Skip to content

Weekend Cooking: Chocolate Raspberry Muffins

August 25, 2012

Kay at The Infinite Curio posted these muffins for her Wordless Wednesday this week and they looked so good. She was kind enough to share the recipe with me, and it turns out that the original recipe is for Chocolate Blueberry Muffins. Odd combination, right? I may try that at some time, but the chocolate & raspberry combo sounded too good to pass up for the first time around.

I set aside Thursday nights for blogging, but this past Thursday was such a busy day at work that by the time I got home by brain hurt way too much to even think about working on a review. Instead, I decided to do some baking and made these muffins. And look – a blog post still came out of it!

Recipe: Chocolate Raspberry Muffins

I followed the instructions pretty much to a T, but made a couple ingredient alterations. I used all purpose flour instead of whole wheat pastry, regular cocoa powder and semi sweet chocolate chips instead of the dark chocolate varieties, and, of course, 1 1/2 cups raspberries instead of 1 cup blueberries. And I greased the muffin tin instead of using liners because I dislike how muffins stick to those liners.

.

The result?

Deliciousness! Husband described them as Amazing.They are chocolaty, but mildly, so when you get a bite of raspberry it really pops. I’ll definitely be making these again.

Weekend Cooking is hosted by Beth Fish Reads.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2012 8:24 am

    Those look so good. I love chocolate and raspberry together.

  2. joyweesemoll permalink
    August 25, 2012 9:12 am

    That looks so good. I’m also a big fan of chocolate with raspberries.

  3. August 25, 2012 9:26 am

    The combination of chocolate and raspberries is one of my favorite. I usually combine these two when I go out for a gelato. I am going to look up this recipe. Thanks for spotlighting it!

  4. Erika permalink
    August 25, 2012 9:30 am

    Those look amazing! I only wish my oven wasn’t constantly on hyperdrive and on a mission to awkwardly cook every baked good I put in it. Mmmmm.

  5. August 25, 2012 10:23 am

    looks decadent! I have frozen raspberries in the freezer too!

  6. talesofwhimsy permalink
    August 25, 2012 12:13 pm

    Wow. Looks amazing. So pretty. I love the pop of red.

  7. August 25, 2012 12:42 pm

    These muffins look amazing! I can see that the raspberries would have just the juicy pop of taste needed to cut the chocolate. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

  8. August 25, 2012 3:09 pm

    those muffins look wonderful. What a treat they would be.

  9. August 25, 2012 8:29 pm

    These muffins look beyond amazing. Have a great week.

    PS Just to let you know that I run a monthly series called Books You Loved. The current one is the August edition and a new edition will go up about the 10th Sept. If you would like to contribute, you would be more than welcome

  10. August 25, 2012 11:43 pm

    I’m so happy you enjoyed them! And I love that you can switch up a few ingredients (the fruit, the sweetness of the chocolate) to have a slightly different yet still yummy result!

  11. August 26, 2012 12:10 am

    Wow–those look awesomely delicious!

  12. Beth F permalink
    August 26, 2012 4:53 am

    One of my favorite cakes combines chocolate and blueberries. Not at all weird. Chocolate sauce on blueberry ice cream? Yum. Anyway, the muffins look awesome.

  13. justbookreading permalink
    August 26, 2012 8:43 am

    Wow. These muffins sound so good. I may have to give this recipe a try.

  14. August 26, 2012 4:48 pm

    oh, I love, love, love raspberries..

  15. August 26, 2012 9:05 pm

    Mouth is watering….

  16. August 27, 2012 11:12 am

    Chocolate and raspberry together is delicious- great photo of the finished product.

I <3 Comments

