Skip to content

Weekly Round Up (08.19.12)

August 19, 2012

These were my 5 most listened to tunes from the last week, according to last.fm:

1. Anna Sun by Walk The Moon
2. What You Know by Two Door Cinema Club
3. The Mortal Boy King by The Paper Kites (so beautiful)
4. Sleep Alone by Two Door Cinema Club
5. Skinny Love by Bon Iver

New on My Shelf (A combination of Library Loot, hosted by Claire at The Captive Reader and Marg at Reading Adventures, and Mailbox Monday, hosted in August by Jennifer D @ 5 Minutes for Books.)

I added two books to my shelf over the last two weeks:

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky (library)
Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling (won from Random House Canada)

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

From the last two weeks…

Finished:
The Light Between Oceans by M. L. Stedman
Burn for Burn by Jenny Han & Siobhan Vivian
The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Posted:
Snippet Thoughts: The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox, The House of Mirth, Prodigal Summer
The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman

Currently Reading:
Naked Heat by Richard Castle
Good Girls Revolt by Lynn Povich

Up Next: The View from Castle Rock by Alice Munro

What are you reading and listening to? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

18 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2012 6:23 pm

    I enjoyed reading your review of The Light Between Oceans. Enjoy the rest of your books!

  2. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out permalink
    August 19, 2012 7:18 pm

    I really enjoyed The Light Between The Oceans as well, thanks for sharing your review

    Have a great reading week!

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

  3. August 19, 2012 7:29 pm

    I’ve heard good things about “Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me (And Other Concerns)”, I need to check that one out. Happy reading!

  4. August 19, 2012 8:40 pm

    I will posting a review of Heat Rises soon. I had a fantastic week of reading so it’s really difficult to pick a favorite book. I’m going to have go with a fan girl response and say the best (out of an extremely good set of books) was The Girl Who Fell Beneath Fairyland and Led the Revels There by Catherynne M. Valente. Please come and see what else I’m reading.

  5. August 19, 2012 9:07 pm

    I picked up a copy of The Perks of Being a Wallflower in my dorm’s laundry room freshman year of college. When I was done with it, I left it there for someone else to find. I did’t love it, but I know a lot of people who identify with it strongly. Happy Reading!

  6. August 19, 2012 9:09 pm

    I was intrigued by The Good Girls Revolt when I heard about it a while ago. I’m excited to read it in the next few months. Thanks for reminding me about that one!

  7. August 19, 2012 10:34 pm

    Perks of being a wallflower is on my must read list.

  8. August 20, 2012 1:20 am

    They all sound good.

    ENJOY!!

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    http://silversolara.blogspot.com/2012/08/mailbox-monday-august-20-2012_20.html

  9. August 20, 2012 2:12 am

    Perks Of Being a Wallflower and Burn For Burn are both my ‘to read’ list and my sister just loaned me The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox so looking forward to that. Lots of good books for you this week, here’s What I’ve Been Reading!

  10. August 20, 2012 4:32 am

    I really want to read The Perks of Being a Wallflower. Did you know they’re making a movie version?

  11. August 20, 2012 8:45 am

    The Perks of Being a Wallflower sounds interesting. Your review on The Light Between the Oceans was very good. I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy!

  12. August 20, 2012 9:16 am

    Have fun with your new books! Have a great reading week…!!!

    Here is my post.

  13. August 20, 2012 1:32 pm

    Just saw the trailer for Perks of Being a Wallflower! Are you going to see it??
    The Brunette Librarian’s Blog

  14. August 20, 2012 7:16 pm

    You’re a busy reading gal! Have a great week!

  15. August 20, 2012 9:02 pm

    I hope you liked Perks. I did when I read it. Not sure I’m going to want to see the movie though.

  16. August 21, 2012 2:07 am

    I need to find Wallflower and read it… it seems to be a wonderful book!

  17. Literary Feline permalink
    August 21, 2012 7:16 am

    I have been wanting to read The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox as I’ve heard such great things about it.

    I love how you’ve combined the two new book memes into “New on My Shelf”! What a great idea.

I <3 Comments

