Skip to content

Weekly Round Up (08.05.12)

August 5, 2012

These were my 5 most listened to tunes from the last week, according to last.fm:

1. Colours (Teen Daze Remix) by Young Liars (At the same time dreamy and bass heavy, this is perfect for summertime driving.)
2. Featherstone by The Paper Kites (Also good for summertime driving, especially during golden evenings or warm nights.)
3. Always Gold by Radical Face
4. We Are Young by fun.
5. Broken Brights by Angus Stone (ditto re: Featherstone)

My song of the week, which I’m surprise didn’t show up in the top five, is Distance Kills by Nolita Knights. It is not exactly cheery, but it is beautiful and haunting. It’s the kind of song that seeps inside you and expands. This song is the only thing Nolita Knights have releases so far, and let me tell you, I am on tenterhooks waiting for more.

Library Loot is hosted by Claire at The Captive Reader and Marg at Reading Adventures.

As it usually seems to happen, the selection for book club came in for me just in the nick of time:

When You Were Mine by Rebecca Serle

Very much looking forward to talking about this in a couple days!

Mailbox Monday is a weekly event hosted in August by Jennifer D @ 5 Minutes for Books.

The one other addition to my shelves this week is a book I’ve borrowed from my mom:

Where We Belong by Emily Giffin

Her books are hit or miss with me, but my mom sped through this one, which seems promising to me.

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished:
Paper Towns by John Green (re-read)
When You Were Mine by Rebecca Serle

Posted:
Reading Plan: August 2012

Currently Reading:
The Light Between Oceans by M. L. Stedman
Naked Heat by Richard Castle

Up Next: Burn for Burn by Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian

Now that August has arrived, summer seems to be here in earnest, which means it’s time to do all the summer things. The first event? The annual fireworks competition. Every summer three countries compete over one week, and Italy ended the 2012 competition yesterday with a fantastic display.

I love the fireworks – it is one of the highlights of the year for me. We usually head down to the beach mid afternoon to snag a good spot and soak in the sun. So, a day of sunshine, good friends, and great fireworks? Doesn’t get much better than that.

What are you reading and listening to? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

32 Comments leave one →
  1. talesofwhimsy permalink
    August 5, 2012 3:24 pm

    Did you take these pictures? They are amazing.

  2. August 5, 2012 5:23 pm

    I need to visit my library instead of buying books! Enjoy your reading week.

    • August 6, 2012 11:12 am

      I’ve had to slow down on my library intake and read more of my own books ;)

  3. August 5, 2012 5:52 pm

    I love listening to the songs you highlight because they are always new to me songs. Please let me know how Emily’s book is because I have been eyeing it. Have a great week :)

    • August 6, 2012 11:17 am

      Glad you’re enjoying the tunes! I’m hoping to get to the Giffin book soon, but we’ll see if that actually happens!

  4. August 5, 2012 8:10 pm

    I haven’t read any Giffen, but have heard that I would enjoy them for light reading.
    -Dawn, 5M4B

    • August 6, 2012 11:18 am

      I love her Something Borrowed & Something Blue books. Highly recommend those to start off with!

  5. August 5, 2012 8:23 pm

    Happy reading!!

    Here is mine

  6. August 5, 2012 8:32 pm

    Beautiful firework photographs! My favorite read last week was My favorite read last week was I Was Told There’d Be Cake by (audio) by Sloane Crosley which I listened to on my way to and from work Please come see what else I’m reading.

  7. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out permalink
    August 5, 2012 9:06 pm

    I hope you are enjoying The Light Between The Oceans

    Wishing you a great reading week!

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d out

  8. August 5, 2012 11:28 pm

    That is surely a busy week.

  9. August 6, 2012 1:31 am

    I am really enjoying your music lists each week – thanks to you my favourite band this week is Milo Greene (stumbled across them for the first time on your site). Our music tastes seem quite similar. Milo Greene has a similar sound to another band I enjoy, the Aussies The Paper Kites, so it is no surprise to see them on your listening list this week. I was lucky enough to see them live here on their first tour to Brisbane, Australia – as often is the case the album does not convey the atmosphere of their live show. The Fun album is excellent too. I look forward to discovering more great music through your listening lists!

    • August 6, 2012 11:34 am

      I’m jealous you’ve been able to see The Paper Kites! I’ve only just been introduced to them and am loving their ep.

      I’m so glad you’re finding music that you like! Aren’t Milo Green fantastic? I can’t get enough of 1957.

  10. August 6, 2012 3:28 am

    I really want to read one of Giffin’s books – I hear they’re great. I hope you have a fabulous week!

    • August 6, 2012 11:35 am

      I’ve liked 3 of the books of her’s I’ve read, but the last one I read fell flat, so I’ve been hesitant to read more of her stuff. Hoping this one is good!

  11. August 6, 2012 7:20 am

    Great post. ENJOY the books and more of your tunes. :)

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    http://silversolara.blogspot.com

  12. August 6, 2012 7:33 am

    I enjoyed Where We Belong…there were some deeper issues, so it wasn’t light and fluffy.

    Enjoy your week…and here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  13. August 6, 2012 8:08 am

    Gorgeous Fireworks!! :)

    Happy reading this week!!!
    Check out what I’m reading and enter for a giveaway!

  14. August 6, 2012 8:52 am

    All new to me books! I downloaded some music recently too (which only happens like once a year) and I got The Wanted and The Script. And couldn’t resist a few singles such as Rolling in The Deep and Call Me.. lol My Monday post

    • August 6, 2012 11:40 am

      Gotta refresh your playlist once in a while with some new tunes :)

  15. August 6, 2012 9:14 am

    I’ll be looking forward to hearing what you thought of The Light Between Oceans :) Have a great week!

I <3 Comments

