  10. August 26, 2012 11:22 pm

    I hope you enjoy Ashes. I didn’t love it at all and found it quite frustrating and annoying but others have liked it so maybe I’m that rare individual it didn’t work for

  11. August 26, 2012 11:31 pm

    Enjoy your break. I find blogging difficult to keep up around this time of the year. And Happy Reading!

  12. August 27, 2012 1:33 am

    Ha, I was just thinking about maybe giving the audio of Ashes a try! I’ll be looking forward to hearing your thoughts on it. Have a nice blogging break! :)

  13. August 27, 2012 3:16 am

    Enjoy your break! I’m reading The Meryl Streep Movie Club by Mia March.

  14. August 27, 2012 7:26 am

    I hadn’t heard of Ashes – it sounds good! I am reading And when she was good by Laura Lippman. Happy reading!

  15. August 27, 2012 2:36 pm

    Well, I hope you enjoy your book and make the most of the read this coming month!

    Thanks for visiting us at 5 Minutes for Books today!

  16. bethbookaholicmom permalink
    August 27, 2012 10:04 pm

    I hope you enjoy your time off from blogging. It’s hard to believe summer is over.

  17. August 29, 2012 7:25 am

    I thought Naked Heat was very well done, right down to the bio on the cover.
    Ann

I <3 Comments

